April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Factorism

by dagothig - Jam Entry

This is Factorism!
The game was made mostly during the weekend by me and Kiasaki (we had some dev time in today, but school happened)
Born out of desperation to get a good idea of the theme, this initially had some link to minimalism, but it was mostly lost during development (that is, the link). Essentially, the game is about maintaining a factory as you are required to transform products by passing them through multiple machines and pipes.
Building is done through clicking and hotkeys.
'B' to bring up the build menu
'X' to set on pipe building mode
'C' and 'V' to rotate pipes and change pipe types
'R' to build routers
'escape' to deactivate selections, building and open the menu if none of the aforementionned are currently beind done
'P' will pause and unpause the game
'D' to delete a selected piece of machinery
By clicking on a router, you can alter it's direction

You go gameover if you waste all your money or if you get through all the levels!

UPDATE/EDIT
-----------------------------

Bug fix :
- Linux should now work and load ressources
- Loosen up the budget so game is "finishable" without restarting 1000 times

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#226Innovation(Jam)3.14
#236Overall(Jam)3.24
#245Graphics(Jam)3.31
#319Humor(Jam)1.95
#413Mood(Jam)2.48
#446Audio(Jam)1.67
#547Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

Crashes on start. Linux 64-bit Oracle JDK 7u21

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: /res/sprites/ProcessorForeground_4x4.png
at org.newdawn.slick.util.ResourceLoader.getResourceAsStream(ResourceLoader.java:69)
at org.newdawn.slick.opengl.InternalTextureLoader.getTexture(InternalTextureLoader.java:273)
at org.newdawn.slick.Image.<init>(Image.java:270)
at org.newdawn.slick.Image.<init>(Image.java:244)
at org.newdawn.slick.Image.<init>(Image.java:232)
at org.newdawn.slick.Image.<init>(Image.java:198)
at ld26_kiasaki_dagothig.helpers.BlockImage.getImage(BlockImage.java:18)
at ld26_kiasaki_dagothig.entity.ProcessorImpl.<init>(ProcessorImpl.java:20)

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10am

awwww darnit, we weren't able to test if the linux build actually worked... did you try the runnable jar, the shell or both?

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

The website you're hosting on keeps giving me errors all over the place and won't let me download the file. Try hosting it somewhere else, because from the screenshots the game looks great and I want to play it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

i think i must be tired from the jam -- but i just could not get my head around this -- i think i want to try it again when i am less tire -- nice effort

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

I've re-uploaded the game on mediafire, hopefully it will work for most people

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

love it! this game is addicting :)

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23am

I really like the watching the little circles go through the machinery.

I beat the first level, but when it asked for 10 purple circles I didn't know how to exit the pipe building mode.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Really cool idea!

Unfortunately, clumsy controls made this more confusing than it needed to be. If the construction was more intuitive, I think it would really shine!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26am

I really like this kind of game, and you've got some nice mechanics going on. One thing that's hurting it, though, is how tight the money is. Pretty much any mistake or inefficiency can make the level require a restart. This kind of puts a damper on making creative solutions to the problems given. There is also a somewhat frustrating bug with the routers. A lot of times I'll have objects stuck at routers that really should be directing them the way they're pointing, but instead they act as if there's no way through. In the set-up I was using, this occurred in a way such that trying to rotate the router to free them ended up causing me to lose them. There's also a bit of undefined behavior on the machine outputs. You don't really know which output the stuff will come out of, so you have to delete the other connected pipes to make sure you get the right one. Despite that bit of difficulty, I had a lot of fun with this game. Great job.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Can't stop playing, would love to get some more from you! Keep it up!

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Got it to run on Linux - The problem is that your code assumes a case-insensitive file system. People with case-sensitive file systems (i.e. on Linux) just have to do the following:

in res/sprites (after unzipping, of course):

cp ProcessorForeGround_2x4.png ProcessorForeground_2x4.png
cp ProcessorForeGround_4x4.png ProcessorForeground_4x4.png
cp RouterForeGround.png RouterForeground.png

(yes, copy, not move - the game needs both capitalizations)

There might be more, I haven't played it through, yet. I just figured I write this first so that others can get it to run, too. :-)

Kiasaki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Hey, (I made the game with dagothig),

The levels weere made quickly before the end, ill loosen up the tight money budget.

Ill also publish a bug fix for case sensitive images!

And maybee add more levels

For VDOGamez try the other mirror its on my hosting (direct link)

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Linux users: ignore the manual renaming, I proposed above, you'll never get done with that. Just go to res/sprites and do

for f in *Foreground*; do cp "$f" `echo "$f" | sed 's/ground/Ground'/`; done;

for f in *ForeGround*; do cp "$f" `echo "$f" | sed 's/Ground/ground'/`; done;

That gets you at least to level 4. :-)

As for the game: Nice work, I really do enjoy it! It's nothing terribly innovative and it doesn't really have anything to do with the theme, but it is quite fun. Oh, and thanks for auto-saving the levels! :-)

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Yeah we kinda ditched the theme when we saw it, we took the oportunity of the ludum dare to build something cool, I think some other people also disliked the theme. But I guess is helped alot of less creative starting out folks.

cominu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

mac version is not starting :(

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

A tutorial would have been nice:). Good work in such little time.

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I posted an updated JAR with bug fixes, mac/windows/linux should be able to start it by clicking on it or just typing the following in your terminal:

java -jar Factorism-v0.8.jar

And I am currently working on a tutorial + more levels but those links will be posted in the description as not to be taken in account for the Ludum Dare rating.

SuperDisk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Neat game! It got rather complex.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very cool game. I like the mechanics, though I am strugling to finish the game, because I always run out of budget. Nice entry anyway.

doos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I er, I think I've been playing for an hour? Great puzzler!

Bevilacqua says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:58am

Great game. Played for quite a while

dagothig says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57am

Hey guy I've done 5 more level and I must admit they are pretty hard, and now you can hold X while placing pipe to chain them : gingras.cc/ld26/builds/FactorialBuild-10lvls.zip

DO NOT TAKE IN ACOUNT WHEN RATING THIS VERSION HAS ADDED FEATURES

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:43am

This game seems very polished and fun! It almost reminds me of Pipe Mania.For some reason, the routers would always be facing down when I tried to place them though, even if I had rotated them.

triplefox says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:45am

too much gameplay...

Verrazano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:36am

It was a good game in concept, but it was really hard to play just because of all the hot keys I was so confused. If you removed it the top 8 rows of the factory (because you never use them) tighten up the controls so it's all click driven. pause the clock in between each level so you don't get screwed over :< it could be really fun. Oh yea and add more levels. other wise good art wise, game mechanic idea.

poohshoes says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:27am

More levels!

Frib says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:41am

Awesome concept, but clunky controls make it difficult

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:57am

nice game! good job!

Adipson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:54am

very fun !

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:05am

I like the game concept and the graphics very much. Sadly the interface is too complicated with all those key commands. I wish there were a simple mouse only interface and some sound/music.

DST says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:11am

Nice work!

allinlabs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I love this kind of SpaceChem-like puzzle game (well, it's different but it's my only reference :s)
I would have loved some music. Pretty complete game, I don't know what else to say actually...

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I like these sorts of games. I think there was a lot of fun potential, but really needed a little more polish to make it really enjoyable. (Better mechanism for pipes, better mechanism for levels (they seemed to start automatically, without giving a chance to fix my factory), a way to move machines.)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:12am

Well I can't tell if level 5 has a bug or if forcing my score to -1 is how you end the game, but that's as far as I got. Interesting, but seemed too simple, which is why I suspect something went wrong. Still liked the idea though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]