April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nomad

by tony.pe - Jam Entry

Doesn't run in IE for some reason. Try Chrome or Firefox.

An Oregon Trail like. Live a minimalist lifestyle. Keep your basic needs in harmony with items you find as you travel to join your family.

Less of a "challenge" type game in its current iteration, more of a "relax and soak in the atmosphere" type game. We had a lot of mechanics planned like random events, the ability to control your pace and have it affect your stat degradation, items breaking down after a certain amount of time, etc. We had to cut a lotttt for time.

We'll be expanding this post-LD, for sure! Thanks for checking it out. Comment and let us know what you liked and didn't like!

Sounds are from freesound.org

Music used from freemusicarchive:

Chris Zabriske - Is That You Or Are You You?
Indian Wells - South Beach

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#211Graphics(Jam)3.44
#275Audio(Jam)2.90
#319Humor(Jam)1.95
#402Innovation(Jam)2.53
#411Theme(Jam)2.84
#434Overall(Jam)2.72
#528Fun(Jam)2.00

Comments

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

I can't play it, I only see a white screen. I'm using Chrome.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

I made it to the end, but my guy must have been really tired - he was running on zero sleep for the entire second half of the journey.

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

Hmm, I tried with a few computers here with Chrome and it's loading for me. :/ Clear cache maybe? Do you have Firefox on hand? Sorry about that.

Galan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

Love the style. With some more meaningful gameplay in the there, it could be really enjoyable.

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

It was pretty good, other than I had no idea what to do with the stuff

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

Very well done. I like the non-violence of it all.

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

The items are passive, picking them up is all you need to do to start using them. They affect your stats. We'll need make this clearer in future versions, thank you all for the feedback so far!

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Hmm... probably doesn't help that I've never played Oregon Trail, but not knowing what any of the icons means (aside from sleep) made it rather frustrating. Also, every time I was at a settlement, I'd choose sleep, but the sleep meter never increased.

Boiúna says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Very good game. Transmits in a pretty good way the feeling of lonely. The sound combine with the atmosphere of the game.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I really like your game. The art style is fun and neat and it was an interesting concept.

If you do some polish and expand on it, it could be a fun little game

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Avrec: I hear ya, the intent was to stick with a minimalist UI just enough to get certain concepts across. Parts of it are a bit too minimalist. You're not the only one to mention the sleep meter not going up, been trying to pinpoint that bug myself.

Thanks for playing and leaving feedback!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I liked it! I really want to see a post-compo version with all the features you planned!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

the music was a good choice, and really set nice a mood. not understanding the passive item thing did make it feel like i did not affect the game interaction wise. am interested to see what you do with it postLD

May 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

I really didn't understand what I was supposed to do. A little intro explaining the goal would be nice.
Also, the music is a bit too repetitive in my opinion.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Very nice ambience, fun contemplative game. I didn't find much to do except choose where to put items so I did really have time to sink into the whole thing. The game is beautiful, thanks for a moment of peace and wonder.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:12am

I like the concept, works for mobile.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:03pm

HUD could use some improvements. Top map and right HUD are waay to big. Great art and music though.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very nice music and animation!

It really doesn't have much in the way of gameplay, though. If some encounters or items that would have forced you to make some sort of choice were introduced, there would have been some danger or ability to strategize involved. As it stands, you basically just agree to everything you come across and wait until you win.

Very awesome visual style, though. Glad to haer you'll be keeping it up. Music choice is nice, too.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Hehe, cute game! I played it on FF without any issues. Also, good implementing of the theme!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:21am

Not much challenge to it. Decent mood and graphics, though.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I like this game, the ending is sweet. It's an interesting screen setup with 3 frames to look between. It could use more meaningful choices/challenges. Cool style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]