April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Neonisation

by Hegemege - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to empty the center of the screen from colored tiles with the shapes available to the right. Try to solve each puzzle with as few clicks as possible. There are two "secrets" within the game. Please note that your scores are saved between sessions, so you may play the game later and use S to skip levels you have completed already (or try to get a higher score of course)

If you are using a Linux or OS X, you'll need to have python and pygame installed on your system.

Controls
-------------------
Menus:
Space - Next

Game:
Mouse left - select shape/destroy tiles
Mouse right - rotate shape


About the game
-------------------
This was my third Ludum Dare entry, still going strong with Python + pygame, earlier ones being 23 (a success) and 24(a failure). So far, I think this is my best LD entry.
I got this idea pretty early, and it stayed the same through the weekend. I managed to get pretty much the whole game mechanics part done within the first 24 hours, so all I was left with was some graphics, audio, content, and polishing for the second day.

(You can create your own levels in the editor after beating the final level, and if you want to share them with others, either start the numbering from 27, or wipe the scores and start from 1. If you forget to set the goal for a level and get like "8/0" score, wipe that line from the scores.txt. I was going to add online level sharing and what not, but that's seriously out of scope within 48 hours!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#68Innovation3.92
#127Overall3.71
#133Audio3.47
#198Fun3.44
#266Graphics3.50
#274Mood3.23
#277Theme3.85
#512Humor2.28

Comments

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

Great concept :D. Had fun playing this and would play again. Controls feel good.

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

I really like this one! It may just be that I don't play a ton of puzzle games, but I've never come across this "make efficient use of these templates" kind of thing before. It felt surprisingly well-balanced given the time limit. And it makes great creative use of the minimal graphical style. Overall super impressed! My one complaint is that the "shoom" sound effect that plays when you click gets a little tiring.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

goob job, great graphics & concept !

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Nice puzzle game :-) the sound effects were really nice, and the tutorials gave me all info that I needed.

A few small points that I think could improve the game:

* I REALLY liked the graphics for the neon squares, and the blue background - that said, I think the fond contrasts a bit too much with the rest of the game - maybe you could pick some other font that fits better with the rest of your design? Or maybe if you blur the current font a little bit. Not sure.

* When you click a Shape, the shape cursor appears somewhere else on the screen. Maybe the shape cursor should appear just under the mouse cursor? It feels more natural to me that way.

Thanks for the game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice game, congrats!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice game

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Simple but addicting, fits the theme well :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Really nicely made game. Seriously hard puzzles towards the end and seems to be a bit easy when you discover you can just spam shapes. But good job anyway!!!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very original! great game

dem0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Audiovisually great and original puzzle game :P Can be really challenging

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Neat concept! Loved the music and the game was very nicely done. I'm so bad at puzzle games! Control scheme is amazing though. Awesome game.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15pm

One of my favourite games this round, nice and simplistic, fits the theme nicely, love the level editor!
Great entry :)

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Go pygame go. Very beautiful.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Thanks all for your great feedback and comments! I wish I had time to implement the online level sharing, but now that so many like the game, I might just add it within the near future! :)

martijn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

The difficulty curve was kinda weird

ohsqueezy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The save feature is greatly appreciated! I'm still playing. Cool concept :)

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Great job! The mechanics are interesting, they are well explained and it becomes increasingly challenging. Congrats! :D

May 2, 2013 @ 7:33am

Okay you managed to include a level editor. Full marks just for that.

stromchin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:57pm

This game kind of makes my inner OCD to come out

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:29pm

You created fonts out of those things? Really impressive. Hey peeps, you should play it too. Worth the time.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:56pm

This is an amizing game, fantastic idea and a real challenge. I shall be spending lots of time on this playing and making levels after rating is over. Well Done =]

dsoft20 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:49am

Nice graphics and nice take on the theme, controls are good too

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:50am

Great game, but it just skips to the menu after the second level? I can't figure out how to access the rest of the game.

Hegemege says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:05am

The only reason that could happen is that either it didn't extract all the map files when you unzipped the folder, or you hit Esc rather than space. Try redownloading the zip, and make sure there are all 26 map files in /src/data/maps

SamoojaMies says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Finally finished the game. Super solid game in 48 hours. Game idea actually works and is fun. Amazing amount of levels out of the box + level editor!
Room for improvements: add some visual effects, different backgrounds, distinguish selectable blocks more clearly and add tetris style HAPPY music :P.

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:04am

Wow, really cool!!! This is probably one of my favorites so far! Awesome idea, and very well executed :D

KunoNoOni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:13am

WOW! I'm totally impressed. Very nice use of theme! Just an awesome game all around.

Mesene says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:13am

Nice entry, spend a nice time with it :)

Coruon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:14am

A good game and a good concept :) I wasn't really interested the first few levels but then they started getting a little harder every time until I was stumped. Then it became much more fun and I couldn't stop!

My suggestions are having it so the shapes show up where the cursor is, it felt awkward having them appear out of place. And also working in some way so that people aren't tempted to just spam shapes, as I was. The goal is a nice way of doing this, but maybe incorporate it more? Like, if you get it in the minimum number of clicks you get three stars, if you get it in less, two stars, one star and finally to the point where you can't continue if you just spam mouse clicks.

Hegemege says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:22am

@Coruon
Thanks for the feedback, I was planning a sort of minimum performance to pass each level (and best scores to be displayd in the global level sharing / leaderboards), but I much rather polished the features I had.

@Others
I'm very tempted to make this a proper full game now. The positive feedback means a lot to me :)

thephantom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:17am

liked the puzzle and idea so much :)
great work and an excellent game :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice job!
I like your concept and game mechanics! It matches with theme well, but sounds are terrible. And also I can't find the way to replay levels.
Interesting puzzle game anyway!

JustinMullin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very clever. I like the clicks system. It encourages playing through the game, as you can just take a sub-par score and continue, or be obsessive and hunt for the most efficient solution. Nicely done!

goerp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice minimal puzzler. You should make a proper game of it. It is pretty complete.
Some more music would be nice, because the music you have becomes a bit weary after playing for longer periods, I think.

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:01am

Nice graphics and audio, a simple but interesting gameplay mechanic and really well thought out puzzles.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:32am

Good job, nice concept, well put, and good atmosphere, but the menu is frustrating, isn't there a way to retry an already made level without skipping to it ?

Hegemege says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:55pm

You can press R during a level and in the completion screen between levels to retry that level (the actions are shown in the bottom area, easy to notice)

Kuupu says ...
Aug 23, 2013 @ 3:35pm

nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]