April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This is not a minimalist game

by Volute - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not a minimalist game

You're a mighty warrior, and you spend your life doing quests for various NPC in a medieval fantastic setting.
But what if your whole world disappeared and there were no more colors, no more details ? Even the way people talk has changed, only the essential words are left.

Solve the puzzles and get the world back the way it was... Or not ?

Controls :
- arrow keys
- X, C to talk to NPC
- 1 for the map (when you have it), then 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 on the map screen to go to another location (if you enter your current location, it does nothing)
- X to pick up an object when it's possible
- 2, 3, 4, 5... to drop an object

Advices if you're lost :
- revisit the locations you know to see if something's changed.
- try to combine the objects by dropping them

[TROUBLESHOOTING]
If the game doesn't start when you hit "X", click on the game, then hit "X" again (Flash needs the focus to register keyboard events).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Overall4.10
#31Humor3.80
#46Mood3.86
#63Theme4.17
#80Fun3.69
#102Graphics3.91
#143Audio3.44
#185Innovation3.63

Comments

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

The beginning was nice and funny; not sure about the white part… Can it be done?

Volute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Yes it can be done ! I've just added a walkthrough :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Great concept, nice mood. I like the control very much. Perhaps a little short on challenge...

*fyi I met a bug: if you leave after the dude drops the red squares, you can't make them respawn again. He'll talk and talk but no squares appear. This seems to be a dead end bug.

Volute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Thanks for the bug report :)

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Wow, amazing! Very nice art style and good music. Not to mention the story!

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice guitar at the end! overall a fun game.

lapogo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I couldn't get into to it, but it looks great, and is pretty funny!

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great concept! I love this game

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice game, i like the parallel world. Simple but efficient!

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Great idea. I was thinking about something like that, but ended up with quite the opposite game idea.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Wow. My favourite so far.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

very cool idea, awesome execution ;)

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Great game as usual!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Great idea!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Really clever take on the theme!

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Very nice game, I like the art :) and it looks polished.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Strega: Neat concept. I liked the feedback when you jumped on objects to destroy them and change the world. It took a bit of trial and error to complete, but I managed to beat it without using the walkthrough.

(this is a team account)

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

This is an awesome game! It's amazing to see what can be made in 48 hours. Nice work!

theGiallo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18am

Great work!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49am

Nice story

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great music! nice gameplay!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Blood everywhere .___.
Very cool game, and very minimal. :p

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very nice game and quite surprising.

marnaouf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Really awesome game and story.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

I enjoyed very much this game!
Nice story, good graphics and excellent ending.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

Fantastic

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

I really enjoyed the dialog. I enjoyed the graphics and it stayed true to to theme.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

this was superb -- i love these types of games -- and it was neat to have it as a platformer too -- great job!

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:22am

Adding detail to the world is a cool mechanic :)

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This game is awesome :)

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Ok, rating any other game is useless now.. We have a clear winner. Congratulations!

FenrisWolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This is really really impressive. Congrats on getting Kongregate badges on a Ludum Dare game also. Very cool!

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Fantastic job

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I gave this one all fives. I really enjoyed it! I might have liked an auto-jump feature where if you hold down up you keep jumping, but then again I just like jumping. Awesome!

Volute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Thank you all for the nice comments ! I'm very happy so many people liked the game :)

VDOgamez says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:59pm

This was a very nice take on the theme, and the story had a very Flatland feel to it. The graphics were really well done, even the simple ones, and the game generally played nicely. I didn't really like the whole concept of going back and forth between places that much, and there were some rough spots with the item system, although some of the puzzles were neat. The ending was a neat idea, but it seemed a little rushed graphically.

Volute says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:35am

Thank you for your comment :) The end was not rushed as I had plenty of time to finish. It was intended to be like this, I wanted it to feel very abstract, as the main character finds himself in a totally unknown situation where he has lost his bearings.

Rastagong says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36am

I don't know how to say it. I'm in love with this game!

It's a very tiny game, but very well written, moving, and original. The very beginning enthralled me in a wonderful manner. I didn't know what to expect according to the title, nor when I saw this skilled fighter. And then there's the curse, the minimalist world, and we must learn to adapt. Incredible.

Seeing these pixels explode so often was particularly painful. But it was such a relief to adapt and change the world. The ending was such a wonderful idea too, although quite abstract. Some scenes were deeply disturbing (the mirror), and yet they were extremely simple.

I'm really amazed. That's a great work!

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

I really liked seeing the world gradually change!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

This game was pretty fun to play, starting out complex then becoming minimal and working your way back to complexity again.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43am

Just great. Good story. Good quests. Easy and fun to play. And it does fit the theme. So... bravo!

Gravel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:07am

A lot of work very well executed and it fits the theme with elegance.
Nice!

millie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:37am

Good fun! Impressed you pulled this off so fast! Did you also build the Kong API into the game in the 48 hours?! :0

Volute says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

@ millie : I did a special version for Kongregate with the API. But it didn't take very long, it's only a few lines of code.

matheod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Yeah ! Really good game ! Near perfect game :p

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11am

pixel art here is adorable, and so the choice of colors.
a really cool entry.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Excellent story, one of the most engaging I've seen so far! A very enjoyable entry to play through indeed. Bravo.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:28pm

fantastic little game. Not that you copied it or anything but it reminds me of Evoland. I like the script though, how they are constantly amazed by the changes. Doesn't really need a walkthrough in my opinion but I guess you could get stuck if you were really impatient.. maybe.

ArkadyDracul says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I Love it!

Mikel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Impresive

The Consul says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Wow, that was a trip. Well done! Handing people the walkthrough was a chicken move though ;)

reverso13 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:44pm

One of the best games of LD48 so far for me :)

Volute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Thanks for your comments :)

About the walkthrough, it seemed necessary. How to progress in the story may seem obvious, but I assure you it is not for everyone. For instance, some players didn't realise that they could jump on the red squares and they left the game angry.
I prefer that players go through the game even if they use the walkthrough rather than leave frustrated.

As a player, it's not because a game gives me a walkthrough that I look at it. I only look at it when I would have left the game otherwise.

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I liked the idea - definitely one of the games I played for more than 5 minutes. well done

:)

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice game, well done :)

kidevil says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great game! Very cool story and use of the theme. Nice artwork. Probably the most complete game I've played so far :)

StabAlarash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

That's really great !!! congrats, one of the best games i've seen so far

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Really well done, I really liked it.

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Awesome game! That was so much fun to play.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Good game. I like how the main character couldn't take being 3D.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Clever use of the theme as part of the game plot and the puzzles are well thought out. Had a bit of a chuckle with the ending as well :D

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:32pm

This is excellent, I loved it so much! Very humorous story and clever ending!! Could use better graphics tough, I hope you enhance it :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:59pm

LOVED it... really amazing how to it used theme in its essence. Amazing job.

Catman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice game, especially the mood and the take on the theme, which reminded me of the novel Flatland. The gameplay was a bit frustrating at times, however, due to lack of hints!

thephantom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:37am

great game :) this is the first game that i rate all 5

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Awesome, congrats! By far the funniest game I played so far.

JohnnySix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I had to go to the walkthrough for the first step with the map, but wow, glad I did. Amazing work for 48h and a solo project! 5 Stars. :)

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:44am

One of the best games I have played for this compo. Really well don, nice plot and the feeling of a complete game that's well thought out. I missed some in-game tutorial on how to open the map and to start exploring the world (I'll say in your defense that I didn't read the notes before playing). Thanks you did that walk-trough and linked it at the game window, that helped me earlier on until I could do it on my own.

Colapsydo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:01am

Change is good when we are ready for it.
Really nice story, gameplay, and execution.

ManyAwesome says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:00pm

This game is great! A little bit short though.

aquilicoco says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nice game

Dans17 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:59pm

This is the best game I've seen for this competition yet!

0beah says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Lovely game. Brilliant way to incorporate the theme into your story. A little vague on where to go and what to do sometimes but brilliant all the same.

Tifu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:30pm

That was interesting. Loved building the world back together again slowly. Great stuff.

Chronodrax says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Really nice and fun mini-quest !
Great ending too :)

twbnc says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:07am

Hi ! Looks great ! I am trying to play the flash version, but impossible to start it. The game doesn't listen to my X key, (I'm on an azerty keybord), nor to any other key.
S'il vous plaît !

Volute says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:24am

@twbnc : You need to click on the game to set the focus before you hit "X"

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Great game! I really like minimalist world and how player passes through it.

brantkings says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Sensational entry. Nice story. Nice take on the theme. Fun for while it lasts, include a walkthrough. Congratulations!

twbnc says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:28pm

THX @Volute, great game !

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Neat little game; loved the twist at the end. I just wish the game was a little less reliant on "guess-the-author's-mind" puzzles.

shawn42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:10am

Great game. I _had_ to finish it! Now it's tomorrow so I must sleep. Keep up the good work.

Leginar says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:01am

Great game. Very good craft. I was happy to see that the game was able to adjust to weather the player chose the high road or low road off the start. Very clever entry. I also loved all of the dialogue during the mirror segment. Good show. :)

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:39am

Nice little game, and interesting theme interpretation!

robotality says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:11am

Very well done. Loved the end. :D
Awesome entry overall.

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:15am

Nice game! It was really good at overall, but I felt that something is missing..

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:00am

10/5 on humor others are 5 from me. Best game I have seen so far. I realy liked the mood the dialogs the idea. I have played many games where they begin with minimal graphics and evolve. I don't like games like that. Even though your game has this idea it is a lot different, deep and fun.

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Epic ending! Man, you rocks

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:09pm

An amazing game full of hilariousness! Huge and fun!

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:31pm

So after reading the comments I thought there might be something more than this annoying white level where nothing can be done. I played again and saw I could press 1/etc. to change locations. This game is a nice achievement, although I find there is little logic in most required actions so I had to visit everything several times and drop random objects until something happened.

Zener says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:45pm

This game is pretty fun to play. I like the dialogs and how well the character is controlled.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:21am

I played through it and solved all the puzzles except the last one without the walkthrough :)

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice! I love the parallel world idea. Some of the puzzles were a little left field for me, thanks for the walk-through!

lotusgame says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Very cute polished game. The way you use the theme is truely innovative ! Well done :)

Jod says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Wow, this is awesome. The game flowed naturally for me, no need to look through the walkthrough. I loved how things grew slowly, great take on the theme! Defenitely one of the more polished games I've seen.

messiano says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:25am

Awesome, pretty interesting changes :).

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really great story. Enjoyed playing.

Typedeaf says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:30pm

This was a very cute game. I enjoyed it a lot! ^^

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Quite a weird interpretation of the theme. I approve! You definitely got a good amount done for the 48 hours.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:09pm

AMAZING game. It's really impressive how the concept was well done. I've played until the end. Congratulations a lot!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Nice concept and atmosphere! I liked the story, but I think a bit more challenge would be great.

Madball says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Cool! Amazing story! *claps*
The gameplay was simple but very polished. Though sometimes it wasn`t obvious if I could pick up/destroy someting.
Now let`s craft a sign "This is not 3D"!

echa says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:47am

Great!

May 19, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Cool concept and an interesting twist to the done-to-death RPG formula. Does fairly stick to the theme,so no complaints in that department.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I really enjoyed this game! The graphics were nice, it fit the theme great and was actually funny. It's impressive for 48 hours! My only complaint is that it needs some more hints on what to do next. I needed to consult the walkthrough - something I don't like doing.

May 20, 2013 @ 3:23am

A very fun entry! Had quite a bit of charm, mood, and humor, and was interesting, though at a couple instances I didn't find the solution before consulting the walkthrough. Even made me think a small bit. Quite enjoyed.

pentaphobe says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:51am

Awesome stuff :)

voxel says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:16am

THIS IS SO COOL aaahhhhh

Loved the end music. Lots of fun

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:50am

took me a long time to realize where to go but besides of that, very creative

geepit says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Really really cool! Enjoyed this a lot

Misfit says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Great game!

May 20, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Interesting game and a lot to it for 48 hours. I really liked the structure of moving from map to map and getting items. Good work!

namuol says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 7:50am

I'm literally crunching numbers right now and it makes me so happy.

jackdw31 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:31pm

AMAZING!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]