April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Skeletal: A Barebones RPG

by Galan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take an generic, bad, old-school RPG, and strip out everything but the bones. That elusive thing called 'fun'? Make sure you grab that too. And make sure to accentuate the grind.

Awful game? Social commentary? Sure, why not!

-ADDED BONUS: It's short.



CONTROLS: Arrow keys to navigate, [Z] to select.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

The ingame text is blinking weirdly and hard to read. Also without any instruction it’s hard to know what to do.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

I'll play it if there's a windows build.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

which file do I open to play it?

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Okay, finally got the Windows build up.

On the topic of instructions, I thought the game was fairly straight-forward. What in particular is the problem?

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Windows build isn't downloading for me...

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

Very easy game but it was fun and had a decent amount of enemies. Way too easy to pass through though (literally just spam 'Z'). Good job though!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Almost done writing my 1-letter strategy guide for this game! This definitely scratched the progression itch :)

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

That game is waaaaaaay too huge at ~98MB for what it is. But it is insanely funny nonetheless :D I actually felt like playing an old school rpg. I maxed out pretty fast, which wasn't after that much grinding, but I like that I have the option to continue doing so. Very cool game. Only complaint was the sound - if you strip the game of everything, don't leave one sfxr generated blip in there.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32pm

yeah, spamming Z i won and killed everyone. Maybe the next ld you can make a more longer game =)

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:51am

Simple game, that fits the theme. Sadly the file size doesn't reflect that.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Fun little game, great job!

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:51am

I like the enemy models. Neat game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]