April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Runner

by 64Mega - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple one-button game.

MINIMALISTIC BACK-STORY:
You are Rocket Runner.
Villains have captured the Rocket Launcher. Catch it and stop it by any means necessary!

CONTROLS:
SPACE - Jump.

TIP:
- The speed bar at the top of the screen is also your 'health' bar. If you take a hit while it's at 0, you will die.
- Booster pads shoot you forward like a comet. Use them to destroy missiles and damage the boss!

Enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Audio3.73
#142Graphics3.81
#153Fun3.52
#231Overall3.52
#342Mood3.16
#633Humor2.12
#871Innovation2.71
#1128Theme2.84
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31am

Lots of fun. The sun setting as the boss pulls up is a nice touch.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59am

A game after my own heart! Very nice! Great presentation and tunes!

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

Very fun game :)
How much fricken health does the boss have though?!

Parabol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

Great game, feels quite polished. Love the boss battle, though I haven't beaten him yet.

Megazell says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Like Parabol, I have not beaten the boss. I like this game a lot. Quite fun :)

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Very polished. Given 48 hours, it is REALLY good.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

fun little game, it's always a fun surprise to see a boss in a ludum dare game :).

64Mega says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Thanks everybody. And in answer to your question, harleylaurie, it can take 20 hits. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Wow, really wow. First I thought it would be some boring "just jumping"-game, but then... Very nice!

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very fun, I liked the addition of the boss to the autorunner genre. The music loop got repetitive quickly, but that fits well with the graphical style. The only downside in my mind was that it didn't really do much with the minimalism theme.

Dax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

Love it! The music is awesome and the pixel art is fabulous. I like how you added bosses to the game as well, reminds me of another game that I know of ;)

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

I like it, really solid entry here. The music is cool and the sounds all work really well together.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Very cute and nice graphics!

Also the boss might be a bit OP :)

Legogris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I really like the surprise boss.
I got pretty frustrated by not feeling like I could control whether I would be hit by a missile or not. Tried the boss 4 times but still haven't beaten him/her.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Dosn't feel that it fit the theme that well but whatever. A fun game is a fun game.

pirate-rob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I was surprised someone from 64digits entered, considering no one posted that the Ludum dare was happening over there. Very nice and fits the theme quite well actually.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

The runner part was slow and the static background didn't help. The boss fight was fun, too long to kill, but fun.
The chip song where absolutely great!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

It was a bit slow to start, but is fun once it starts going.
I got wiped out plenty by bunched rockets and sadly didn't manage to kill the boss as I was unlucky with the timing/positions of the booster platforms. :(

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Nice, I really had fun beating it.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

The boss fight is rad! Love the music too.

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Those red sparks are very annoying. They give you the feeling you must avoid them.

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very nice game, the booster pads are an excellent mechanic. The aesthetic is also very nice.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:30am

totally not expecting that -- very cool play mechanic and nice sound/graphics too -- nice job

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:30am

Solid game! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]