April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GridANT

by Saand1338 - Jam Entry

Welcome to the virtual sandbox game GridANT!

Players are in control of a single ant confined in a two-dimentional enclosure. The entire game is gridlocked and runs on "beats", starting at four beats per second.
Players start with 480 beats of life, approximately two minutes, and can increase their life by consuming sugar blocks. Life drains faster after each consumption. Every once in a while a sugar block will fall from the top of the enclosure.

Players can pick up and place blocks to construct pathways, rooms and to create structures. What can you make before the game is over?

Controls:
Left/Right - Move ant anticlockwise/clockwise around the enclosure.
Down - Pick up and place blocks in the direction the ant is facing.
Up - Consume a held sugar block.
Space - Switch to the other side of a one block wide gap.

Screenshots:
GridANT has an inbuilt screenshot function activated by the F12 key or by ctrl+shift+3. A screenshot is also take automatically when the game is over.
These screenshots can be found at a location like:
Windows - %appdata%\LOVE\GridANT
OS X - /Users/user/Library/Application Support/LOVE/GridANT

A note to Linux users:
I'm sorry, I cannot package GridANT for you as I have insufficient knowledge of, and access to, Linux operating systems. I have made the .love package is available for you should you know what to do with it.

---
Developed on OS X 10.6.8 using LOVE 0.8.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I loved the idea but I couldn't get much out of it, unfortunately. I thought it was innovative but the controls weren't quite intuitive enough, and it seemed like it was possible to get yourself into an unwinnable state (by filling in the top-level holes and consuming the sugar). I might be wrong.

nice work though. Looked quite nice and novel idea!

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Works in Linux just by typing “love GridAnt.love”. Interesting idea but a bit tedious and pointless since there is no goal!

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

http://www.loveteit.fr/img/screen.png
Achievement unlocked: reaching the bottom; make a heart out of dirt; die because of a hardly-reachable sugar block.
Achievement unlocked: reaching stone; replay upon death ^^'
I really enjoyed it by the way :D

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

locked* (for the second category)

Tater_hater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Wish it had more ants, but i love these kind of games

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great Idea...

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I like the sugar mechanic. Tunnelling is fun, but it takes a lot of patience lol.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:01pm

This reminded me of my second in game day of minecraft. The first day I was like "lovely, I will explore this vast world." That night I was surprised to find zombies. The next day was a frantic race against time.

I loved that the ant gradually speeds up, so that game-play mimics my own attitude as I become more and more pressed for time. I made a small gravity defying, minimalist statue hoping to alert my captor of my vastly superior intellect.

Alas...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]