April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Neo-Minimalism

by Enneract - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A scrolling shooter in fps perspective. The idea was to have a game with pretty effects (explosions, missile trails, etc) which are all done in a minimalistic way, using simple polygons. I ideally would have liked to have had a lot more effects but ran out of time. The game cycles through two levels, a normal one and a boss level. I will port to windows soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Overall3.44
#352Graphics3.33
#758Innovation2.87
#1311Theme2.33
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

Boo, it looks really cool, but I don't have linux (or an emulator running)

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

I wonder if coLinux would work? Anyway, grabbing it from git.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Argh crap, it seems the src/Utilities/ directory is empty. Mind doing "git add" + pushing? Thanks.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

...actually, never mind. You should probably note in your readme that you need this: https://github.com/DavidSaxon/Utilities

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

...you also forgot the degreesToRadians thing in Utilities/ValuesUtil.hpp, this one works for me:

const unsigned degreesToRadians = 3.14159265358979323846264/180.0;

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

I am uploading a lightweight zip including a Windows port, a 64-bit Linux binary, and some modified source code to ensure this runs on my Intel 3000HD GPU.

Important note: Y'know how apparently some GPUs don't support 24-bit depth buffers? Most intel ones ONLY support 24-bit.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

#############

Here's a size-reduced archive with a WINDOWS PORT attached. Let me know if this works or not: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32094129/Neo-Minimalism-Lite.zip (31MB)

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

(it also includes source so you can build for Linux, and ALSO works on at least some Intel GPUs. sorry about the spam, there is no edit button.)

lorancou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Work Great on windows … it a really new perspective for shoot em up

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

The windows port-version doesn't work for my Windows XP (32-bit) laptop. :( Too bad.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

OK, apparently the degreesToRadians constant I used was wrong (it was missing from the source I had, so I had to go with what I understood - this is apparently the "correct" constant used).
This contains only a fixed .exe, a fixed Linux binary, and the source code: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32094129/Neo-Minimalism-Lite-fix1.zip
For .dll files and resources, grab the other link.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

too bad linux only?

netguy204 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Mac users: The windows version linked in the comments works great on Mac under Wine. This rating is based on using that.

Worked flawlessly! Loved the graphics and your polygon painting style. The explosion when I crashed my ship into an asteroid was simultaneously beautiful and maddening.

Good, responsive control and I enjoyed the arcade feel and being constrained to the XZ plane. Nice done.

I wished that impacts with my ship felt... chunkier... or something. It was hard to tell when I was hit and I was surprised to look up and wonder where all my health had gone. It'd be nice if my shots felt chunkier too.

Very nice work. Is Omicron your engine? I took a quick scan through the code and was impressed with the cleanliness.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

It looks awesome, but like a lot of people im too lazy to upgrade to linux

Enneract says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

Still working on some fixes to the windows version, there was a small bug with degrees to radians, the missle's should be firing in arcs. Hopefully will be fixed soon and I'll link the windows version.
@netguy204 yeah I wanted to make it noticeable when you were hit but ran out of time for this :( and yes Omicron is my own engine, however it's only in its a first stage, basically just some base code would some day like to get it to the point where it's easily usable by other people with a GUI.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03am

Hey, a on rails shmup, you don't see those everyday. Specially on Linux, had to try it out when I saw this detail. Loved the music, fits the game well. Also, nice to see that someone else did his game on Linux! Thought for mine I couldn't manage to get a neutral binary for distribution :(.

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09am

Thanks GreaseMonkey for the Windows port!

This is pretty amazing for a 48-hr game - awesome music, great graphics, and an interesting first-person twist on the scrolling-shooter genre. You should definitely expand this into a full game.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02am

Very cool idea, but I have to say that this type of game plays a lot better with a 3rd person view.

jmf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Music was great as were the graphics. Pretty fun to play too.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:54am

Sorry but i want to play your game but i don't have linux system here..... but that's seems to be cool... not really minimalist but cool

daniel2357 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:56pm

don't have Linux- Sorry

rzfmzn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:42pm

same here, seems great, but unable to test since Im on pc =O(

someone says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:05am

That was really cool. Great music.
Shame there are no highscores, especially since it just loops after killing the boss.
It could also do with a little more info on the HUD.
The missiles are done well, and dodging bullets is surprisingly doable given the projection.
Interestingly the first time I ran it I only had the bottom half of the screen, but it was fine after that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]