April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stick Man Run

by LZAntal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Endless runner with the most minimalist style I could imagine... Stickman :)
Touch the screen or Click on the game area to jump over porcupines, campfires and run as far as you can. I used my RaptorGL HTML5 framework so it should run on all brosers... hopefully.
This is my first submitted entry, I look forward to getting feedback. I had a blast!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Humor2.94
#404Theme3.69
#611Mood2.81
#615Graphics2.95
#647Audio2.54
#676Fun2.84
#825Overall2.92
#1264Innovation1.97
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Instructions would be awesome! =D Otherwise, fun graphics, dude!

Markusn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Fun graphics. A bit unfair but that just keeps me playing!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Interesting haha. One button games can be minimal yet very fun.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

cute game, really nice style :)

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

I liked the art style very much :) Maybe it's me but it seemed to sometimes create impossible obstacle pairs

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Feels very minimalistic, but runs well! Is that thing in the start screen a giant potato or a rock? Very challenging (read: difficult as hell) and fun (read: fun!).

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Loved it!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Lol I immediately tried WASD, arrow keys, and checked the "About" button, but could not figure out how to move. Had to come back here and read the description (which I suppose I should have done in the first place :))!

Once I figured that out and got moving I had an awesome time! Great concept!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice stickman animation! I'm ashamed to say i died four times trying to find the controls on the keyboard, hehehehe (+1 for instructions)

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Thank you all for the comments/reviews. Yes the enemy layout needs work for sure and need to add instructions as well. Will do after the judging is done so I don't break any rules :)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice game but keyboard controls would be awesome

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Liked the graphic style, stick man is fun :) However felt obstacles were unfair sometime, unless I missed a trick.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice! Love the "aaaaaah" sound. tested it on my htc desire z android 2.3 phone and it works but the jump seems to be 4x as far (in the air for like 5 seconds). Framerate dependent physics? Keep up the great work!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10am

Neat game. I agree about the difficulty, but I tried it on my iPad and figuring out the controls was no issue.

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Very tricky but good fun

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Simple, runs super smoothly too. The collision detection is off walls though, you can collide with stuff even if they are not fully touching you.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14am

Üdvözletem! Kedves kis játék, aranyosak a sündisznók! A "Game Over" menüben nehéz eltalálni a feliratokat - van egy kis "Hitbox Dissonance", ha érted, hogy mondom. ;)

Hello! Nice little game with cute hedgehogs! It's a little hard to click the captions in the "Game Over" menu - there's some "Hitbox Dissonance", if you know what I mean. ;)

MegaBrutal says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Sorry for the UTF-8 garbage. I thought the site is UTF-8 compliant. :/

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Fun game. I like the cute graphics, made it fun. The audio added to the humor. I found that the hedgehog was often too close to the fire though, made it impossible to jump over them at times. Great job!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Oh pretty fun graphics on there. I'm afraid the randomness is a bit too much on there, leading to death after death on my end.

The sounds were fun as well. Pretty humorous overall.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Collision detection is a bit "giant rectangle"... not sure of the limitations in HTML5. Nice looking minimal sidescroller.

LZAntal says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Lots of awesome feedback. Thank you all!
@mrexcessive It's a limitations of the time I had :)

anjack says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Great stick man animations!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]