April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Car Lancers

by jwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Okay, cross-platform jar and Windows .exe file are now up as well.

This may perhaps be the only--and thus the best--game about rocket-propelled, nuclear-armed, automotive jousting. If there are any others, well...

To play, hit the spacebar key or click on your mouse. You'll need two players at your keyboard--couldn't quite get to creating an AI in time.

Left/Bottom player is controlled with A/Z

Right/Top player is controlled with the UP / DOWN arrow keys.

Note:

There are a few serious bugs, including some inconsistent projection with the split-screen views, as well as a major slowdown after the first game round. Probably didn't reset / dispose of something properly. Well, it'll run at least...

The game was built using Java and LibGDX. Music was created with iNudge (very convenient) and a bit of Audacity. Artwork was created via some unholy combination of MS Paint and GIMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#93Humor3.46
#459Audio2.86
#560Innovation3.12
#623Graphics2.94
#646Theme3.45
#754Mood2.69
#954Overall2.79
#1175Fun2.20

Comments

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

You definitely should continue development. It will be a great game. The key control might be better if they were side by side. Say A and D key for the bottom player.

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Didn't vote on fun because I don't have anybody to play it with :C Also, it is kind of hard to distinguish a win. I kept the two tanks straight and the top tank exploded, but it gave a point to that one. I think.

I love the idea, the graphics and the audio, though, and this is indeed the best game about rocket-propelled, nuclear-armed, automotive jousting.

Xelanon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Really cool idea. I tried to play it by myself but it didn't exactly work out. Anyway, this game has a lot of potential! Also, thanks for the ideas you gave me for my game. I love them and will definitely be implementing them if I develop further.

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

I didn't have anyone to play it with, but playing against myself, it is already pretty fun. The vector-esque graphics and the fact that it is FRICKEN ROCKET-PROPELLED, NUCLEAR-ARMED TANKS are just icing on an already delicious cake.

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Thank you so much for the comments! I was actually thinking of using left/right controls like A/D, imagnity, but wasn't sure which felt more natural. Thank you for the input!

I can understand the hesitation to rate a game that needs two players. Feel free to go ahead, though, unless there are rules against it (I'm not aware of any, aside from the rule against rating unrunnable entries, which presumably is for technical issues). I don't mind.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice game, I really like the concept! Aside from the difficulty of playing it by myself with the touchy controls, my main suggestion is to somehow make it clearer how the cars are coming together, and give more impression of speed? Good job, though.

If only I had a Virtual Boy, I could play it in 3D...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

did not hear any music or sound -- you definitely had minimal color -- nice effort

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

I, too, was unable to properly judge the fun. Playing by myself, the controls felt a bit twitchy. Hilarious setup that I can see developing into something fun. It's all about anticipating that clash.

What about adding some additional cues so that the players have a better idea how closely they're lined up when still offscreen? Some kind of hint line or arrow or something to suggest vertical positioning, maybe...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

A very neat and fun concept! I only was able to play with myself this time, but I could see this being a lot of fun with a friend. If expanded, it also could make a wonderful sort of miniature game. Music was great for the type of game it was, and would say that it has potential to be grown upon. Definitely a fun and original experience that was very simple. I would say though there maybe should be a way to determine who wins a bit more as it wasn't always clear before the score popped up. Adding some extra 'satisfaction' to winning could probably add a lot.

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Why is everybody using Z?
No heart for QWERTZ-keyboard users .... ;(

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Nice visual themeing, however first play through had no idea what I was doing, and the tanks didn't even get a chance to collide. Interesting idea (I mean come on, it's tanks jousting, what's not to love?) but I didn't really feel the gameplay much on this. Sorry.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

Vector graphics are cool

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

One thing I think you can improve on in the game the ramp up time before the cars come together is way to long (unless I missed something).

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:45am

I thought the music was cool, but couldn't really figure out how to play properly. The cars never seemed to go at each other properly...it took ages :(

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Shame about the split screen bug as that hampers replayability and marital harmony. I now need to give my wife chocolates to apologise for "you were nowhere near me!" But keep developing this - it's a fun concept.

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:41am

Interesting game, but it took WAY too long for the cars to meet.

NateNaterson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:20am

Loved the Virtual Boy graphics, ha ha. The rounds really took a while, though. I guess it was to build up tension?

nintendoeats says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:16am

I couldn't get the EXE to work, but the jar was fine.

I love the way that looks and sounds. Get the feel down, chuck in one or two additional mechanics (and get me some friends to play it with) and you could have the next Micro Machines.

Was it supposed to look like a Virtual Boy?

tsb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I really liked the 80s style of the graphics. Love it

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Well we didn't really understand who wins for what reason, but that was fun!

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice game! I really like this entry, its a great minimalistic game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]