April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TOWLDR

by Hamumu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play with mouse and keyboard. Rules unknown. Beware: TOWLR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Humor3.58
#316Innovation3.43
#358Theme3.74
#619Overall3.11
#731Fun2.79
#732Mood2.71
#788Audio2.29
#965Graphics2.52
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

This is hilarious. Annoying, as I try to figure it out, but hilarious. I'm stuck on level 3.

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Interesting but even though I figured out how to change the loading bar on level 3 I couldn't get past it

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I want people to see all the exciting levels! Level 3 tip: Press Y, not N.

Better level 3 tip: VERTICAL OBSERVATION.

miotatsu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice little game, the levels were creative, some of them took me a while to figure out :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

This is pretty fun, tho I'm stuck on level 4 :'(

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

i dont like kongregate ads
i dont like lvl3

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

What in the world did I just play?

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

For some crazy reason, I thought this was completely awesome. I think mainly because it was completely unexpected and made me thing, and the solutions were fresh and non-obvious. A shiny, little gem of a game. I was imagining the author laughing at me as I madly bashed my keyboard and mouse figuring out the solution to each level.

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Very cool. I got stuck on level 6, because platformers suck.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Fiendish and brilliant. I loved it.

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I´m also stuck at the lvl 3 loading bar. but till then the game was pretty good.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Pretty cool. The level 3 loading bar is evil...

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

I got TOWLRD.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

How the hell can I pass level 7?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Wah. Level 9. Holy crap. Genius.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I've always been a bit conflicted about TOWLRs. This one is pretty reasonable, I think. Not sure if level 9 is just demanding or if I'm missing something, but that's where I gave up.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Argh, frustrating, stuck at 4 at the moment! I demand spoilers!

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Hmm, what if I don't remember which one is 4?

Aha. Level 4 has a nice special feature: you can flail away madly (at least in a certain way) until you complete the first step of it, so figure out what that first step is by flailing, and then work from there.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:22am

I won. Don't spend all your Kongregate earnings in one place :P

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:34am

So frustrating! Finally got my cake though.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Brilliant idea :D

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Level 9 broke me. In a good way.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:10pm

That was really fun to play, some great puzzles that were very diverse considering they are all based on a loading bar. It was quite challenging and the humor was great. Well done.

Hayawi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:47am

Aww my cake expired...that was a fun game though :P

May 3, 2013 @ 1:22am

I got the cake. I think you should have started the game with a screen that gave the vase hint like "this game is all about the loading bar" and let it go from there. I nearly quit until I "got that". Fairly genius after that, if you are into maddening, illogical, trial-by-error puzzles :) Didn't get stumped on any of them too long.

L9: tip. Make quick 2 direction changes (hidden maze basically). Hit up/right very quick for example, or left/down.

This is a great game as long as people 'get it' and understand the puzzles all revolve around getting the loading bar from left to right (for the most part).

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:59am

after "Curse Of The Golden Pearl" I can't believe it. stuck on 2 stage

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice. I do think it needs a bit more to hook the player at the beginning, especially with a theme like this where many games are actually just press Y to win. Good name, too. :) I got cake!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

No... Towlr... not another Towlr... anything but that... don't make me- NO!

Heheh, fun game. The fact that clicking meant death on some levels got annoying when the window lost focus and Flixel froze the game and you had to click it, but that's mostly my fault.

I feel like I had more to say, but I already forgot all of it.

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:40pm

So annoying... but yet I finished it, and even enjoyed it ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]