April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Get Wet

by Komradus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome lightning lord.

I present to you, Don't Get Wet!
You are tasked with protecting the people of the land. And these people really hate getting wet.
Storms are coming, man the lightning tower and destroy the rain! The lightning is unruly and difficult to control, but nothing you can't handle.
Good luck lightning lord.

Lightning is controlled with the mouse position and fired via mouse buttons.
Pressing spacebar pauses the game, this can also be done by clicking on the P button.
Click the speaker icon to mute/unmute the game.

Programmed entirely in Processing.
Audio created using Sunvox and Bfxr.
Audio programmed using the Minim library.
Graphics made in Paint.NET

Pausing functionality is slightly different in the Web build due to the nature of Javascript. By the way you'll need Javascript to run the web build.
Unfortunately, the web build has no audio. This is because the library I used for sound doesn't have a Javascript port and I don't have time to write the functionality myself.

Enjoy!

Android build has arrived!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#315Humor2.63
#758Innovation2.87
#797Fun2.72
#832Audio2.22
#835Overall2.91
#872Mood2.57
#883Graphics2.62
#917Theme3.15

Comments

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Good game, but I personally found the WHEEEEEP shooting noise to be a little annoying. Other than that though, it was fun.

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Haha perv name :B
Interesting lightning, I liked it

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Fun, but I really wanted to zap my people. Accidentally of course

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

HAha pretty cool! I got wet... :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Very innovative way of intercepting the raindrops; I like the randomness of them. Android build sounds interesting as I think it would be fun on a touch screen. Well done!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I really like how the lightning moves. Simple yet fun.

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

really neat take on the classic missile defender game! once I got down to one guy left, I had fun creating an umbrella for him by rapidly clicking

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I like the background tune. Art style is awesome.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16am

Reminds me of that old atari game, awesome Innovation. Nice Job

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Didn't hear audio on the web version, so I didn't rate it. Game is fun - kind of missile command with guided shots that move randomly. The difficulty seemed to ramp up slowly at first and then very fast - by the end (I got to 80) there was no way to keep up. I liked the lightning traces left on screen - that and the wiggly paths gave it a cool look, although the wiggling was a little frustrating. It might benefit from simpler controls if you didn't have to click to shoot a bolt, since that really didn't do much. Autofire would have been more fun, I think. Nice job!

lorancou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:42am

Nice!

kyru says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Neat take on a Missle Command type of game.

garygreen says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice to see a game written using Processing. The lighting effects looked really quirky, in a good way. It reminded me of Missile Command, but I preferred this to Missile Command. Nice work.

AnimeGeek32 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:11am

Simply good game. In the end, everybody has to get wet.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Cool game! Interesting mechanic. Hard to be master. Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]