April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FreeFall

by midgard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FreeFall has been developed in 24hours with Unity Game Engine, to be honest, I had a first idea but I didn't like it as much as I like this one so I deleted the old idea and just started with this idea, so there could be some confusion at the start (because I didn't have time to do a tutorial level) and some lack of working on the main menu or the interface in general :)
Convining 2D and 3D aspects it has given to my little game a
cool look (I think :3).

The game: You are in control of a guy with a WingSuit. You have two options:
a) Fall down in your way and just don't worry about checkpoints and time, and arrive to the goal without risk.
b) Fall down going through checkpoints and caring about your time AND try to arrive to the goal WITH risk.

-- There are 15 Checkpoints, and it is really difficult to go through all 15, but at least, if you accomplish it you will get AN AWESOME RANK! --

-- CONTROLS --
*\-- ARROW KEYS --/*
Up - Boost (Increases your fall speed).
Left & Right - Rotates and moves a little the character.

*\-- OTHER KEYS --/*
R - Restart the fall.
SPACE - Open the Parachute (if you don't open it before you hit the ground you will die and the fall will be restarted! So keep an eye where are you falling, and don't open it so soon, it will be boring if you do it, trust me!)

If you liked my little game you can follow me on twitter @MidgardT :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Graphics3.57
#437Overall3.28
#455Mood3.00
#482Audio2.82
#515Humor2.27
#610Fun2.93
#773Innovation2.85
#1194Theme2.71
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Interesting game; I seem to recall playing a minigame a bit like it on the wii at one point. Except this has better graphics.

Mesene says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Nice game! I enjoyed a lot the fall

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Haha, I win the rank: "meh". Oh well, I was just glad to have landed without being hit by a plane or smashing my legs... which is what puts me off the real thing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Pilot Wings anyone? :) Felt very much like that great game. Good job!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

the wind sounds made up a good base mood.
you could add some sounds on the occasion of dying by birds/planes

May 1, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Funny game, good job

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:33am

the controls are a bit wonky but the game reminded me a lot of pilot wings. The old version had a similar free fall game mode with similar graphics. :)

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Hehe great game, remind me a lot of Pilotwing. the ring part was more interesting thant the snes game but the landing was a bit too easy... once the parachute is open you have too much control. At first I was thinking the target was human sized : a little shadow spot would have help to read the scale.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

pretty cool -- did not quite get the sense of falling -- but still a fine effort

May 20, 2013 @ 2:08am

While I think that some music could go a long way as well as maybe making more to the game than going through loops, I adored the graphic style, I loved the concept, and it was a fairly charming title.

shawn42 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I've always like these kind of games. Very nice. (I like the potato too)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Awesome. I really liked the graphics!

Good use of audio, too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]