April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

UltraPew

by Hume - Jam Entry

Post Compo Version ----- (for fun! Please rate original version) --------
* Playfield wraps at 4k x 4k pixels for MOAR ACTION and INCREASED PEW
* Ship accelerates faster, speed capped
* Projectile bug fixes

ULTRAPEW is a 128-player multiplayer space shooter, with retro+minimal CRT-style graphics.

I'll be parsing the logs when the judging is over to see who did the most damage, died the most, played the longest, etc. Use your Ludum Dare username or a @twitter handle if you want.

How To Play -------------------------------------------------------------
* There's a tutorial, for once. That should explain most things.
* Physics are frictionless, because it's space.
* If you don't like the arrow keys, WAD works too.

Configuration -----------------------------------------------------------
* In the Configure menu off the main menu, you can change the screen resolution. Go big!
* If you get sick of the music, you can turn it off in Configure also.
* The game server settings should be good to go. If you erase it, it's gs.ultrapew.com. Port 3000 for the compo version, 3001 for the post-compo version.

Known Issues -------------------------------------------------------------
* The play field is huge. If somebody runs away, it's hard to catch them. The teleport weapon was cut.
* The compo version is super buggy. Sorry. Try the post-compo version.

Troubleshooting ----------------------------------------------------------
* If you have any trouble, try @justinbowes on Twitter or Hume on #ludumdare
* It's not a signed application, so on OSX you need to Ctrl-click and select Open the first time you run it.
* Tested on Windows 7 and OS X 10.8.2. Other operating systems may work. If you're interested in a Linux build, hit me on Twitter.
* I had one report that a user needed to Run as Administrator in Windows 7. Not sure why, I have UAC turned on and it worked for me. But this might help if you have trouble.
* If you can't connect, ensure your firewall allows bidirectional UDP traffic to gs.ultrapew.com:3000 or :3001.

MAKING OF
* One person Jam team.
* ~3000 lines of C, plus libraries: XPL, GLFW, FMOD, FreeType, GLSW, GL3W, minIni, uthash, SOIL, ...
* Two songs by the coder. Soundtrack available on request ;)
* Thanks to Madgarden for UDPnet, which was the inspiration for this madness.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Audio(Jam)3.52
#116Fun(Jam)3.33
#123Overall(Jam)3.54
#195Mood(Jam)3.19
#222Innovation(Jam)3.15
#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#337Graphics(Jam)2.96
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

kochb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

This was kind of awesome.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Sounds cool. I'm running windows and the text isn't legible, and the buttons I click on led me to a black screen instead of a game. Tear.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

The scanlines are cool for the gameplay area, but make the text at the bottom kind of hard to read. Weapon 3 seems to do more harm than good because it gets shot down by Pew lasers and the explosion damages you! Thrust is a bit slow. Amazing that you actually made a real-time multiplayer game though! And you're there playing it against me!

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great concept! It only has 3 flaws right now: frequent crashes when i hit 't', no way to get back into the battle quickly, and no way to brake. It would be great to be able to speed up to travel somewhere and then turn around and send out a blast to make your ship come to a halt.

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

When i Try to play it i get an error about failing to compile the text shader; and the icons are covered in black rectangles rather than text.

Nvidia Gtx 550 ti, Windows 7 x64, Latest Drivers.

The errors were as follows:
[error] xpl_shader.c xpl_shader_add:236 Couldn't compile shader (type: 35632, e
ffect_key: Text.Fragment):
0(56) : error C1105: cannot call a non-function
0(63) : error C1105: cannot call a non-function
0(64) : error C1105: cannot call a non-function

[warn] xpl_shader.c xpl_shader_get_uniform:332 Couldn't get uniform location f
or subpixel in shader 7:Text
[warn] xpl_shader.c xpl_shader_get_uniform:332 Couldn't get uniform location f
or texture in shader 7:Text
[info] xpl_vao.c vao_prepare_program_draw:208 PERF: uncommitted buffer object
associated with VAO 3 attrib position; committed BO 9
[info] xpl_vao.c vao_program_draw_index_count_offset:249 PERF: uncommitted buf
fer object associated with VAO 3 IBO 0; committed BO 10
[error] xpl_shader.c xpl_shader_add:236 Couldn't compile shader (type: 35632, e
ffect_key: Sprite.Fragment):
0(45) : error C1105: cannot call a non-function

[warn] xpl_shader.c xpl_shader_get_uniform:332 Couldn't get uniform location f
or texture in shader 16:Sprite

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

Awesome game, crashed when tried to chat... The first time sorry no stack trace why or assumption why :P

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

I have a fix for NVIDIA cards and the text crash. Will post again when it's up.

JaydenB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

Same issues as Jonapulse. I'm going to try it again on another computer.

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

New Windows build is up.

I don't have an NVIDIA card to test with, but I think I understood the issue. There's a new Windows build that should avoid the chat crash and the shader variable name collision.

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Going to bed before I accidentally break/fix anything. Thanks for all the comments and sorry for all the troubleshooting.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

It seems like it isn't playable on Win XP laptops. :(

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

It might not be. If I recall the file APIs I used, it will probably work in Vista but not XP. Sorry, wish there had been time to show XP some love.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Awesome game! Loved the retro feeling and the music! Online was a bonus too. Good job man!

dotteri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18pm

I like the retro feel =)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Cool music. One of my favs so far. Well done mate!

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

No idea how you made this in the time! The main problem with this is the inability to turn around quickly. The movement controls are so sluggish that you can barely see someone without flying past them.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Nice game! The movement controls are a bit hard, especially turning the spaceship. I think it's amazing that you accomplished to make such game in this short time! Good job. :)

May 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Fun! For some reason, even though "T" brought up chat, hitting "Enter" didn't submit my text... I was running Windows 7 Premium on a HP Pavilion g series laptop.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:24pm

For those who are getting troubles running, here only worked on admin rights.

About the game: Nice gameplay, many weapon choices. Need some balance as sometimes some weapons just exploded in my face hurting my ship. A little help on weapon effects would be great. Also, inertia is heavy for weak rocket.

Overall, amazing job.

Norgg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Awesome! It's good to see real-time networked stuff here! Totally impressive that you got the networking, graphics, sound effects and everything together, even for a Jam game.

Hit a couple bugs while playing with you but bugs are gonna bug.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Would love to see it with 128 players! Great job!

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Really liked this one, great work putting a nice little networked game together in such a short time. Would like to see the movement tightened up a bit, it's really hard to dogfight with the super slow acceleration/deceleration.

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Excellent multiplayer game. Well done.
Acceleration does seem far too slow at first but you get used to it.
Runs fine in Wine.
Would like to try it with lots players.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Very impressive! I loved the retro graphics and the way that the game felt kind of like Asteroids. The different weapons were cool and, overall, the multiplayer is very technically impressive, though unfortunately no one was online for me to play with.

I don't know if there is some indicator to give the player an idea of where other plays may be, but if not, then that would be a nice addition.

Oh, and music was awesome, too.

Also, I found the HUD rather hard to read because of the dull yellow on dull grey. Some color adjustments definitely need to be made there for readability.

Overall, great concept! Take it, polish it, expand it, and you may have a very fun, full-fledged indie game to release! Well done!

Hume says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:04pm

@Cybearg Unfortunately there was no-one else on the server -- there are little blinking arrows to guide you to your targets.

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:08am

Was alright to play, a little slow because of space physics and somewhat buggy, random deaths and weapon shots being missed. Other than that, pretty cool game.

jontturi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Please compile for 10.6.8 if you can. Unless you're using an API function only supported by 10.7+.

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:20pm

No one online, but it looks pretty impressive!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]