April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE WASD

by tdsmale - Jam Entry

Built in HTML5. Works best in Chrome. Music doesn't work in Firefox, sound effects don't work in IE.

I had no idea what to do with this theme other than something weirdly abstract. I originally didn't intend to upload it, but then I wanted to see what people made of it and changed my mind in the end. The comp deadline had already passed, so here it is as a jam entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Theme(Jam)3.91
#228Innovation(Jam)3.13
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#310Graphics(Jam)3.02
#332Audio(Jam)2.69
#385Humor(Jam)1.67
#414Overall(Jam)2.78
#487Fun(Jam)2.24

Comments

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Minimalism!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

This is pretty.
I thought the title was refering to outer space, that would have been a cool name :3

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Everything about this game fits together so perfectly, The music, the sfx and the visual aesthetics work together so well I played much longer than I thought I would.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

man, that effect is pretty neat.

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very interesting concept. I can see why the game was named what it is.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Perdy! Really tasty concept, done really well. HTML5 bonus points awarded ;) Not a big fan of the "reveal" SFX though, buzzes my headphones!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

It's original

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Certainly very minimal but not to much gameplay.

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I like the style but perhaps there could be some progression. The gameplay is more or less aimless wandering? What about an end?

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I don't get it, but it's fun to move around in!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

There's something in that...

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Not much of the game, but I like the graphical effect and the mood at the beginning is nice.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I'm glad you chose to upload it. I think its beautiful.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Excellent work, very polished and fun, fits the theme perfectly.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Nice take on the theme!

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Fits the theme, not sure i'd consider it a full-blown game. Doesn't matter, i enjoy the composition!

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

the sound effect made me think i was losing every time until i realized what was happening! xD
Interesting idea though!

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I really love the graphics and the way you fit in the theme.
A bit sad to don't see more gameplay or experience range.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

There is no goal, right?

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Awesome use of the theme!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

That's a lot of rectangles :P

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

No idea what I'm supposed to do but I enjoyed it. :-)

sharbelfs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51am

nice concept, i liked the game

May 1, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Yes, i think you went a bit overboard with following the theme :D I've seen some games with no objective or way to loose, like "Be the wind" or "Zenbox", and there is a lot of games playing with geometric visuals. Putting it all together, you made something that's hardly a game, but definitely an interesting experience. For some reason, it actually works - it is engaging for a minute or two. That a good time for a LD game! Should you back off a step from following the theme, and gave this game some sort of objective, this could be a very promising entry!

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:28am

Definitely minimal! Kind of hypnotic, but not much of a game here. I like the sounds and music - satisfying and moody. Nice work.

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:07am

Interesting concept, not sure what I was supposed to accomplish but the ride was rather interesting.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I quite liked this, though the controls were a bit iffy (i.e. you continue diagonally if you let go of one of two buttons being pressed). It's worth noting that the audio works in Firefox Nightly (probably due to MP3 format?), I'd suggest using .ogg and .mp3 based on which browser accesses the page.

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I like it! The constantly scaling blocks make for a unique experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]