April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Only String

by Tuba - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have only one string in your guitar! Can you play it!????

Made with Flashpunk on FlashDevelop. The sounds were recorded from my guitar and edited on Audacity.

I'm no musician or composer or anything like that so... sorry about the music. Still had fun doing it, always wanted to make a music game, hope you enjoy it! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#16Humor4.00
#163Fun3.50
#293Overall3.44
#326Audio3.09
#336Innovation3.41
#339Theme3.76
#455Mood3.00
#470Graphics3.15

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50am

Greate, had a blast playing it :).

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Took awhile to figure out to hold mouse AND strum, but afterwards pretty awesome.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

It was awesome. I was especially impressed how the guys hands on the stage mimic'ed the players hands.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

Rock on! Wooo!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

That was a lot of fun. Was thinking somewhere in the middle that's how it should have ended, haha. Anyway, really love the creative idea (as opposed to just not making graphics).

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

I WON!!!

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Funny way to incorporate the theme haha and pretty nice animations when clicking to hold down the finger! Fun game.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Funny game :D Wasn't sure how long the song was going to go on for, but apart from that it seemed really neat :)

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

Funny game, and awesome idea! I loved it :D.
You may need to add a progress indicator of some kind, though.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Good and funny game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Very nice game! Congratulations!

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

this game rocks =P

santovirus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Who can't play Rocksmith stick with this =P

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

Really fun game to play, playing it on the touchpad seemed like sliding the finger in the guitar for real!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Good idea and great implementation!
Nice work on the difficulty progression too. Not sure if it's scripted or random, but it's good either way.
Felt a little glitchy when the note is on the bottom strum area, but it's playable.
Missed some feedback on the number of errors allowed or whatever mechanic you programmed.
Nice story to justify the theme choice! ;)

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice use of theme, pretty cool.

Ysty says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice, lots of fun.

FREEZX says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Awesome game. Great humour right there :D

May 14, 2013 @ 9:27pm

this was freaking hilarious! i love the graphical style, and the whole concept... haha it's too bad it doesn't actually sound cool when you play... and like... you know... go with the beat or something... but that actually makes it more hilarious... hahahaha yeah! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]