April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unfinished Cube

by Mega1mpact - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist 2D platformer.

Run Minimal.exe to start the game

Controls:
Up -> Jump
Left/Right -> Move left/right
Spacebar -> Respawn

See the levels folder for info on how to create custom levels
Tools used:
Visual Studio 2012
SFML.NET (Library)
Openal
bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#261Fun3.33
#265Theme3.87
#303Overall3.43
#316Innovation3.43
#428Humor2.42
#635Audio2.56
#824Mood2.61
#830Graphics2.68

Comments

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Awesome game! I love how fast paced it was and that I could keep trying a level over and over until I got it. My final score was 12, in 118 seconds. Nice job!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Pretty fun, good use of the theme. Found myself falling into lava pits (presumably that's what they are) more once I knew they were there, which was interesting.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

Awesome game. I really enjoyed the concept, but when it got to the longer levels I got a bit frustrated when the red blocks happened to show up exactly everywhere - but I quit Super Meat Boy about halfway through, so take that with a grain of salt.

larsendt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

Really fun! Fits the theme really well.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Awesome game, super fun! Really liked the challenge :)

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

Cool game! Nice minimal concept.

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

nice use of coins for guidance

MrHeineken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Really liked the game, the coins for guidance were smart, and the trigger doors, good job!

Anickyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

This sure looks awesome! Can't try it, though :(

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Great game!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Great sound effects!! The red square at the top of the wall on the last level made me laugh. In general, it's a funny game, so exaggeratedly manic and quick to restart that it's almost satirical.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Great work! Nice original concept and a good execution. I wasn't a fan of the jump left and then immediately right trick but otherwise I really enjoyed this.

ahm99 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I forgot my score XD. I do remember seeing over 600 seconds on the last level. Cool game though. Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]