April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DIG QUEST Deluxe: ASCII Mining Adventure

by SuperDisk - Jam Entry

!PUSH K TO SKIP THE INTRO STORY!

ASCII is minimalist, right?

This game is longer than any LudumDare game should be, it's rather massive for a 48hour game!

You are esteemed miner Richard, and have one final task before your retirement: Kill Charles Flint, the evil firespitting gnome of subterranean evil.


There are heaps of secrets, see if you can find them all (including an underlying, somewhat depressing subplot and the most glorious treasure of all...)


Dodge Whistlets, bombs, Jakes and Jacks and all kinds of other ridiculousness that we could think up.

Post your high-scores in the comments below if you want to.

Please read the HOWTO.



DISCLAIMER:

This game was created for the LudumDare 48 Hour COMPO, not the Jam, but since we worked on a team, I am forced to put it in the Jam.

But keep in mind that this was created in under 48 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#69Humor(Jam)3.20
#110Fun(Jam)3.37
#115Audio(Jam)3.46
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#231Mood(Jam)3.08
#293Graphics(Jam)3.10
#316Innovation(Jam)2.81
#390Theme(Jam)2.92

Comments

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

BLAAGH! Just found a huge bug in the game, patch added. You can beat the game now.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Great game! I got to the lava zone and was brutally murdered by a black and white enemy while I was reading a sign.

I'll play it some more later though, since I really want to get to the ending.

I like how you could choose to tunnel around danger (even if that means that Richard's underground trip won't be profitable!) and I loved the mood of the game, I kind of got a roguelike vibe from it.

Also I commend you for being able to finish such a nice game in just 48 hours, even if you had to put it in the Jam category!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Long life to ASCII characters!

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

@jubjub. Thanks a bunch for the comment!!

@atraxgames ASCII was so it'd be minimalist. I love the look of em' too!

Mesene says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice entry!
good audio and gameplay, I enjoyed it.

I'm not sure but I think mi life went lower than 0 and then I died picking a health box (healt == 0) maybe??? :D

QXD-me says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Funny. Incidentally also pretty fun, although I got squashed between an enemy and a wall and was insta-killed.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Ahh, totally fell for the first cave-sicle trap! nice game, once i figured out i could hold the mouse button down.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11pm

The gameplay mechanic reminded me a lot of Terraria. Really great job on the music.

Bevilacqua says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Fun for a bit.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03am

Pretty nice. I gave up easy but I'll probably give it another go. Sweet game anyway!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34am

It was fun. Like a simple Terraria game.

queader says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

Game Over...but I won't give up! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:30am

Damn that Charles Flint. This is one I will be playing a while after the compo

triplefox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:13am

This game has swag

Skywilly says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19am

The Intro Music remind me Jazz JackRabbit :) I love your musics.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:31am

That was fun !

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:18am

Oh man, I wanted to really like it but "Game Over" that actually ends the game in 2013? I dug so deep! I'll try it again later but please consider some sort of checkpointing, or at least let player skip the intro text crawl!

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20am

Kyyninen Use K to skip the sequence. Thanks for playing! sorry the game over and restarting bit is kinda cheesy.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:13pm

That was fun and remarkably complete! It reminded me of a few dos games I played in my youth.

fastboxster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I totally *dug* it. Ha ha, did you see what I did there?? I can't help but think there is something more to those Whistlets than meets the eye.

muton says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very cool, and good fun... I picked up a health box and it killed me though, that was a mean trick. Will play again, without picking up health boxes. :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:20pm

@muton It's a bug, I think. Everyone seems to suffer from it... It might be that health==0 and since the healths increase by 1, your health might have gone up from -1 to 0, killing you.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Was surprised how well some of the puzzles turned out, had to think my way around a couple of the levels. Got caught one time reading a sign when I got killed. Well Done =]

brantkings says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Good fun. It's a shame the most epic part is the last boss, because so few people are actually gonna see. I remember you from last LD. You're getting better!

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:15am

Simple yet fun gameplay and an emotionally gripping story. Sadly, I started lagging hard on the third stage (I was playing the Flash version.) I had to exit because of it, so I'm not sure if you ever get the chance to explore rooms to the left and right instead of ones just directly below you. I liked it though, good work!

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

@Tyro The lag goes away once the little black particles fall offscreen. We couldn't really find a way around it, sorry :\

But thanks for the feedback!

MagiMaster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

It takes a bit long to get back in to the game given how many times you're likely to die.

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:31am

@MagiMaster Push K to skip the intro.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

Super fun and charming. Reminds me a bit of the ZZT days. I was really bummed though that GAME OVER meant starting all the way at the beginning. I don't have time for that unfortunately. I would've kept playing if there were at least a couple continues. Great job though, it was fun to dig and attack with the mouse.

shard123 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really really fun and addiciting. It was challenging and kept me wanting to play. Great entry!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Cool game. Damn those roof spikes.

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:01am

Notes:

- Funky music.
- I like the screen transitions.
- Kill Charles. Got it.
- Richard is a boss at this mining stuff.
- Richard looks unusually happy about this situation.
- These purple bouncing things are whistling at me.
- I fell for that spike trap so hard.
- Will these pink things murder me too? Time to find out!
- Died! That wasn't health!? Trying again.
- Hm. Next level has the same block, but it actually gave me health instead of murdering me.
- Oh, the whistlers *do* attack you. Must have been that the last time.
- That is an elephant!
- Surprising variety of music.
- Another elephant. These guys are dangerous.
- Game just got very laggy. Seems to slow down whenever I try to move.
- Better now. Blaming Flash and/or system.
- I HAVE SLAIN CHARLES!

- Charming game.

Things I would change:

- Hmmm. Make sure the player dies if he has no hearts left. Health value going negative due to high damage? Guessing so. Seemed like I was invincible when fighting Charles.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:13am

BAUGH! I had that bug fixed, then forgot to save.

Whenever I updated just an hour ago the bug was reintroduced with the build. Sorry about that! I'm updating again, thanks for the report, your notes made me happy.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really liked the graphics style in this game. Reminds me of old BBS door games. DOS ASCII character 01 is my hero!

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:16am

I really liked it, loved the tune, and the miner looks like a potato

CyberYeti says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I wish dying didn't start you back at the beginning, i died form the spikes i didn't see and didn't have the motivation to start over. Good game though and it was a lot of fun, the music was absolutely wonderful!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:29am

Nice music. I had a hard time clicking on enemies to kill them, but I'm not sure why I should even try because you can just dig around them.

namuol says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:16am

Impressive number of good tunes!

Also quite fun.

A little frustrating to go through the game's menu transitions every time I die (which is often), but otherwise enough content to keep me coming back to see what else I'd discover on the next level.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:52am

Awesome game, I love digger and this is better than digger, Great job on making long!

Natedog9145 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:53am

This game was amazing. The music was fantastic, and gameplay was even better. Amazing game.

May 11, 2013 @ 3:40pm

This was cool, a really good sense of exploration

dector says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:37am

Lags on level with enemies. But in other game is very fun. And have lovely music!

Mago says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Very very fun game. There is something in this game that makes it very enjoyable to play. Great work!

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Cool idea... Fun but frustrating to start over. Are the diamonds and gold needed for anything or just points w/ no gameplay value?

SuperDisk says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:35am

@Deathray The diamonds and gold are just for score, and are totally optional.

MafiaPuff says ...
Jul 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Wow, I totally fell for those spikes.

Elephant + Spikes WHY! :'(

Cudos

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]