April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One fine morning our machines are gonna cut us down

by netmute - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple RTS. A game shouldn't take longer than a minute.

Note that the game is VERY hard. The key to success is: be quick ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#271Audio3.17
#390Overall3.33
#423Fun3.13
#566Mood2.86
#569Graphics3.00
#650Innovation3.00
#778Humor1.94
#790Theme3.30

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

It *is* very hard, but definitely very fun!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

The loading bar goes to 75% and then nothing for me. Firefox Windows7 64-bit.

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

The game works correctly in Firefox now. Sorry for that.

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

ILiked it, it was very hard though!! I failed a lot!

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Really fun! I loved it. Very unique. And simple.

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Good fun, certainly had me playing till I could beat it. Nice one!

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I won the war :) Fun little game. It just sucked to see all my 4 remaining planets getting destroyed after my entire crew was gone. There should have been a fast forward button or something.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I was wondering if someone would do a tiny RTS. Great implementation of the concept.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

It isn't too cluttered and has a nice finish. The game accomplishes what it tries to do very well, even if it is a bit simplistic. Good job with the soundtrack, it rounds the game of quite nicely. (:

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The RTS feeling is there, but I actually liked this a lot more than I usually like RTSes

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Interesting tactical mechanic! Definitely a game of observation, in which you can get better.

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Great core mechanic! I've had a good position go horribly wrong many times just from losing the wrong planet. This would be amazing multiplayer (perhaps a little slower to allow my slow brain to figure out sneaky tactics).

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great fun, I finally won after three tries ! Very challenging game !

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Yeah, works fine in Firefox for me now.

Props for including in game directions.

Could use a pause feature a la Baldur's Gate or so, where if you have ships without orders it auto pauses and lets you give them directions in peace and quiet. Makes it more of a strategy game instead of an action game, maybe not what everyone wants.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice, fun little game. After a while I worked out how to win more often than lose. You're right, the key is to click fast. Also try not to click things more than once.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Simple, elegant, challenging. A very fun game!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Cool, but crazy difficult! Also, I think the computer cheats, because my fighters did almost nothing to the battleships! :P

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

The strategy I've found that works is to always focus their battleships planets by minimum distance order, since the AI waits some seconds for you to move first.

Anyway, it was pretty entertaining. Good job!

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The game is not easy but I _love_ the style of your game

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Pretty neat idea, although very simple. Very fast paced! Love the general concept going on here.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Man, this is so hard :(. Have to keep practicing.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:41am

I won my second game, it's not SO hard. I quite like everything about it. It could be a little bit more informative about which of your ships is "closest", but that's a polish sort of thing. Very well done!

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:47am

Quite fun. Love being able to attack enemy battleships. Only thing I wanted to be able to do was engage the opponent's smaller ships with my smaller ships. Really enjoyed it though.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:57am

nice hard game ^=)

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:06am

Definitely tough! It was hard to match which planet corresponded to which ship after they left. I also had trouble getting my fighters to go after the opposing battleships. The game concept feels solid and I can imagine the scale increasing to add to the fun!

TheCze says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very well polished! Would be nice if the fighter would fly a bit more around like a swarm.

paulopn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Good game, good music, very fun overall, I like the challenge too. Very fun!
The one thing that bugged me was not being able to attack enemy fighters and only being able to watch as they gunned down my battleships...

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Interesting game. Congratz!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Looks and sounds nice, but i'd love a little more depth to the strategy... The rest is super fun ! :)

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I just died and died and died and kept on dying :)

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51pm

addictive but really hard! the graphics/musics/sounds are well done and the game play is simple and solid. Good job :)

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Oooh, an minimal interaction management RTS kind of thingy. I like that.
It takes some getting used to, to be tactical in this, but I think it's a great idea to keep it so simple.
If you add some more levels/variety in it I can imagine that it would be fun to play on tablet or phone. A quick hectic game played by tapping on planets.

Good one.
(except for autotracker, but that's just me).

Oh yeah, I like the title.

Stiju says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:39pm

It was hard, fun and I liked the music. Good job!

Btw, I've built a Mac version of my game, just for you... and everyone else that needs one.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Hell, it's extremely fun! :D It was hard to beat the computer at first. :) And even then, it depends a lot on luck.

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:22am

this game is incredibly difficult but fun nonetheless

May 4, 2013 @ 9:46am

A great idea :) I hope you'll get to develop it further. Good job!

Galvesmash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Cool game! Difficult to win!

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Hey, this is nice. It was pretty hard at first but after a few tries I was able to win 50% of the time, lol. I'm not heavy on RTS normally, so this minimalist RTS was a nice introduction / easy for me to get into and understand.

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nicely done! Very *complete*. It reminds me of Pax Britannica, actually, the one-button real-time space fleet battle game. Roughly the same difficulty level, I think.

Worked fine in Firefox desktop and mobile.

It would be helpful if there was some UI sugar to tell the player where their ships were going and to highlight idle ships (or maybe an idle ship sound effect?). The way it is now, I was clicking planets and enemy ships repeatedly just to make sure nobody stayed idle.

May 6, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Regarding my game, if you download the source, you can open it through gamemaker and I think port it to mac. I don't have a mac, so I can't, but I think that's how it works. Kinda a lot of trouble, but it's a possible solution.

ferasmi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:40am

loved it but I think you could make it harder

May 7, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Fun game and I always love when people do some strategy (and you did it fun with a twizt when you lost control of the battle)! Sad that you didn't have Java so you could try my game, you can swiftly install Java from here: http://www.java.com/

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Rather hard, but I like the retro graphics and music.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:12am

Pros: Very nice graphics and good audio as well =)
Cons: Needs a replay button?

May 13, 2013 @ 2:41am

I like how this game is one of those rare examples of people making a complex genre like RTS and keeping it minimal. Very nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]