April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Skyscraper Kingdoms

by Snail_Man - Jam Entry

This is a dual entry to this, and the GMC jam#10, which was held at the same time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Innovation(Jam)3.11
#271Overall(Jam)3.14
#272Theme(Jam)3.26
#307Fun(Jam)2.81
#357Graphics(Jam)2.89
#373Mood(Jam)2.63
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Oh my gosh it's like a mini SimTower. Downloading it now!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Okay, so I was wrong. It's not just a mini SimTower! I love the game, but unfortunately it crashes whenever my soldiers attack. =(

Snail_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

Danggit, I thought I'd fixed that bug.

I'll upload a fix soon.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15am

Really cool game. Great graphics and simple yet enjoyable gameplay.

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Cool game

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I really like this game. Simple and complex at the same time. The AI of the enemies might need some improving. I had no problems defeating the enemy on the first try with one warrior.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Neat game.
Needs building costs somewhere.

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Really cool idea for matching minimalism with the sim genre. I enjoyed the concept - could use some tuning for costs/resources, but as a short game it's great.

Snail_Man says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Thank you all for the comments :)

The game is very unfinished right now, which I blame on my being too ambitious with the idea in the first place. I then had to cut out a lot of half-finished features. Maybe if I'd had a half-an-hour more, I would've been able to have tooltips for the building's costs and functions.

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Pretty cool game! Nice Job. Fits the theme, and pretty ambitious for an LD game.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Fun little game, very minimalist :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Is fun, but a little broken. Certain actions get you caught in a loop...

Kharza says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]