April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Buggers!

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Being the "minimalist" that I am, I limited myself to black/white/gray colors for this game. Everything is ... minimal :)

You are a big strong guy who likes food (don't we all?). This guy just attracts bugs, or maybe the food he has scattered all over does. Anyway, these bugs are just nasty, and if they can manage it, they will steal your food and run off with it. The nerve of those bugs! Luckily there exists scattered about the playing field, food boxes. These food boxes will secure your food from all insec- no, actually ... not every bug.Grab all the food and put it in the food boxes before the bugs take it. If you can get all the food in the boxes, you win the level, or if you kill all the bugs you win. Also you can win if < 75% of the food is taken, but you really shouldn't let those nasty bugs get ANY food.


Move with arrow keys
Activate your bug sprayer with 'Z' to spray those horrible creatures!
If you run into any trouble, press 'R' to restart a level.

Spiders are smart and crafty and can steal food that is NOT in a food box.
Stingers are territorial. When they sting you, you can't use your sprayer for a time
Roaches are just nasty. To kill them you must step on them.

* Roaches and Stingers can steal food from food boxes
* When you are carrying food, you cannot use your sprayer
* In addition to disabling your sprayer for a time, when stingers sting you, they also make you drop your food briefly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#191Humor2.95
#475Audio2.83
#562Mood2.87
#650Innovation3.00
#674Overall3.06
#747Fun2.77
#790Theme3.30
#883Graphics2.62

Comments

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

This was really good! I really liked it when the bugs would all run for the last piece of food and I'd wait to kill em all!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Feels so old school its awesome.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Control are a bit hard. But it remains good :)

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Funny, sometimes it's difficult to run away from flies

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nice work! It was perhaps a bit too tough to kill the bugs because of the spray reload time though.

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I liked the figure-out-the-most-optimal path aspect.

I had a bit of a dance with a roach, it was kind of a moment.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Very nice game. I had fun squashing/spraying bugs. They even seemed to be quite clever at some points :)

phnxphire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Yeah that was good. Good Job!

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very fun and clever. The 'dern bugs' sound was funny.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I wonder how making the bug spray limited or allowing a victory if all bugs killed would change the game. Pretty cool concept though, could even be considered educational with different words that needed to be spelled correctly.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

@Dark Acre Jack: I hadn't thought of the educational slant. Hmm...

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Oh. One other thing to everyone else reading the comments. You can win a level if you kill all bugs. I did not get that into the in-game instructions, but it is in the instructions above.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

A good game in general, but the audio was what I really liked here. It stood out in an amusing way.

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

This is excellent!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25am

There seems to be an issue: to me, every sprite just displays as a magenta square, which makes it impossible to tell different kinds of bugs apart, among other things.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

@ZeroDivide - That is odd. Try hitting Ctrl + F5 to force a reload of the unity file in the browser. Also, perhaps you are using an earlier version of the Unity3d browser plugin? Go here ( http://unity3d.com/webplayer/ ) and see what version you have installed. The version I have installed is 4.1.2f1.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Awesome game! Well done :)

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

Classic atari style, fun!

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:05am

I love the Atari feel you've got going here. My only frustration was not being able to drop the food I was carrying so I could dust a few bugs. Other than that, very fun. =)

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Works nicely enough... found the ai of the spiders tended to clump them all together... Not sure the difficulty scaled sufficiently gradually.

kyru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very nice, good mechanics and good sounds. Fits the theme well.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Cool game, super hard though. I had to give up on the wasp level.

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Very retro :) Movement felt a little slow, which made it difficult to deal with those little buggers stealing my food.

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Haaa those bugs are trying to steal my food!

Had quite some fun playing this one :)

FREEZX says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Cool game, nice pixel art, old school music.

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Quite slow. Its shame the bugs can go through walls too.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:38am

Nice entry, I played all the way to the end. Those roaches are so sneaky! The levels were well thought out, and it's the first game that I played where bug spray is a weapon since Donkey Kong 3.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]