April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

squarespace

by berkano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** CHECK OUT THE PLAY GUIDE (PDF) ABOVE - LOADSA INFO!! :-) **

You start off as a captain in charge of a small spaceship. Over time you are able to upgrade the ship (adding new
components) if you gather the necessary resources. You'll also be given missions to carry out by mission control.
You will encounter a number of hazards along the way and be set various challenges, finalizing in a major
mission that will test your piloting, mining and construction skills to the max.

** Notes about PostCompo version **
- game content is the same as original compo version.
- major performance improvement
- major collision detection improvement (it's harder as a result!)
- in-game help system improved
- can now pause the game :-)
- various other bits of tweak and polish

Please submit your ratings based on the original compo version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#127Overall3.71
#224Fun3.39
#231Innovation3.56
#300Mood3.20
#357Audio3.03
#521Graphics3.07
#543Humor2.24
#994Theme3.05

Comments

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Wow this is a lot of content for just 48 hours.
It would help if the tutorial was a little bit more detailed and had the ability to pause so you could take time to read the console, but on the whole a nice fun game, good job :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Fantastic piece, I'm glad to finally see an attempt to make a game with a bit more of depth.

And kudos for the first ever (that I've seen) LD game with PDF manual :D

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Deep space nein- yes. The hit detection appears to be a little buggy, but maybe I'm doing it wrong.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@FloatingGhost, it's not you :-)

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I really enjoyed this game because it has a lot of content. Collecting minerals and making your own ship is very funny, and I played it for a while :D

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

It's awesome. I can play in it forever ^-^

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

What an achievement. This game's right up my street. My only complaint was that I found it hard to tell if something was a pickup or an enemy. Lots of trial and error, but really rewarding. Lots of depth. Please continue working on this. :)

May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Strange, beep, drrr, pling, enter a number, beep beep, ufo lasers, gems, asteroids, green square, beep... Wait, what ?
-> I didn't get it... Sorry ! :)

May 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

And I'm not reading a manual tonight, sorry again ! XD

May 2, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Great game

voidstar69 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Looks like quite a deep game. I played it for a few minutes, but got confused about which sprites I needed to shoot, and which I needed to collect.
A manual for your game - nice! :-)

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Crikey! Nice touch that you provided a manual.

thedaian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:40am

Seems like a cool game with a lot of content potential, but it all seems to move too fast, and having to type in codes to move to the next level and do stuff, as well as no apparent way to see a full log of the console makes it hard to learn how to play the game.

Jorjon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:06am

The best space exploration game in the competition. Make something more polished and don't use Java.

berkano says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Hi everyone, I really appreciate your feedback. I got around to creating a "post-compo" version which you can find from the link above, and takes some of your suggestions into account - others I will remember for next compo! :-) Enjoy!

lasergans says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Cool game :) Impressed by your documentation.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Collecting resources and dodging aliens interested me. If you continue to develop this, I was imagining you're intending to expand this into managing resources somewhat like parts of the ship in Galaxy Trucker and colonizing a planet.

Spelchan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very impressive for 48 hours. I think there are some ways you could have simplified the game a bit more. I also hope that you continue working on this game.

AlexFili says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:32am

Fantastic, there is a lot to see here and it's clearly a game that rewards the player for investing with time. Brilliant job with this, can't wait to see more!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

it was good -- but not my type of game -- great job

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

The intro is very confusing, but the gameplay is very satisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]