April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stargazers

by Cake&Code - Jam Entry

"What do you see when you look up to the heavens?"

"Stargazers" is a simple game of drawing in the heavens. Use the stars to
quickly draw paths and fill your gallery of artwork one constellation at a time.

We approached the theme "Minimalism" through simple gameplay;
you click on a star with your mouse and click on another star to create a path.
Your final score will be based on how fast you draw and how accurate your
drawings are. A perfect accuracy score will reward you with a special entry in
your gallery log of constellations.

-------------------

Coding and Audio Editing: Zeik
Art and Visual Design: Cake

Special thanks to...
Music: Apiarist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Mood(Jam)4.04
#18Graphics(Jam)4.50
#23Overall(Jam)3.98
#76Audio(Jam)3.65
#84Fun(Jam)3.51
#91Innovation(Jam)3.54
#106Humor(Jam)2.94
#245Theme(Jam)3.34

Comments

kyru says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This is a really charming game, I liked it a lot. Great music to go with it.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

This is very nicely polished. You guys did a really good job making this a shiny product. Well done. That's no small feat.

The mechanic was unique and fresh but aged poorly. It needed to be spiced as the levels progressed. The difficulty ramp was good with the increasingly challenging patterns... but the interest ramp was flat since nothing about how I would accomplish the patterns changed.

So, what if some stars moved left and right or up and down. If I incorporate them into my drawing then I win once they achieve proper alignment. This forces me to think about more than just points as I draw.

What if I had the ability to create 1 star. Now I have to imagine the picture but with a missing point that I can insert myself. Potentially a big difficulty spike.

The music loop was too short--I think--at least, I was annoyed with the music within a few levels.

The graphical style and cohesion was fantastic. Your presentation on all levels was top notch. Well done.

Nangie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Can't believe you did this in 72h, it's fantastic, and i love the reference ! really really great job

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

A lot of nice references and a high level of polish. And just when you think its to easy it gets rely hard

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I was looking forward to your game! :-) It looks lovely, and play very very smoothly! I liked the little details such as the comments in the gallery and the moon timer.

One comment (just not to say that I didn't make any): I think there could be a small "twinkle" sound when you click on the stars during gameplay.

Thanks for the lovely game!

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

So oniric game, I love it ^^

mes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

good polish, bad game :/

Bear says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

This game really does look beautiful. The level of polish and finesse of the minimalistic gameplay mechanics and graphics really make this a worthy game.

rkim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

This game is super adorable and it flows so smoothly. And when you consider this game is made in 72 hours, its really quite something. The art kinda reminds me of the game Dixit... And I'm not ashamed to admit it, this game is a bit difficult in the later levels. Anyways, great job Cake&Code~

Zampi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Good game, badly so short :(
nice level design flow

nhmllr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

Gorgeous game! Beautiful music! Funny references! It seems simple but some of the later levels are actually quite hard.

Very well done.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Fantastic art - I dropped in on Cake's stream a couple times to watch some of that in progress, and it turned out really well.

The gameplay itself was alright. It had a good difficulty curve, and I loved the references made. Felt like it was a twist or two away from being a genuinely fun puzzle game though - I like some of the ideas proposed in this comments section.
Keep up the great work!

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

I could not find anything wrong with this game at all. It looks beautiful, has a great mood with music that compliments it, and programmed perfectly.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

I got a bit stuck in one of the levels. I like challenge though :] Top notch presentation, and I love the tiny details, like the character's hand following the mouse cursor.

I agree with @netguy204, one or more gameplay aspects should be added to make it more challenging!

Great team work, as usual. :)

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Really good! I liked the art and the audio really much! And it was also pretty funny to find all the references in the constellations ;P

YM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

Wow really nice!

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

That was beautiful! The graphics were absolutely stunning and the mechanic was really fun. Overall, a really nice atmosphere and a great game. Well done guys!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I like it, I like it, even if I don't get all the references.

The tutorial guy feels a little out of place, really. I feel like the instruction text could be better substituted by something more visual, like an arrow pointing to one star, then the next after you click the first...

The visuals are just as good as always, and the gameplay feels nice and relaxing. Good job!

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Beautiful ! I like the graphics and the music, really put me in the mood

Farfin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great polish, art is amazing especially the characters and fonts. I wish the stars had some sort of sound cue when I went over them/clicked them though. That and the hint to what I was drawing always on would have made it more fun though I think.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Wow what an amazing experience!

The music suits perfectly with the ambience, a great game.

Too short sadly! :p

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Beautiful work! Music fit perfectly with the game, and the little touches like the changing moon and stargazer's waving hand really brought it to life. Really polished product.

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Simple gameplay-wise, addicting thanks to smartly put-together references. Just wish it was a little longer.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Wow, this is a beautiful game! It feels clean and polished. It's a creative concept and very well done.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Loved it! References hidden in the constellations are a very nice touch! Great game.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Great! The graphics are nice as always. The music was also a nice touch.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

A bit easy, but Wow so beautiful game !
Great job

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

well polished , great graphics , and good game play , I liked the gallery and the comments in it , But I don't know if it's accepted to use resources from Journey , unless you are it's developer or you took permission :)

dapierce says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Beautiful polish and lovely ambient music. I love the theme of stargazing and astronomy at work here. I like that it gets very open ended at the end; I'd end up with completely different looking constellations that still looked cool.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Love the art style and the overall mood of the game, some really good work!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Sweet idea, love how you built it, very endearing

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Beautiful music and art style! Very effectively sets a somber, puzzle-solving mood :D

siondream says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

VERY polished game, good use of the theme. It can be a great one for kids, well done!

SenorDiablo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

beautiful game. Thank you so much

YsenGrimm says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:20pm

This game has everything, great art, great audio and a rally interesting gameplay.

dcarogame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Me gusta mucho esa temática, se ve hermoso

Volute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Lovely !

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Notes:

- I like the menu music. *Listens a while longer.* Okay, this might get annoying.
- Much better. Really like this.
- Very well polished. Bunch of detail put in. Character is pointing to stars (the cursor), a moon used to show the passing of time.
- Journey!
- More nice music! Beat seems a bit schizo, but still liking it.
- There's a gallery. Nice. I have only unlocked 7/10.
- Went back and got all 10.

Things I would change:

- Add variation to the main menu music.
- Make the menu hover sound trigger as soon as the mouse is within its bounds. It feels delayed.

pereubu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38pm

a good lookin' game that's for sure D:

Sylvain.p says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very nice sounds and graphics (atmosphere in general).
It's too bad that the game is so short. Levels are sometimes a bit too simple, and we'd like to see more.
But good job overall!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Ohwow! This game is so beauty and relaxing =)
I like your audio as a visuals and game mechanics!
Well done, man!

kbm0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Very good work. Lovely aesthetics and concept!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:08am

Beautiful !

Angerus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Charming!I wanted to have multiple design to draw in one time but charming anyway!Love the "easter eggs"!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Yes, liked the visuals bigtime!!!

lekochen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:03am

Absolutely fantastic.

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very polished. The art is fabulous. I particularly like how the stargazer waves her hand at the stars as you draw constellations. The moon waxing and waning makes a really inventive timer, too. I appreciated the game references and the art gallery. That seems like a really advanced feature to have in an LD entry.

Replicating those constellations, especially the ones with crossovers, was difficult! I think it took me four or five tries to complete the origami killer.

Playing with a touchpad, I really wanted to be able to just drag between stars and have them connect the dots as the cursor went over them. That would be nice to add.

I think the game would play beautifully on a touch-enabled device. It could be interesting as a two-player tablet game, where players sit on opposite sides and draw constellations competitively or make designs that merge together in the middle.

I think the music could've been softer or perhaps sparser to fit the mood of the game.

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Awesome game references! Nice time attack challenge with great art and music!

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Beautiful. Very well done, everything fits nicely together.

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Great Game! This has some serious polish. Congrats on a well done entry!

May 3, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Wonderful game.
I wish there were more levels and gameplay mechanics.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:58am

I loved both the gameplay and the discovery after you solve a puzzle. Nice and simple game.

Gungnir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:06am

Lovely atmosphere, charming idea. Love to see you guys take it beyond compo.

paulmcgg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:33am

Really pleasing aesthetically, a concept that would work perfect on a touchscreen. I've been obsessed with stars and constellations in games lately, so this is nice. Great job.

Dohan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Let's see... 1 - LD potato theme, 2 - Braid, 3 - Pac-Man, 4 - Super Mario, 5 - Adventure Time, 6 - ?, 7 - Heavy Rain, 8 - Final Fantasy, 9 - Journey, 10 - Harry Potter.

The description in the gallery makes me think that 6 is Minecraft.

Beautiful game!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Ohh, this is lovely.

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I love it. I think a tablet version would be a lot of fun and accessible to a big range of ages. The music did get a little repetitive but that's such a small nit considering the incredible amount of polish showing here. The artwork was beautiful! I loved that the hand moved as you draw! Tons of little details like that which make all the difference.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Thanks everyone for all the wonderful feedback! We feel the same way many of you do that we'd love to add more mechanics and more levels but because of the LD time-frame and the theme we just couldn't add any more to the game. We hope to do so in a post-LD version for sure!!

@netguy204: Thank you for the indepth critique! We really appreciate it~

@caranha: We too wanted to add more sounds but we're not the best sound engineers and we kind of ran out of time! If we get some time to make a post-LD version we'll definitely look into something that. Thanks!

@Monxcleyr Productions: We'll be sure to add twists and turns! :)

@Puzzlem00n: Yeah, the tutorial could definitely be more demonstrative than narrative, that would've been a million times more thematical... darn. Thanks for the comment!

@WiseGAMER: Haha, oh no!

@plash: Thanks for the stream of consciousness! Very interesting to see the though process at work :D

@mildmojo: Ahhh, yeah. We didn't consider an actual touch screen having drag controls rather than tap... or a two player experience... we'll keep it in mind for the future!! Thank you~

@Dohan: Nice list! #6 was not meant to be a Minecraft reference but wow, I can definitely tell why you'd think so! It was supposed to be referencing another game that is very much about fire and burning things :)

May 4, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Cute. The art style and Soundtrack are very beautiful, and the gameplay is very fun. Great Job!

tzamora says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:39am

nice game. Try it hard.

Ragzouken says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:46am

In some ways it felt calming, but the time pressure works against that. I like the graphics overlaid on the constellations when you finish the drawing.

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Good game. maybe a little too easy

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Very cute little theme. This would do very well on a tablet, I think.

QXD-me says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good game, although ascribing a numeric score to my attempts seemed somewhat unnecessary. Firstly because I never really looked at my score, but also because it added absolutely nothing to the experience.

Rose says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This is a cute idea! I like the graphics and the little descriptions of each shape.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Loved all the references :) The graphics fit perfectly alongside the concept and gameplay. Really beautiful!

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:51am

Very slick, even with the gallery and everything. It was a good challenge to remember the drawing, though not that hard to find the right stars in the sky. Length was right. Enjoyed it!

Rabbits... says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:54am

I always look forward to playing your games, great job this time around, the cleanness of the entire game was incredible

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:40am

i really liked this game alot -- similar to ideas i have had in the past -- hope you continue with it. -- great effort!

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:54am

I really wished there was some secret puzzle for getting perfects on all of them, I really liked this game though. Simple yet charming.

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:47am

A well polished game with a simple concept. A little too short, but very charming. Congrats :)

May 6, 2013 @ 10:26am

Wow. The game feels very, very polished, and in addition the gameplay is fittingly minimalist. Presentation is really great, and the gallery was a great addition. Not only was it neat to catch the references you missed, the writing was very well done. Congratulations!

Husky says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Pretty cute!
I love this game!
Good job! :p

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:23am

That was brilliant. Some of the later levels were actually pretty tricky. Also, I loved all the references - the only one I didn't get was "Neighbor."

jimday says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:12pm

wow, smooth graphics. very nicely done.

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Charming and sweet little game. Could do with a longer music loop in the menu, but that's pretty much the only flaw in this game. The art is great, it has funny references, the audio is good quality, and the gameplay is solid (that it calculates a percentage accuracy is clever). Although simple, it is completely polished and could easily go straight onto a flash portal as it is. The only thing I would add is more levels, and probably a new mechanic or two to extend the gameplay a bit. I haven't got many ideas off the top of my head - maybe if the drawing was more freeform rather than joint-the-dots in later levels, or if you had to spot between a few different constellations in the same set of stars.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:21am

Fun puzzle game. We beat it completely.

pythong says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:15am

i like how the arm of the stargazer is moving, but the music really got annoying :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Tracing shapes to the airy music enchanted me. If you continue to develop this, oftentimes I did not realize I had to click and release on a star to start a line. Sometimes I would hold the mouse down and drag a little off the star, and then a line would not start.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice mood :)

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

First of all, thank you so much for commenting on my game <3 I have continued work on it, will be posting updates soon :3

I love the references. (Finn <3 And I've been watching Harry Potter again!) The artwork is great, the music is greater. The gameplay feels a little too... 'sniper-y', which I do play a lot of in Team Fortress 2 :P

The accuracy metre is a little off. In killer, I only made a triangle and I got 31% accuracy. Only thing that needs work, And maybe increase the resolution.

acro says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

Impressively feature-complete, slick, and very charming. Quite a few entries seem to have taken 'minimalism' to mean 'simple gameplay' which I'm not at all sure about, but apart from that this is truly impressive. I can see a lot of care and attention went into all the little nuances, like the tangrams-like character and pattern designs, the little guy pointing toward the mouse; the moon phase showing the time passing. What amazes me is that you had time to pay attention to things like that in the time frame.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:03pm

i loved this game, the star puzzle got me! ,very fun and challenging game, good material to Mobile game too

May 20, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really nice idea, all the shapes being references to something really added to the game, made me want to keep going just to see what the next object was from. Great job! Only thing I didn't really like was the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]