April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SimpleWorld

by householdutensils - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist survival sandbox game.

Push F1 to get the help screen.

Requires Java :)

How to get it working:
Extract the .rar
Run the runnable .jar
If you're on Linux (Don't know about mac), remember to chmod +x.

Tested on Win7 64bit and Xubuntu + Cinnamon 64 Bit.


Notes:
* A/D Move Sideways
* W/Space Jumps
* Left Mouse Pickup Blocks
* Right Mouse Place Blocks
* 60 Second Day/Night Cycle
* There is a lot of stuff you can faff about with in SimpleWorld.conf
* Saves in the world/ folder
* Only one world can exist at a time, delete everything in that folder to start a new world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#714Humor2.00
#1073Audio1.33
#1116Mood2.23
#1227Fun2.07
#1255Graphics2.03
#1264Innovation1.97
#1303Overall2.16
#1328Theme2.23

Comments

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Fun Little Game :D

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Played on windows and the texture for dirt was showing as white. Also I couldn't figure out how to place blocks (was right clicking).

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Its a bit buggy in OSX10.8 (flickering startscreen)
You can start it from the terminal, by typing

cd [folder]
java -jar SimpleWorld.jar

Also I was not able to place blocks, and got stuck multiple times


But it runs,and i liked the style

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

The collision detection is quite glitchy, and it takes forever to quit. Also doesn't have a built-in way to quit; I had to use Alt+F4. :(

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

It feels a bit too floaty, but other than that it's quite enjoyable if you stay near the surface :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

@poohshoes You might have spawned in a tundra zone, those white blocks are snow xD The texture ended up being pretty stark. There is also a desert, supposably anyway, I added it last minute and I don't think I've ever seen it generate lol

@poohshoes & @jerrre Picking and Placing have a distance limit (256 Pixels from the player I believe).

@DreamThorn Esc quits, it may take a little while because it saves all the currently loaded chunks and the players stats to the world directory :)


Cheers for playing everyone :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

Fun - although on my first go I dug down and then got stuck in the bowels of the earth where nothing exciting happened and had to kill myself. Then I found some monsters and it was more fun!
The grid lines between blocks seem to flicker on and off quite a lot when you move though?

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11am

The only thing that's the even slightest bit minimalist is the player sprite. It's cool though.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

So it's minecraft in 2D, basically? The gravity is a bit too low, which makes it pretty slow to play. Other than that I like it actually - it's simple, but has reasonable replay value.

I couldn't place any blocks, however (Debian 64-bit, OpenJDK, java version "1.6.0_27"). Picking blocks up worked fine.

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

Funny game

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Great idea, I was hoping someone would do a minimal minecraft. Unfortunately the bugginess made it hard for me to appreciate the execution.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Rather buggy, blocks would suddenly become invisible, otherwise I'd enjoy this :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39am

Hard to play when you fly around become of a jump that didn't end well, but good start !

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Looks promising, but I couldn't find much gameplay in the game. I tried digging deep but I did not find anything there. At daytime nothing seems to happen, at night I can only jump over monsters. Every now and then my block selection cursor disappears.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:00am

so funny :D

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Had some performance issues with the game on OSX 10.6. Also couldn't manage to place any blocks.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very impressive technical accomplishment!

There's not much to the game beyond Minecraft's core mechanic, and it can be very buggy at that, such as characters clipping into the blocks or hitboxes apparently being larger than your character, preventing you from moving through spaces that it looks like you should be able to fit through, etc.

With games like Terraria and the like, I think you'll need more than just a 2D Minecraft clone. Not to suggest that anyone expects Terraria of a 48-hour game, but so far as I could tell, nothing new is brought to the table. The mechanics, though technically impressive, are just copied from Minecraft and, like Minecraft, the day/night cycle bring enemies, though here they can hardly even be avoided because they swarm you like flies and are nearly impossible to avoid above-ground.

May 14, 2013 @ 9:12pm

this was ok... wish there was a little more going on underground... or a quick way to get back above ground...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]