April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The particle swarm

by dick_claus - Jam Entry

Help the particles to escape from this universe.
Simple logical game with interesting physics.

Gameplay: Use mouse to draw obstacles
Objective: Send all particles to black holes
Challenge: Finish all levels

Team KamuKuda:
ign - programming lead, level design
monkimkey - graphics, FX, music, level design
dick_claus - programming, level design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Overall(Jam)3.88
#36Audio(Jam)3.89
#52Innovation(Jam)3.75
#68Fun(Jam)3.56
#100Mood(Jam)3.54
#155Theme(Jam)3.61
#202Graphics(Jam)3.49
#366Humor(Jam)1.75

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Amazing game! Simple yet challenging puzzle, love the audio, totally sets the mood for the game! Congratulations!

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

very nice. Level 3 defeated me D:

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Quite nice! It could be a little bit more forgiving, now it wants me to get all of the thingies to their goal.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Some levels are hard. That's why we made all levels available.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

pretty good game, really got me thinking about how to do each level. but you could make it so most have to reach the goal not all :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Great fun to play with the bouncing bits... Need to be very precise to avoid losing too many

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Interesting concept, but maybe a slower learning curve would be nice. Also I seem to need to place every corner pixel perfect, which can get quite annoying ( played until level 7, looked at the rest though, but level 7 killed my mood ). I like the music.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Great concept and execution!

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Very well done. This would work great as a mobile game.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I really like this game, reminds me of the game Enigma.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

I could play this game for hours. Very relaxing.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great idea! very original

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

The audio was great and the soft colors really made this an enjoyable experience. Such a simple concept of getting something in a hole develops into some pretty devious puzzles. The space background is nice for the theme as it complements the puzzle design in showing an example of when there can be so much to explore with so little actually there compared to a vacuum.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28am

Amazing job for a weekend's work - very professional-looking (and sounding!)

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice game, polished an enjoying. Good work.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Great game. As known, there is no way you could have to many particles in a game, and this is just great. Congratulations!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Love this game. Makes the play think outside the box and create weird polygonal shapes. Love it.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

interesting to play. good job.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very polished.

Demurgos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Level 6 buged when I launched the particles. (It become empty, with only the background and buttons left)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

This is a lovely little puzzle game! The music makes adds a lot. I would love to see this is a mobile game!

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

We have fixed the bug on level 6

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Good idea and nice game!

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Great game! Have you thought about porting it to touchscreen mobile devices? I think it fits those devices :).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Very good idea and really simple, fit's the theme really well.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:43am

Great work!
I enjoyed solving the puzzles, challenging levels!

dapierce says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:44am

Awesome level of polish and great idea, this was a lot of fun! Nice relaxing music too, this is a great game to unwind with coming home from work.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Clever design.
Interesting levels. Some of them are pretty challenging!
Sound is good, despite being too short. It would be even better if it was a seamless loop instead.

TenTonToon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very interesting concept and fitting use of the theme. Too bad I suck at it! XD

I found it difficult to visualize both the right orientation of the obstacle to redirect the particles, prior to drawing it, and the very action of putting the vertices down. Maybe with a little visual aid, like drawing a line from the vertex to the mouse position, drawing the obstacle would become much more intuitive.

But that's just a limitation of mine. The concept is very cool. Congratulations! :D

berareu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:46am

Great puzzle game! It's hard to predict where the particles will go and that makes it interesting for me

shiprib says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:00am

Nice mechanics, I got till level 7 before the difficulty topped me. I found it a little fiddly, especially on level 3 - maybe upping the gravity a bit on the black holes? Also a couple of times on my many attempts at level 3 I found that one dot got stuck in a stable orbit and I had to restart the level myself.

tobbez says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:53am

Would have been nice if every launch was deterministic, since as it is now you can launch once and fail, and then launch again (without changing anything) and succeed.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Guys, I highly advise you not to drop this little game and make it to the App Store, it'll certainly find it's audience and will earn some bucks for you :)

kill0u says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really nice!

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Awesome! Didn't expect that I play this more than 20 minutes... just wow. A button is missing where I can reset the level without deleting all my drawings, but that's a minor critic...

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Well executed nice graphics nice idea, but it was little harder then what it should be. Probably work on better level design. But overall good game and considering the time limitations good job.

dick_claus says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:01am

2 Jeremias
After you push launch it would change to stop button. This is what you are looking for.

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Oh, okay... sorry :)

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:32am

Really excellent execution. Lots of polish. Great game.

Spiridios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:55am

Nice graphics and audio. Wonderful puzzle mechanic. I stopped playing at level 6 mainly because I've been rating puzzle games all night. :P Yours is the best I've played tonight though.

wallmasterr says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice, but i dont get how the repell holes work , got to lvl 10 then couldnt compleate it

wallmasterr says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Dam lvl10 I might have brok it https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1993209/come%20on%20little%20balls.PNG the eventualy ended up at the bottom corner :(

hnjslater says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:43am

wow great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]