April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Shooter

by robcozzens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very minimal shooter.

Use the mouse to move and the directional keys to fire!

Can you beat my high score of 21,050?

Note: The collision boundaries of the bad guys are slightly off. I was hoping to fix it after submission, but I double-checked to see if bug fixes were allowed and it doesn't seem like they are.

Sorry about that, but it is still playable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#136Fun3.56
#238Overall3.51
#325Theme3.77
#336Graphics3.36
#337Mood3.17
#374Audio3.00
#567Humor2.21
#836Innovation2.76

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Always love shooters like this! Nice style.

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

15,000 high-score. I did this by hiding in the bottom right corner - but eventually I got killed!

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Not bad, it's a little weird to move with the mouse and shoot with WASD though. Normally it's the other way around.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Finally a mad shooting game where I don't suck. Basically inverting the controls, shoot with keys and move with the mouse is an extremely smart move. And you remembered to add particles, they are rare this time.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

Shooters are almost always good. Nice game.

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Nice Robotron like feel, and satisfying particle effects.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

cool little game
If you add some music, screen shakes and occasional enemies that shoot back, this would sell very well on smartphones

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

like the fluidity of the mouse movement but the wasd shooting feels harsh in comparison. fun game

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

This is awesome fun. Nice chunky impact fx. The controls feel amazingly good, I hadn't played a twin stick that controlled like this so it was awkward at first but now I see the truth in it. Good stuff!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

This was a very fun to play game. Enjoyed it.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

fun simple game. well-executed. interesting controls. good job

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Yeah, can't decide how I feel about that reversal of the typical WASD/Mouse configuration. It's freeing to be able to use the mouse for movement, but I agree "the wasd shooting feels harsh in comparison." Maybe just need to let it sink in a little more; next thing you know this will be the default control scheme!

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I like the twist regarding the controls, at least I can`t recall any other shooter that moves in the mouse and shoot with WASD. =O)
Gratz

OniiRam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very nice, I really like this! Add some background music maybe

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Neon visual is very nice. And this kind of game is very addictive.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:58am

The controls took a little time to get used to (I'm more used to shooting with the mouse and moving with WASD) but after I did, the game became pretty enjoyable and addicting! The art fits the gameplay and theme well! Great job! :D

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00am

As a fan of Geometry Wars I absolutely adore the style of this game, however the controls are the opposite of what I'd expect, I don't know if it's intentional, but it makes the game quite hard for me to play. Overall excellent entry though :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03am

The comparison to Robotron was very apt. This looks and sounds like it was strongly inspired by it, which is great. I only managed to get 11,200 points, but enjoyed it a lot.

reverso13 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice! i love the neon- graphics! =)

May 1, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Reversal of mouse and WASD works fine, it's just a shame the ship is always a bit slower than the cursor, kills me every time... Otherwise, very good !!! :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:55am

Had no problems with reversed WASD. A nice polished game, well done.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice quick shooter. I like the idea of exchanging mouse and keyboard. Usually you walk with the keys and aim with he mouse.

robcozzens says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Those are a lot of great suggestions! Thanks!

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Fun game! With some better graphics this would be great. I see there is a lot of discussion about the controls. I actually like the reversed controls. Moving rather than shooting with the mouse makes me feel more in control.

CogComp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great fun!

geepit says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nicely done, was fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]