April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tamborine Man

by Markavian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lead Tamborine Man through 10 minimalist puzzle rooms so that you can escape the sealed lair.
Explore, solve each room, and please, try not to make a mess of the place.

Controls: Use the arrow keys to Move, and the Space Bar to interact with items in the rooms.

- Sound Effects: BFXR.
- Graphics: Paint Shop Pro 7, Flash CS5
- Data and Code Generation: Data Fairy
- Compiler / Language: Haxe NME
- IDE: FlashDevelop
- Operating system: Windows 8 PC, Windows 7 Laptops

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#102Graphics3.91
#125Humor3.24
#173Mood3.43
#184Overall3.59
#323Fun3.24
#396Innovation3.33
#544Audio2.72
#702Theme3.39

Comments

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Its weird that I toss things behind myself. Overall the game looks and feels good.

bernhard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

I enjoyed the uniqueness of each of the puzzles. Also I somehow didn't expect to be able to bring items into the other rooms, had quite the AHA-moment :-)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Pretty sweet!

nixeldev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Absolutely loved it, well done dude!

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I really enjoyed the theme of every room and the puzzles that went along with them, great job!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Yeah, the only problem I had was that I tossed things behind myself. I really liked the graphics though!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Love the artwork! Couldn't help but make a mess of the place, sorry :(

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

A good trial-and-error puzzler. I really enjoyed it!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice work on the graphics and well adjusted "escape the room/puzzle" for the theme. Congrats!

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Really really nice! Solving the puzzles was really enjoyable :)

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Should add a loading bar, nicely designed logo made me think it was part of the site.

N427 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

Unfortunately I couldn't beat the last room with the star, lamp, tv, etc. Still pretty good though!

nonatomicpaul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29am

Sweet. Good effort dude!

dsoft20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Nice graphics and nice puzzles!

chrismcr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I'd love to know where the idea for this came from! Particularly making the antagonist a giant space hopper.

Markavian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Thanks for all the kind words guys!

Hint: Final level requires you to craft one of each of the items that starts on the back wall. Its a circular conversion sequence, and everything you need to complete the room is already in the room.

The final boss was very last minute, I needed something big and slightly disturbing based on the same art style as the main character, so I lopped his head off, enlarged it, and glued legs to his head. And then made him float.

If I remade this game, I think I'd make puzzle bosses a core feature of the game; "They're big, and scary, they're in the room where you can see them, and you can't get past them until you've solved the challenge."

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice. Took me a while to figure out the room with the plants, but otherwise things went smoothly.

Drabiter says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice graphics, I can't solve the puzzle by myself but I enjoyed the tamborine man.

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I kept getting told to go back, even though the room was complete - but I think I won in the end - though not entirely sure haha. Liked the style of the game, though it took some trial and error to figure out what to do. :D

Tipyx says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Very pleasant, I think it's the game among those I've seen which is respecting the most the theme. Good Job !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]