April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A fish called Revenge

by Tiago Ling Alexandre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small fish returns home to make justice with his own hands!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#258Humor2.74
#821Graphics2.69
#955Audio1.96
#997Mood2.41
#1005Fun2.47
#1116Overall2.59
#1282Innovation1.91
#1322Theme2.28

Comments

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Would like to have seen more animation on the fish! Cool game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Thanks! Yes, this was one of the things i missed too. I tried to animate the player character, but it was a disaster (i'm a programmer)!

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Cool game! Why is there a squid counter? More squids make you stronger against the red fish?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Yes, the initial plan was to make it relevant, like each x squids the player would get some kind of power up, but in the end i couldn't decide on what it would be and implement it. I almost didn't have the time to include the "long shot" upgrade also.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Good work.
I like the intro :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Definitely minimalistic game :)

drstik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Mmm.. squid meat.

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Mmmh, what I did : went out of the map; killed a squid in a block and can't reach the food; been killed quickly the the red anglerfish XD
Btw it's a cool game :)

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Great art, would've loved some ambient ocean sounds in the background (or something like that).
The red fish is damn hard :) got to him 2 times and got totally crushed by it both times.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

One day I will kill red monster!! Man that boss is hard.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Awesome title! Every time I read it, I hear it in the classic movie-announcer voice. It lends itself so well to sequels: "Revenge 2: Son of a fish!"; "Revenge 3: A fish best served cold!"

Also: solid gameplay and graphics. Great job!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

This is great fun. GOOD CONTROLS which is the most important thing ever. Combat was a lot more fun than it seems since your range is so short.

Good stuff x

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Yes, after submission i noticed that some parts of the map were missing, thus allowing the player to go off-grid.

Anyone got to make the boss flee the first time? Each time you make it run away, you'll unlock a new skill, making the game a little easier.

The music, i couldn't find an automated solution to make this easier, but yes, i also miss it. After the end of the compo i found this little program, which seems to be great: http://musescore.org/

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

nice game (graphisms and control are right)

the intro is fun

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Unfortunately took quite a while for it to load, but after leaving it in a background tab for a bit and coming back to it I found it eventually had.

Really liked the satirical introduction, very intense. The game felt over all simple, the sprite drawings were basic and as others have mentioned I think could have benefited from some animation. Due to the flixel (or whatever the haxe port of flixel is called) "nokia" font, I was under the impression that the game would have a 2:1 pixel ratio on all the graphics accordingly and was quite surprised once the game play started. I really liked the squid sprites.

The movement felt very responsive, though I'm not sure a real fish would control so well, it did feel smooth and rather fun to control which is obviously more favorable than realistic fish-physics.

I also found on some parts of the level I was able to swim off of the edge, at this point I was no longer on screen as the camera locked to the edge of the level, so I just swam back, but I thought i'd mention it in case you hadn't caught the bug.

The combat against the squids felt good. You could easily avoid running into them if you focused, but in haste while being followed by the red fellow it was often easy to ram right into the squids while trying to get close enough to attack them.

I was unfortunately unable to beat the game. Even after a few goes I got no where near close to taking out the red fish, this fact, combined with the treasure-hunt to find him each time lead me to giving up on completing it.

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I liked, and playing yours makes me feel bad that I didn't put some sounds on mine. But that's fine. Strong point I guess it was the game as a whole. really completed a 1-level-game on time. I almost stopped the game because I thought that it would really take long to find the red fish, I lost hehehe, maybe a small map at the bottom and also make the squids power you up! :) Good job.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This is a great spin on the plat-former with good controls and feel. It did take sometime to load for me?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

About the loading times, i think it is because the server is hosted in Brasil. I'll put another link in Dropbox.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Done! I put the game on Dropbox, so people with high loading times can use it. The game is just 4mb.

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Very nice game. I really like tilemap games. It felt like an underwater platformer :) Nicely done. Those squids are mean lol

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

The fish controls were kindof sliding, it was hard to maneuver at first. I couldnt get more health since the big fish just followed me :D The second try I managed to kill him. Nice work on the intro!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

The fish followed you outside of the "boss area"? Hmmmm, sounds like a bug: you and the red fish should be trapped in those areas. Gonna check it, thanks for the feedback!

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Fun game. I didn't find the boss even searching deeply the level. Besides of that the mood of game is nice.

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Damn hard game! huauhahuauha
Nice intro and nice chiken art =P

santovirus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

%&#$ the red fish!

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nice game, the red fish is haard!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Overall aspects are pretty nice. The game plays well. The intro art really caught my attention!

Couple of things I stumbled on during my playthrough:
I find it a tad hard to keep up distance. The attack range is not that great. On top of that when I stop going forward it continues to go on for a bit. That usually leads to several unintentional damage to my green bar :(

I managed to get out of the game area as well, just like one could do in Super Mario Bros 1 to reach the warp zone!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice gameplay. The close combat really adds to it's tense.
I almost couldn't read the intro lines, cuz it's really fast. I bitched a little about getting hurt on red blinking squids, after all, they should be dead already...
With some ambient music, a contained area (blocking the fish to get out of the play area) and some variation on the enemies/boss, it could became a good game!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

I can't play Because of http error: 324 (net::ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE)

Kilian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Very fluent gameplay and nice intro. The boss is a bit to hard for my lacking skills ;-)
Would be nice if the squids increased you overall healthbar.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:32pm

@RaleyUniqueName That's strange, this happened with both links (my server and dropbox) ?

@Kilian, that's a very nice idea! Definitely gonna implement it!

Gama11 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I liked the idea of it, but it was way unbalanced. There's no way I could've killed the boss with such low range and speed. I'm thinking an upgrade-system where your stats increase as you kill squids could work well.

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Loved the intro to the game and it all looks great.

Found it a little unfair that the squid seem to be able to move through the geometry though.

Was getting hurt a little too much at first but got the hang of it, but man is that red fish hard!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice intro. Laughed a lot. Good job!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:53pm

hahah a like this game. I like The Name of this game too. ;D But I hate fucking squids uhashus. Congrats man. Please, play and rate my game. Abraço. o/

danblack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35am

Damn that red monster fish is hard.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:34pm

OMG the red monster is TOUGH. Had fun and ate squid.

pvwradtke says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:39am

Let's see, you get kicked out of your house by a vicious red fish several times your size. Then you take it on almost innocent squids to get better to beat the giant red fish? This is wrong, all I could do was get myself beaten up (again?) by the red fish, it's so hard. maybe you can get more out of the squid killing mechanics if you take some more time with it. Without power ups, it's almost impossible :(.

May 8, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Hey @pvwradtke, thanks for the comments! I didn't understand what is "wrong" though: the squids are enemies which attack the player when he closes in. Killing them is part of the game, and after each fight with the boss you will need to recover your life somehow. The game is hard, i agree, but the goal was to make it as hard as some old school NES games. It still needs some balancing, but i won't change it until after the end of the compo. Meanwhile, i'll post a video of myself trying to finish the game (when testing i managed to finish the game twice), maybe this will encourage people to try to play the game more than once!

jevnoalex says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Awesome game, really enjoyed it

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I wanted to beat the boss but swiming around to find him gets boring.

The swiming physics needs a little tweaking and gameplay still lacks of something like different enemys, more attacks or something.

Keep it up :)

Hiku says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:00am

gfl;vjh RED MONSTER

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]