April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Worm War

by Ezzam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second Ludum Dare entry, and I hope you'll enjoy it.
Worm War is a mix between snake and top-down shooter games. Fight as a worm, kill your enemies and upgrade yourself to face the bigger and stronger ones.
Note that enemy spawning doesn't work as well as I wanted, so if you don't see a hostile worm nearby just run around, and you'll (hopefully) find some.

Instructions:
W: accelerate
A/D: turn
Left mouse button: shoot
Right mouse button:
- click on parts and other stuff to carry them around
- equip or unequip items

Using powerup and repair:
To lenghten your worm, pick up a powerup and feed it to your worm by right clicking on its head.
To repair your equipment, pick up a wrench and hold it over a damaged part. Armors get twice the repairs recieved by weapons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#588Innovation3.09
#806Audio2.26
#875Humor1.82
#929Overall2.82
#952Fun2.55
#1045Mood2.35
#1047Theme2.97
#1145Graphics2.22

Comments

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

I like the mix! :)

Walnoot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Hmm, when I try to run it nothing happens.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Took me a while to figure out how movement worked, it would be a lot faster if there were a background texture or something. Also would be nice to put a low pass filter on the audio :-)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Feels more like ships at sea firing broadsides at each other. Still awesome tho.

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Has a lot of potential. The worm building mechanism is very interesting and fun to use, the game could use some background though so we know where we are heading, or a basic minimap showing the enemies and power ups near us. Great job!

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57am

After i figured out how it works it was quite nice, good job!

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

It was an interesting idea.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55am

good AI, I like how he moves =)

nuprahtor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

At first it's difficult to find out what's happening, but it's a really promising concept.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Sorry, I can't launch the game...
I am using Win7 64bits.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:34am

Interesting mechanic, was a bit confusing at first but was fun for a while. The Music however definitely started to grate for me. Sorry :(.

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Really great concept for a game mechanic, reminds me a bit of Farbs' Captain Forever. Hope to see this more fully developed someday!

jhonpi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Interesting concept, i like the way i can customize the worm. Good job.

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice worm in galaxy far far away :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The black backround don't help to understand if the character move. Good works.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]