April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Graviblox

by Pickehut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Graviblox is a simplistic puzzle game that is based on different block types and the ability to switch gravity on and off.

Controls:
Arrow keys - Move
Space - Interact with the selected block
G - Toggle gravity
R - Restart level (if you're stuck)

Because of the limited time I wasn't able to create as many levels as I had originally planned to, but I didn't want to enter the jam either.
I failed miserably with my first game idea, on which I had been working for over 15 hours, so I had only half the time to come up with a new concept.
I hope you'll find it interesting and fun to play nonetheless.

On some computers, the library I used seems to have problems loading the sounds. There also may or may not be problems with text displaying. If that is the case, I apologize.

UPDATE: I just updloaded a bugfix, enabling you to restart the level if you're stuck. I hope that still fits the conditions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#438Fun3.11
#444Humor2.40
#458Theme3.63
#584Overall3.14
#630Audio2.58
#691Innovation2.96
#743Mood2.70
#1017Graphics2.42
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

This reminds me of some old game... I can't remember the name O_o Played it all the time though.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I just noticed a that it says "Yo Won!" instead of "You Won!" at the end of the game.
Don't know why it does that...

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Interesting gravity effects, annoying download site. I would suggest using a direct download thing like a DropBox public folder.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice puzzle! Satisfying chunk sound as you eat blocks.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Thanks!
I have changed the link to a Dropbox download.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

You have a nice idea here. With more levels and maybe more block types you could have a pretty decent puzzle + timed execution game. Although, all I can think of are the Pokemon boulder moving and ice skating puzzles, which are quite different from this... :p

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Good fun, Very well done!

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Not bad, good puzzle game!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I wish there were more levels. It was fun while it lasted though.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not locate OpenAL library.
(Running Linux)

Other than the above which meant I had no sound it was a pretty fun game, although a restart key would be good in case you get stuck behind a rock piece that you can't break.
Other than that it was pretty fun. Good job :)

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

@ThirteenWB
A friend of mine had the same problem running on windows.
I'm trying to fix it, but as of now I'm not sure what's causing it since it works fine on most computers.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Pretty fun puzzle game.

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

I could play games like this all day long.
Just need more and harder levels.

Well done.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

A little bit short, but definitly nice!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59pm

A neat little game :D

Anickyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Really good game, good concept. It was kind of hard when starting out, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice and simple game. Great use of gravity. Too short, I wanted more gravity changing fun!

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

When I saw it was a gravity changing game, I wasn't expecting much, but it did prove to create a rendition of a kind of overused mechanic in a new way. Nice game!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:10am

i really enjoyed playing this. please make more levels! :D

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46pm

A nice minimalistic supaplex on steroids!

lorancou says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:22am

Nice one... but for some reason I can't get passed level 3 (run!). Even if I hit the red square, nothing happens and I end up crushed...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]