April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot Guys

by larsendt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Built with Python and Pygame. Should run on anything that can run both of those.

ld26windows.zip has an exe for Windows that doesn't have any dependencies (that I know of).

ld26src.zip has all the source + resources. If you want to play the game on a non-Windows platform, this is what you want. You'll need to have Python 2.7 and the corresponding Pygame installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Graphics3.67
#926Humor1.73
#994Theme3.05
#1080Mood2.29
#1083Fun2.36
#1116Overall2.59
#1248Innovation2.00
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

I think we both know that this gameplay is adequate at best...but I love the aesthetic. That background is glorious.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Nice game! I had fun. Although eventually I figured out that you could camp and kill them quickly. But the feel of the game was great. Can definitely see this become really competitive with a bit of AI work. Great job!

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

I agree. The graphics are cool.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

i really like those buildings dude

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

I couldn’t find the key to move right (d) so I just stayed there and pressed right and robots appeared and they died and I won.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

jumping on the bandwagon, those buildings are sweet

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

I like being called a 'winner' when I have clearly been shot to death.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Man, how many guys does a guy have to shoot to win?

DST says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Looks cool, but I could not run it:
$ ./main.py
File "./main.py", line 18
if not pygame.font: print 'Warning, fonts disabled'

Installed python packages:
extra/python2 2.7.4-1 [installed]
extra/python2-beaker 1.6.4-1 [installed]
extra/python2-cairo 1.10.0-1 [installed]
extra/python2-chardet 2.0.1-6 [installed]
extra/python2-crypto 2.6-3 [installed]
extra/python2-dbus 1.1.1-2 [installed]
extra/python2-distribute 0.6.36-1 [installed]
extra/python2-gobject 3.8.1-1 [installed]
extra/python2-gobject2 2.28.6-8 [installed]
extra/python2-mako 0.8.0-1 [installed]
extra/python2-markupsafe 0.15-2 [installed]
extra/python2-notify 0.1.1-12 [installed]
An easy_install replacement for installing pypi python packages
extra/python2-pygame 1.9.1-7 [installed]
extra/python2-pyopenssl 0.13-2 [installed]
extra/python2-xdg 0.25-1 [installed]
extra/python2-zope-interface 4.0.3-1 [installed]
extra/twisted 13.0.0-1 [installed]
community/python2-httplib2 0.7.7-1 [installed]
community/python2-imaging 1.1.7-8 [installed]
community/python2-oauth 1.0.1-2 [installed]

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:58pm

As others have said, the visual style is great! Unfortunately, the gameplay has nothing that's really "fun" about it.

Since this is a game, I have to judge it more on how enjoyable it is to play than how cool the graphical style is, sorry. I wish that the neat style would have been taken and turned into a game with more substance. Perhaps an action-adventure game with levels that have a beginning and end, rather than infinite, instant-spawn enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]