April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Shaft

by Zathalos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Armed with a heavy plasma cutter and minimal ammo, you must fight your way out of the collapsed mine shaft through hordes of ravenous aliens.

Controls:

WSAD/Arrows - Move.

Space - Charge shot.

R - Restart level.

X - Cancel shot.

POST COMPO UPDATE: Fixed 2 small bugs. Fixed the player getting stuck on corners and the laser sound not playing after shooting quickly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Fun3.69
#137Graphics3.82
#162Overall3.65
#374Audio3.00
#381Humor2.52
#409Mood3.08
#640Innovation3.02
#1231Theme2.63
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Excellent! This is exactly what I was hoping it would be from the screenshot/description.

The only problem I had was with the collision detection on the single tile corridors. Was getting stuck a lot.

It would be cool if there were some "super combo" messages and stuff with bonus points.

Great job!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Love the style !
Ammo add some good restriction and add a little of reflexion !
Like already say, collision should be a little better, need to be complete centered on a path

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

This is great. Love the graphics and the idea. spilth is right: give me scores etc. Combo bonuses. Ofc 2 days is not long...

Well done :o

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11am

Wow, this is a pretty cool twist on these kinds of puzzle games. I like it a lot.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

I have no idea where minimalism comes into this game.. but who cares, it's just fun to play! :)

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Really love it!, love the style and the music, and specially the plasma hehe, well done!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

You took the idea of a basic shooter, and turned it into a puzzle game by simply limiting the amount of ammo. I'm impressed! This game would sit right alongside PacMan and DigDug if it were in an arcade.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice art! and a pretty fun game to play. Remembers me of bomberman

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Good job. Gameplay is simple and clever =)
I like how you combine action and puzzle ^_^

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Would have been nice to get rewarded for combos and multiple kills with one shot. Good graphics and fun to play.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10am

This was a really cool game. It got a little hard, but I managed to escape. The graphics were really nice, and the game handled well. Great job.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

A bit fun !

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Reminds me of early game days. Charge up and see the action. Well made! :)

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Nice game, also has good graphics and a finished feel. Maybe it's possible to create more interesting strategies by allowing the player more control over the routing of the aliens?

Dir3kt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:41am

Nice little game you got there. I especially liked the music :)

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Finished it in one go, it's pretty easy to kite the enemies around once you get the hang of it. Then you can clear most of them in 1 or 2 beams. :) It's a pretty cool mechanic that could make for some nice puzzles. The graphics are also pretty nice, especially the enemies, they look awesome. :)
The music got pretty annoying, it wasn't very good. But hey it's 48 hours so what can you do right?

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:40am

Escaped alive! Easy and addictive. Music was nice too.

sirdorius says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:24am

Awesome! Please make an extended version with more levels and a kick ass laser sound.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

great game man -- wish there was a score too -- great job

May 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

Good fun game. Maybe not miminalist? That's OK though! I beat the game for sure, and found it reasonably challenging. Music and visuals were cool, and the blast and charge up were nice.

gerritg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Also escaped alive. Loved it!

Misfit says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Fun! Gameplay works and idea is awesome.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The look and feel and sprite work is really great! It looks like a complete whole, and every sprite is perfectly suited to purpose, plus the incidental particle effects like rocks breaking, blood when you are hit, really make a difference. It feels really polished. The gameplay seems a bit limited after a while but there are just enough levels with variety that it's stays interesting to the end. Great job!

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:53am

Oh. That`s a great game. It could be expanded to an action game, where you run around killing 9001 monsters, or to a puzzle game, where you have little shots and have to plan well to kill everything.
Controls were excellent, though sometimes I couldn`t kill enemies those seemed to be on the same line with me.

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Loved the graphics and the laser mechanic was very cool. Overall, this was a pretty nice game.

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:10am

Yeah !! Skewering monsters with laser was tons of fun. The health and ammo balance is also good. Maybe the late game is bit too easy. Mostly because the later you start shooting the most chance you have that monster stack on the same square. The game should be probably more interesting if monster can't stack on each other, as if a monster can't move on an occupied square for example.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Intense game, every shoot really counted and sometimes you just had to take a little beating for the perfect shoot. Great potential in this one!

jerombd says ...
Oct 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Fun challenge but the music is annoying :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]