April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism Tower Defence

by Dew - Jam Entry

As the title says, we made a tower defence!!

ONLY WORKS WITH CHROME OR FIREFOX! Don't use Internet Explorer.

We mainly used the theme as the artistic concept.

This tower defence it's unorthodox, you can't make a maze, and to survive you should move towers, also monsters take damage efficient paths.

Coded in Javascript/HTML5 LoC: 2400
Images used: 1
Sounds used: 4
(Minimalism even here)

The game have online highscores! (Type your name on the finishing screen and press enter to submit, delete nor supr don't work so dont fail)

Game have 6 modes:
I = 1 round
V = 5 rounds
X = 10 rounds
L = 50 rounds
C = 100 rounds
M = 1000 rounds

Monsters are random, try again if you had bad luck!

Tips:
Drag & drop towers from right screen to place them on the map.
Drag & drop towers in the map to move them.
Drag & drop a tower out of the center to delete it.
Monsters objective is to get the little white dots to their spawn.
You can't place towers near towers!
Game can get laggy at the end (^^U pathfinding could be better I know).


HAVE FUN EVERYONE!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#55Theme(Jam)3.98
#149Overall(Jam)3.46
#192Mood(Jam)3.20
#202Graphics(Jam)3.49
#297Audio(Jam)2.84
#311Fun(Jam)2.80
#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#395Humor(Jam)1.62

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Very clever!

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice mood! Just took a while to see that is was a tower defense.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very cool! It pushes the non-verbal aspect pretty hard and I like that. A comment I would make is: make learning a rewarding activity all by itself. What I mean is, when I click on the right button or make the right decision, reward me with satisfying light and colour or feedback. That, I feel, would be enough.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

@arrogant.gamer you get a sound everytime you do something with your mouse that afects the game, turn volume on :P

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

This game is beautiful, and it felt intuitive to play. :)

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

love the feel of it, with the crisp graphics and good music

foxor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

Fantastic! I love TD games, and this one is very well done

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very Clever, hard to understand at first, but then becomes clearer!

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Very clean art, that suit perfectly with the theme

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

A bit confusing at first but quite interesting.
Great work !

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Wow, that was surprisingly minimal! It's also not often that I've played a tower defense game that lets you move the structures around without any penalty or restrictions!

The menus takes some getting used to but after a few seconds it was easy to learn. It is interesting that when using roman numerals you chose to skip D, no level 500 eh? xD

Very cool game, well done!

Corofides says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

A fun game although it did take me a while to figure out what some of the towers did.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

@Cake&Code i didn't do D cause i was lazy and draw a d using coordinates is tough

@all we tried to do it with the minimum text and we managed to use only 1 sentence user --> enter.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I appreciate trying to convey ideas in games without using written language, but the intro screens were pretty obtuse. Admittedly trial and error is the best way to learn. The game itself is pretty solid tower defense, I played several waves and enjoyed myself!

Also you apparently can't erase when entering name to the high scores table? I'm all the asd-starting entries...

(ps. lazer and slowdown towers ftw)

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

@kyyninen the thing with erase its because javascript dont get the use of deleting and since its not an html form i couldn't do anything else.

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Very good! Personal best : 5200.
A well executed tower defense!

wine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:00am

Hundred percent hit into theme!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:27am

This was a really unique take on the tower defense genre. The lack of text and visual style was a bit jarring at first, but worked really well once I had the opportunity to fail a few times. Great job!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:38am

Nice! Because of the extreme minimalism, it took me a while to figure out what all the enemies did and what my towers did, but that was part of the fun. The notion that enemies are trying to 'rescue' the little white guys makes gameplay more interesting. I really like the graphics style, too.

Dew says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:03am

@Frozen Fractal the art designer of the game likes to think that the white guys are sheep xD

Polar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice take on tower defense :) The only issue was working out what tower did what, but after that it was great :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Really stylish and cool. I liked the colors, music, symbols, and icons you used, and the game was pretty fun, too. I couldn't really tell except through trial and error what the various towers did, and that was a little frustrating, but the drag-to-reposition made it a different kind of tower defense thing. Very fun, and very well-done.

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:36pm

1000 rounds? Honestly?

Dew says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:44am

@klianc09 hardcore mode we wanted to implement infinite but i was lazy to program an infinite symbol xD

Milktoast says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:09am

Defense Grid Jr. I love this!!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Watching squares shoot circles interested me. If you continue to develop this, I felt overwhelmed by the units available to buy.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Nice :)

Mago says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:36pm

it was hard to understand at the beginning but later became very addicting and fun

Krahe says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Excellent use of theme; really intuitive / easy to play and yet a lot of content too. Very impressive!

Spelchan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Fun but better explanation of what each tower does would have been appreciated.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]