April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

#

by Puzzlem00n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The name's pronounced "Sharp." Inspired by the De Stijl art movement.

PLEASE DO NOT RATE UNTIL THE END! There's a potato in store if you reach it. ;) If something glitches and/or you get outside of the walls, you can press 'r' to restart the level.

--------------------------------------------------------

Special thanks to my friends Wonckay, TheSpydog, and Michcioperz for being my livestream buddies at different points throughout the compo. Rate Michcioperz' game here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=10103

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#218Theme3.91
#337Mood3.17
#374Audio3.00
#676Fun2.84
#702Humor2.04
#758Overall2.98
#804Innovation2.80
#872Graphics2.63

Comments

jellonator says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice game, although the interactions between blocks is a bit glitchy.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52am

I got stuck really early on (blame my Ludumed out brain) at the part with the three bouncing yellow blocks guarding the other small one. I first found it odd, but the restrictive movement grew on me.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice atmosphere! The collision seems sometimes a bit buggy (didn't die though touching an enemie. I'm also not sure why the fleeing blue box can push the red one but I can't, even though I'm blue. There are two rooms with color changing dots. What's their meaning? The ending is somehow "unexpected" :D

Short, but funny.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Yeah, I did put it through with some minor glitches. Not dying when touching an enemy is a new one, though... I'll look in to it.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great interpretation of the theme! Like CloudiestNights, though, I got stuck at the same part. Probably too tired :P

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice game ! It's a shame I got stuck I really wanted to see what's next. Beautiful interpretation of the theme.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

If you're getting stuck there, stop a second and think. Why do you think I put one of the red boxes in that level?

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice and simply. I got a bit annoyed not being able to move diagonally, but all in all it wasn't bad. The soundtrack was nice; I like how it also fit the theme.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Clever use of boxes and environmental puzzles.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

The sounds and mood was great. I liked the visuals too!

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Pretty cool. Short, but I liked it. Good job :)

cominu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

please fix the permissions on mac build

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Good job, it was certainly too short, but it's a compliment. I would have liked more. The minimal aspects work great

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

@cominu: I'm not quite sure what you mean, I'm not too familiar with Macs. I just followed the instructions on the wiki and forums. I haven't run in to any permissions problems before, so it sounds like it's a problem on your computer.

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very atmospheric, I like the mechanics. My only complain is that the collision detection was a bit strange feeling at times.

Kitch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

Ruh-roh... you do have a # too... you even have a piano. :P
I think all you other folks should name you're games # too... just to clear up any confusion :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43am

Cool game; I loved the simple color rules you set up and the puzzles you built from them. I found the control/collision part of the blocks a little tough - I kept moving farther than I meant to, or hitting things I thought I was clear of. But it was fun, stylish, minimalist, neat! The music and the Still Life with Potato at the end were both cool.

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:47am

You never disappoint Puzzlem00n, I liked the contrasting character methods and being the yellow one was my favorite.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:57am

Good concept, but I got stuck fairly early. I enjoyed the simplistic gameplay.

CharlesBoury says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:51am

Ok I was stuck, but decided to retry it.
I succeeded but only by exploiting a bug. Or was this the only solution ? The screen below the cross-like one gave me no choice but to take the small blue square. Thus I was stuck in the following screen.
I hope you understand me.
About the bug, it allows to go through fences if you place yourself in the front of small ones and move forward. Here's a screenshot : http://charlesboury.fr/misc/%23bug.png
But it was cool to be able to go anywhere !

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21pm

The game was interesting - I really liked the level where you used the blue box to push the red box! The other levels didn't leave as much of an impression.

The ended weirded me out! If that was your goal, you achieved it :-)

Cheers,

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:45pm

@Rabbits... Really? My observation seems to indicate that I disappoint regularly. =)

@Charles I'm aware of the glitch, my brother found it a couple days ago. I'll look into it for the post-compo.

@caranha: I really am glad I coded that blue-red interaction in, I knew it would sell the game. And the ending was more of a way to add depth and/or pretentiousness, and to see how people would interpret it. I'm glad it gave you some sort of reaction!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I liked it , I felt my self traveling inside a painting

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Webplayer version didn't work for me, so I went with Windows instead.

The game was a good length, and the music was fitting. Great use of theme.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:19am

Hm. It appears the extension has stopped working. Fantastic. I'll see what I can do.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Solved. The web version works again.

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:12am

Niice man. Some of the puzzles are pretty satisfying to figure out, especially the blue box one at the end. Just wanted it to be longer! :) Nice music too.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:01am

Smart game, I realized why you named it #! :P It's a nice and challenging game, with some collisions seeming a little off here and there. I liked the color themes though, and the way the blue starts rushing after you as soon as you change colors is great. Nice work!

kddekadenz says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The controls and the collision detecting is terrible! The colors are good, as well as the minimalistic music.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Would future commenters please specify what about the collision is terrible, specifically? The collision with the white tiles? Or the colored enemies? It's important for me to know.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:19pm

(I'm not stupid, I know the collision is bad all around, but it's better to interrogate the players as if you're a robot with no opinions of your own.)

Leoche says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:03am

Simple and pretty, gj.

OU GDA says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice use of the theme. The music was short but sweet and utilizing the three modes was getting rather interesting. I could see this going further if there was more time. It was a bit annoying being unable to move diagonally, but it may have just been my hardware?

Jacic says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice minimalist game, and I like the powerup system! It's unique! the only problem is that movin into blocks was often glitchy. Not being able to move diagonally was annoying at first, but I got used to it.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:02pm

It has become increasingly clear that deciding against diagonal movement was probably not too smart a call. Oh well, it probably would have caused too many bugs at the time. The post-compo version will have diagonal movement once it's out.

ncgames says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:07pm

one of my favorite minimal designs, actually. nice work!

f7f5 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The controls were awkward (difficult to get the square into narrow paths) and deciding against diagonal movement was not to my liking :D But I liked the puzzle system, and loved the music. It's short, but long enough for this type of competition.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:36pm

So far "loveliness" is just hanging for me. I'll restart my browser and see if it clears up

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Ah, I just needed to restart Chrome. Testing in progress!

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I liked it! I think the major complaint people are having probably isn't with the "collision" per se, but more the fact that you have to be very precise to get into some of the passageways (adding the diagonal, as you'd mentioned, would help, because you'd be able to press against the wall as you moved to the passage, and enter the passage when you crossed the lip
That said, I found the atmosphere nice and the puzzles "just right" for difficulty (the first few were fairly standard but the last one was quite imaginative - I thought I was stuck at first
I also liked the wtf ending.
Nice work!

mohammad says ...
Jun 13, 2013 @ 3:28am

I don't know what people are saying about the impossibility. It seems simple enough, with some creative think needed once in a while. One complaint that the story wasn't present, and the ending didn't shed much light. Also would've liked multi-movement control, with buttons registering rotation of an objects direction by adding direction and subtracting when pressing/releasing buttons. Other than that it was probably your greatest for of effort put here today. However you should not doubt yourself, because you wouldn't be here without any of the experience you gathered from your journey. If anything, this is FAR from your greatest accomplishment, so GOOD JOB, YOUR WINNER.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]