April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flourish

by Beanalby - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Plant seeds to make your garden flourish.

There's really no challenge here, later levels and plants with positioning / placement requirements got cut for time.

Post Mortem write up here, for the curious:
http://beanalby.net/2013/04/flourish-ludum-dare-26-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Graphics3.47
#374Audio3.00
#696Mood2.74
#758Innovation2.87
#790Theme3.30
#843Fun2.67
#914Overall2.83
#949Humor1.69
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

I got through the whole game, but I failed to understand what the challenge was (if any?) other than just waiting to collect more seeds, etc. Maybe the challenge is to finish the levels in as short an amount of time as possible?

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

This is well done. I really like how you're using audio in the game. Nice graphics and visual accents, too.

The only thing that wasn't clear to me was what the pulsing of the flowers accomplished.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

There isn't very much of a game here. It's got objectives but no obstacles to those objectives, so there's no challenge. As part of a larger system, I could see it being interesting though. The visuals and sound effects work well together to produce a relaxing mood at least. It is minimal but it doesn't feel like a complete experience.

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

This is the first game I've come across that I didn't see coming - if that makes sense. I really liked it! My only suggestion would be to make clicking the plants base harvest the seed.

I don't know why, but I feel like that would be good.

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Enjoyed this, very satisfying

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

No obstacle, no game.

LionOfOrange says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Liked it. Felt like an in-game.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Very pretty and pleasant experience, but no discernable challenge? Feels like there's a good challenging game in there somewhere?

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Wow. Nice graphics, sound and really original gameplay. Now you need to add more complexity and levels and you have a good game :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Hi, no more lag on the flashlight :) now let me play your submission :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Hi, no more lag on the flashlight :) now let me play your submission :)

Well, i like the idea, and the sound effects are really cool.

I missed a calm soundtrack.

The play workflow can be worked on. People get annoyed by the "click here click there" thingy.

Your graphics are really nice too!

Nice Job.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Very chill, I like it!

wccrawford says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

It's too bad you didn't have time to add more mechanics to it. It seems like it had potential!

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17am

I love that circle effect prefab! :)

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I like this alot. It has potential but I'd need a little more variety in things to do. I hope you keep working on this.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very well made, but there really isn't anything to it. Not that their really needs to be, but it would help.

Catman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:04am

Cute little game, I liked how the music was tied to the actions. You should get down and make something bigger with it!

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:22pm

The challenge could've been to get the flowers you need within the limited space. It has potential.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I love the art music and mechanics of the game! It has great potential for a much larger puzzle game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

would have been better with something trying to take the seeds away or a timer -- nice job

Siewart says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Good starting point for an awesome game :D Liked the music and art style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]