April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Illuminion

by Qaterknan - Jam Entry

Controls: WASD - movement, E - activate triggers, R - restart level

The goal of the game is simple - to reach the golden light and proceed to next level. But it is important to be aware of different types of ligts, because when illuminated by light, various effects might take place.

We are sorry for small number of levels, but at least you won't get bored.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#145Innovation(Jam)3.36
#163Theme(Jam)3.58
#176Graphics(Jam)3.62
#177Mood(Jam)3.26
#188Audio(Jam)3.21
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#358Humor(Jam)1.82

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I like the look of this game and the concept shows promise. It's a bit of a drag right now, though, due to the slow player movement.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I really like the concept. The execution is very fun, and it has a peculiar mood to it. I like it.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

There are bugs. I got stuck on a wall in a corner. Aside from that, though, I like it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Nice little puzzler!

The mechanics are quite solid, and should provide for a ton of possible constellations. Also like the music :)

The death-light could be a bit stronger, right now it's very hard to make out.

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I liked the concept and the visual aspect. Fits with the theme. Really nice work.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

nice concept, the level design is a bit harsh, get this concept further :D

jami says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Really nice game, I wish there were more levels ;)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Overall, beautiful. The "dissolving?" takes too long when you make mistakes, but the movement is nice. Concept is fun, but right away I was avoiding all light, not just specific colors. I will play again however, so kudos.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Can't get past the credits screen! Sorry! Not voted.

iamorim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I liked almost everything I just thought there are some confused parts. Great game after all. :)

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

This was a really good concept, and it looks great. I wish the player were a little bit faster. Either way, good work!

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

The game has great graphics, good ambiance and interesting gameplay. I had a good time playing it. I had some performance issues after running the game for awhile.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Pretty cool game. Got confused in some areas, but I managed to figure it out. Nice work!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Really nice looking game. I liked the light mechanics, made some solid gameplay. Nicely done!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

I like the concept of light and shade - I'd prefer a little more leeway in dying though; maybe if the red light made you lose health quickly rather than being instant death?

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice. Some puzzles were obvious, other were more cryptic. The atmosphere is very quiet. A good puzzle game.

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

the main menu is a bit buggy, but i loved the game, needed me 1 death to get it. its a really cool idea. more content would be nice though

druckson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Wow, awesome concept and execution. 5/5 on innovation and graphics. I'd love to play a more polished version.

DarioOliGPI says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:13am

very nice. a little buggy but fun!

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:21am

Cool but short, also after beating what I think is the last level I was kicked to the main menu and when I tried to click continue the game froze.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Really like the idea behind this game. Nice puzzle game.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Inteliggent puzzle. Very interesting. Congratz!

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

The collision detection is a bit off so I often got stuck on the walls.

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Like it. The light effect works well. The idea could easily be extended

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The idea was fun, but it's a bit buggy and frustrating

Taro Omiya says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:35pm

That was actually pretty good. I liked the creative puzzles there, although it was difficult to tell which switch did what. Tutorial may have helped.

The part that gave me the most difficulty, though, was figuring out where light bounds begin and ends. I would get burnt all the time because I couldn't read the range of the red light.

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I always like when light is used to make a gameplay, it's simple but smart. The graphics really gives a special mood. Nice use of the theme !

FunByJohn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Pretty cool concept! It felt a bit like new mechanics were introduced too quickly, though; it was something like 3 or 4 new game mechanics each level :O

Really awesome visuals, too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]