April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pilot & Command

by HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires Java. I recommend downloading the jar rather than playing in the applet.

The game explains the keys during play. Toggle the music with 'M'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#28Fun3.90
#33Graphics4.23
#45Overall3.93
#73Theme4.15
#106Humor3.36
#136Mood3.53
#236Audio3.24
#381Innovation3.35

Comments

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Awesome! I really like the use of multiple graphical styles!

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

looks interesting. but I have problems running this on a mac. will try again later...

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Fight with minimalism turns standard sidescroller to something much better! Holy potatoes!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very nice work. I like how the theme is the enemy.

Wait, "the theme is the enemy" almost sounds like a theme on its own. :)

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nice use of theme, fun game. But I think it crashed sometime after I got the third weapon upgrade. Screen went white and sound disappeared.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Thanks everyone. @kreddor Was that in the applet? I think I had that happen to me too. Could you try downloading it.

@finefin I've rebuilt the jar in Java 6 so it should work on macs now (no music though :( )

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Music loop is a bit annoying by time, but I forget it with this awesome look and gameplay !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Great realization. Awesome idea about minimalism. :)

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Great concept!
I can hear background music, but when I fire I get this:
line with format PCM_SIGNED 44100.0 Hz, 16 bit, mono, 2 bytes/frame, little-endian not supported.

and no shoot sound.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very cool, nice retro graphics.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I loved this one!!
- Brilliant use of theme
- The background music is so addictive
- The cheeky minimalisers come at you from behind!! Bastards!!
- Good dialogue and good general feel

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This is really cool. You should have more ratings!

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Very nice use of the theme. Beautiful graphics.

KR-Eddie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Absolutely loved it! Just my type of game :D
I agree that the music gets annoying after a while, but it's not too bad.
The dialog and the way you introduced the theme were awesome!

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Great game! =OD
Tried the web version and it was ok =O)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Awesome. This game is great. I liked how you were able to merge the two graphic styles. Also, I played the web version, and it worked fine for me. If I were you, I might suggest adding scores, depending on the distance traveled and enemies defeated. Also, you could add some health items. Anyways, Great game. I love your interpretation of the theme.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

Hilarious idea, done extremely well! The minimalism aspect adds something I can quite put my finger on, but its awesome!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great game, and great use of the theme! My only complaint is that I shot too slowly.. I had to be a sniper if I wanted to survive.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Interesting idea, very good execution :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nice! The wave of minimal graphics is a great effect!

jontturi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:59pm

This is stuff.

KevinLaity says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:19am

Fun game, and interesting theme interpretation!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:34am

great entry -- one of the best uses of the theme -- awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]