April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Room

by olkeencole - Jam Entry

Enter The Room and embark on a fantastic journey. The Room holds many secrets, unveiled only to those who can persist through its trials.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#38Graphics(Jam)4.28
#40Theme(Jam)4.07
#57Humor(Jam)3.30
#59Mood(Jam)3.72
#67Audio(Jam)3.70
#191Innovation(Jam)3.23
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#386Fun(Jam)2.58

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

Really interesting. Well matched with the theme. I kept mashing that button over and over. Loved the theme joke. Loading in the web player took forever..but it was worth it.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

Loved it. All I could do was walk over and press a button, but you managed to make a game that made me sincerely want to keep on pressing that button over and over for much longer than I should. There were some moments that blew me away.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

I loved the striking visual style of this, particularly the effect where the room fades in and out.

Unfortunately, this isn't a game. It's just a programming exercise where someone has tested out the on-screen text and audio playing functions. Something interesting could have been done while keeping this basically the same. Think The Stanley Parable. But instead it's just random phrases and sound effects.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39am

Interesting. Is it entirely random? I didn't find a challenge but it's an interesting interactive experience.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Hah, nice potato... many a button were pressed, I imagine this is what a lab rat feels like

Teejay5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

may I say that I enjoyed every second of this? And also that I had a similar 'game' idea and you probably telepathically stole it out of my mind? and I would also like to know how much of this is randomly generated/how there is so much of it. I would also like to know how this was done in 72 hours. Did some of it come from the Asset Store (like the environments outside the box)?

anyways, very interesting, new experience.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59am

... I really... I really really... no I really, really, really really dislike the person behind this. I JUST WANT TO STOP PRESSING THAT BUTTON PLEASE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, MAKE IT STOP. MAKE IT STOP. MAKE IT .. oh, right I can just close it. Okay, this is addictive in a bad and good at the same time kind of way. I will never know if it ends or not, but I clicked that button for a looooong time. And the whole time I just wanted to stop.

Take that however you want to. My brain hurts a bit now though.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

After a long load time, Unity web player returned a 'Failed to download data file' error. Unfortunately I was unable to play it.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41am

"Did they send me daughters...when I asked for sons?"

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

Haha! Damn button;) Great audio work...kept looking around the room to see what was happening.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

The game took several minutes to load and after that it failed (most probably crashed the plugin). So I played the Windows version. I have to state the obvious but the package is pretty heavyweight.

Onto the game:
The intro sound is pretty engaging. I missed it after the game started.
At first I thought it was a bad joke but when the room first changed I thought: "Well that was sweet!"
That is so much content that I sure passed by a lot of it just randomly pressing that button too fast.

One of the floating texts says: "It is an exercise". You bet!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

"Artist" for The Room team here.

Really glad to see all this great feedback! It's not for everyone, so I'm glad to see so many enjoying it!

@Ty Taylor, @PsenFilip: Yes, right now the Web Build is too large. Our sound files need to be encoded to something other than .WAV, and our texture sizes clamped, at least for the web build. I had the same failure error on my connection at home. We'll get a streamlined build up ASAP.

@TeeJay5: You guessed it. The environments are made from things from the Big Environment Packs from the Asset Store. I was paralyzed with finals work and only had time to model a button and UV map a potato. :( But we have amazing programmers/designers who were able to build awesome stuff. If you need some high quality models quickly, they're pretty good.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I got the hueg Windows download and it says it's not a valid win32 application. I'm on Windows XP 32-bit.

All that antici....pation.

LionelJitro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Haha, its just like a "modern art" exhibition.

I pushed that button so many times. Fun concept.

sittaman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Those random sounds were pretty creepy. Nice game!

Skywilly says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:24am

Press this button again and again for me was a great experience. I had a feeling of "fit" into your subconscious, in your universe, with all your references, your ideas, your way of thinking. It was frankly and honestly beautiful: congratulations!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42am

Really nice ! Inspiring !

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:58am

Is it a space-time paradox or the reality?...
Everything is in our mind. We are one. We are the world,the world is us...
You are the button, the button is you ...
Amazing job for a ludum dare jam entry...congrats

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:41pm

This was great! The audio was of course superb. One criticism I suppose is that the car crash sound was a bit too loud compared to the rest. Although it's a car crash sound so perhaps it should be that way. I also wish there was an ending (or perhaps there is but I think I played for a solid 15 minutes). Well done :)

Jerm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:05am

Cool! The idea of just having to press a button to advance the game (instead of actually having to play it) was very minimalist. Also nice graphics, visual style and sound effects. It wasn't particularly fun, but I pressed the button lots of times just because I wanted to see what happened next.

May 6, 2013 @ 12:02pm

The web version needs incredibly long to load... Will try the Desktop version later. :)

May 6, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Sadly it seems to be no Win32-version. :( Will try the web version again...

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Not going to lie, got very tedious but my god what an ending, somehow managed to be worth it.

Absolutely amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]