April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Conquest

by manax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's not a strong thematic entry, but it is a game (unlike my entry in LD23, which was more of a "sketch").

The AI is strong, so I really recommend "easy" if you're playing any map size bigger than "Small"...

I should add a volume control... but not gonna. Not sure how loud it is for you, so be warned.

Enjoy!

20130508: Just for reference, I just beat it on "normal" 5 of 8 times. Doing good moves in the beginning makes the endgame much easier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#538Fun3.00
#617Innovation3.05
#653Overall3.08
#657Theme3.44
#690Humor2.05
#848Audio2.20
#984Mood2.43
#993Graphics2.47

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

I like this entry, but it is very difficult even on easy. I'm not sure the AI actually needs a 2-piece advantage on easy. :P

Also, having a restart key would be nice since I kept having to press enter in the URL bar to reload once I realized I had messed up the first few moves.

Lastly, is there an element of randomness to this? I felt like sometimes territories would go neutral or not be captured as expected, but I suppose I am wrong.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Hey, nice game. Too difficult as mentioned above but I enjoyed it nonetheless :).

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Great game but way too hard :(

manax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

No randomness. The 2-piece advantage is because the first player gets a significant advantage. (Although yes, 'easy' is still pretty challenging.)

Adding an "I give up" button would be good, but you should finish the game, even if you lose! *hint hint*

When you select a hex, all adjacent hexes are evaluated, and if there are more grey or red hexes around THAT, then they are flipped. More metaphorically, you attack a hex, neighbors are distracted, and so THEIR neighbors can take advantage.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I like this entry, but I'll agree with the others and say that this is a bit challenging (this could be me, as I tend to struggle with this genre). On easy, maybe the AI should occasionally make bad moves?

manax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The AI actually picks a move based on a randomness, so the difficulty setting is just a constant. I'll add a "very easy" setting in a few hours, disclosing that I don't think this violates the spirit of LD, and hoping others agree. I won't tweak anything other than the constant, so if that isn't enough to make it easy... I guess we'll have to live with it.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

This is great, managed to beat it on easy, tried normal and failed. Easy isn't too hard once you understand the rules, but it's certainly not easy.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Has an othello vibe, would have been nice to have some little soldiers or something to give a bit of story to what's happening

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Idea is interesting, but gameplay is too hard even on normal

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very good gameplay!
A bit difficult to figure out how the math is being done.

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

It's hard to get used to the rules, but once you get, it's quite a fun game!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This game's challenging but it's a great game :D

sboerwinkle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Pretty good. Rules for capturing territories could be a little better explained, but I think I got the hang of it. Still tricky after several games, so good job there.

nddrylliog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Tried to rate it, but the page only had a blue canvas with nothing happening :/ did it break recently?

manax says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Oops, started work on another project and accidentally released it on top of my ld26 entry! Thanks!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I liked it! I'm not very good at strategy games, but I am good at getting potatoes apparently!

Outsmarted at Easy every time :/

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:41am

Great game. Loved it. Perhaps one of the best basic strategy games I have played ever, definitely best LD strategy game I've played.

ovenchips says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Man, that is super-punishing. The guest appearance by the potato was sublime. :)

May 8, 2013 @ 2:44am

Easy is still pretty haaaaard :P

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:42am

Rules of the game would be nice.

manax says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:00am

@stqn Err, they're on the webpage, below the game...

Beldarak says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:52am

I suck so hard at it :D

But it's a nice game you got there.

Tater_hater says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:06pm

potato...

Gremlin says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Switching between mouse and keyboard is kind of annoying, but you knew that already. And the problem with the sounds isn't so much the volume but the repetitiveness.

I like the general idea of the game, though it's really hard to win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]