April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super MiniMan

by Alink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super MiniMan must save Pink MiniWoman. On his way, he must collect coins and avoid Red MiniMen.

Use arrows keys or WASD (or even Space) to move. Enter to suicide. R to fully reset your game.

Tip: reuse the checkpoints to also save already collected coins.

The stats indicates the time passed (each death gives +10 seconds) and the coins collected. Both are optional goals but try to get all the coins and minimize deaths.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#113Theme4.08
#181Overall3.60
#205Fun3.43
#216Graphics3.63
#234Mood3.31
#457Humor2.38
#616Audio2.61
#721Innovation2.92

Comments

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

Controls are spot-on, the level design is generally well-thought, the game is fun overall. I like it.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Tight. Good stuff.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Well, that must be the smallest player character, minimal indeed! ^_^

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Cool!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Pretty excellent. The drowning mechanic was very effective. Able to create serious stress with such subtlety.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Hard controls, but nice mood.

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Love the complex gameplay that comes from a few simple rules, clean art, great level design and overall just fabulous. Well done ^_^

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Simple game with great physics. I like the heart beat sound effect.

farmergnome says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

This is so well done, love it.

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I really loved this from the start. Adding the controls to the first level as a tutorial worked really well and the controls themselves were easy to get the hang of.

Fits the theme perfectly!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:09am

Simple yet well done visuals and engaging gameplay. I liked how the enemies chased you, but it was hard to maneuver at times. A double jump or fast player speed would have helped.

Grouflon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:44am

Controls are very nice but the level design is very punitive (millimetric jumps, timed underwater moves). I really liked the general aesthetic of your game (more old-school than minimal in my opinion). I have a very good overall feeling.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:48am

Great minimal art style, I love it! :)
Sometimes the game is a bit too hard, but checkpoints are fortunately enough.

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:51am

Fun platformer. Great level design.

docix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:57am

Very excellent submission for this Ludum Dare! Overall I think you nailed the theme and it plays great. Very complete experience, awesome work!

Zillix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:56am

awesome aesthetic. nice and simple. option for higher difficulty. well done!

DesignerNap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nailed the theme and the fun of the game. Great stuff!

dzebna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:18pm

The game looks nice, I like the way the tutorial works.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Nice solid game! Level design is very good. But falling in the pit on first level was very frustraiting :(

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I really like the level design. Controls and physics fit perfectöly together.

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Wow that's a great game. The landscapes are really cool. It reminds me a little bit of the Clonk mission levels, which is definitely a good thing.
I had a lot of tricking the stupid guard AI, the good placing totally compensated it's simplicity. Nice work!
Your tutorial is also very well done (something that's really to appreciate for LD games).

arkeus says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:51am

Lovely graphics and world. So minimal, but it all looks so great.

May 9, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I've seen this kind of game before, but not that very often. :) This one is nicely done, however. Cool!

Teejay5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:08pm

That was cool! Great controls. Like the feel.

dector says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:42am

Pretty awesome!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:01am

tight control -- nice level design -- spot on theme -- great work

Jesse111 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:00am

Nice work! I love pixel-perfect levels like these. They feel very raw and precise.
I also like the minimalist approach to the drowning alert - It's like Sonic the Hedgehog meets 1980s computer sound card

MegaBrutal says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:04am

Very great game, indeed minimalistic! ;) Albeit it's very hard. Those zombies are so fast! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]