April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Ball 3D

by juaxix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- HOWTO PLAY
* Player 1 use Up,Down,Left,Right keys
* Player 2 use W,S,A,D

Rules: First You have to colorize your ball with your home-color and then enter the ball in the other color sphere.
You have a limited use of the force at a time, you have to recharge it by keep in calm and wait.
Use the backside of the sphere to goal!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#443Audio2.88
#530Graphics3.06
#670Humor2.07
#739Innovation2.90
#758Overall2.98
#786Fun2.73
#824Mood2.61
#1121Theme2.86

Comments

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

Fun game! Sometimes it was hard to see where the "goalkeeper" was but that made the game a bit more interesting though! :)
Smooth graphics and music, good job.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

I'm just seeing a black screen (Win7x64, Firefox 20.0.1, Chrome 26.0.1410.64)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

Very nice and simple
I assume you had no time to make an AI, that make it hard to play alone (!)
The inertia combined with the energy are somehow not good enough to make it really fun, but it's a good idea.
The web plugin crash on my mac (OS X 10.8, iMac 27") but the Mac standalone worked perfectly.

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

This won't run for me shiva dev? wtf ... I've used (and published to) shiva player ... i just get black! Maybe my bandwidth...

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

@ignifluos use the windows version ;)
@fredericRP would you like to give some advice?
@shotiris try OS version

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

Fun game, would have scored more if there was an AI of some sorts.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

Good work.

+1 AI

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

What's this plugin it's asking me to install?

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

@juaxix I don't know if I'm the right person to give advice, but I think the inertia makes it less fun, so remove it or use the energy bar to give a boost (direction + boost to launch the eye instead of whatever you can move to with the energy you got) ?

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

It's good and very simple!. I didn't find a way to exit properly, does any button allow you to do that?. Nice soundtrack, by the way ;)

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

fun game, awesome job

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56am

@My Milked Eek thanks

@Dark Acre Jack try other versions , the engine is Shiva 3D from stonetrip.com, if you click the web version it needs the engine plugin of course, like the Unity do the same thing...

@FredericRP you are right, I'm gonna change the controls with drag-drop and also this is a good thing to export the game to mobile/tablet platforms :) thanks

@gokuhd thanks, music is made by arteria3d.com , there is no exit button, just alt-f4, apple-q or linux-kill will do the task :D --minimalism--

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice game very minimal ;D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks for making the video, it was very helpful since I don't have any friends to play with.

sharbelfs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43am

Great game concept, with a IA will be very good.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:02am

Nice game, wish I had someone to play it with.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56am

This is really cool, nice atmosphere and nice music. I wish the force bar went down slower, but I guess that might make it too easy.

Well done, man.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

very nice!

shotiris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Nice one!

alts says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:13am

Good to see another multiplayer game submitted. I think these sorts of games have a lot of potential, but benefit a lot from frantic action. The force bar here changes the pace of the game to be much more methodical, and I'm not sure if that suits the mechanics well. A bug note: it looks like player 2 doesn't need to colorize the ball for it to register as a goal.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35am

@alts thanks!, yes, i'm going to change the controls to comprehend a congruent behaviour which follows the appropiate game mechanics, and yes, there was a bug but i forgot to update the version in dropbox, thanks for bring this to my attention, now is updated :)

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:31am

Seen other games with a similar gameplay, but not this fun :)

Drabiter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice, however on linux version the goal numbers are kinda off, near screen's edge so it's hard to see. But it works well.

CAukamp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Interesting idea, here on Linux i got no sound and i can can't move realy down. The lower third is unreachable.

zazery says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice multiplayer game. It's a bit hard to tell when a ball is going to be repelled by a ring and who owns each ball. I do like the force mechanic but I always forget to release movement. Great job on the game!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Pretty cool, very simple mechanics make for a really addictive experience. Would be nice to have music and or sound effects though. Good job!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:13am

thanks all for playing :) yeahhhh

@Drabiter , @CKaukamp : The engine exporter must be improved for the GNU/Linux OS...

@zazery : there is 2 spheres in each goal-keeper/arcs that prevent the other ball-eye to enter.

@Jellycakes: thanks man, it was nice to see you playing the game in your streaming :) the game has sound but you need to set the volume a little more high

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very simple and very catchy. Is there a problem with sound because with other games, the sound is fine. Did you set the volume too low?

AlvaroH says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Muy buena idea, muy divertido.

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:28pm

thanks

Thijsku says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice game. Multiplayer looked nice. :)

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:05am

I really like the look of this but no friends, so I'll skip voting on everything else :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]