April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Cowbell Text Adventure

by Joeslayer97 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unzip the contents first!

Source is included in the download link!

Commands:
Stats, Help, Go left, Go right, Go up, Go down
Attack up, Attack down, Attack left, Attack right,
clear (for clearing the screen)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#371Theme3.73
#987Overall2.75
#1054Fun2.40
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

Did it just crash? I think it crashed. I'm not sure, that may have been the point.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

if you die it closes :)

Aiji777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Great game, very fun to play, though it is hard to navigate without the map. I love the cowbell, it's a great addeition that every game needs to have.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

I would of added more and a map of some sort... however I started making it only a couple of hours before the end of Ludum Dare

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

Game is fun, though found a bit confusing at first (with exactly what to type) and I found it more fun actually with the map. Obviously minimal, but there was some fun RPG/grinding in the text-based game. I feel there could of been some more ways to interact with everything, or more of a story even, but for what it is it was a surprisingly fun time.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Bug fixed and when you die the command prompt doesn't instantly exit

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Pretty fun text-based RPG. Like others've said, a map or an option to view a map would've been nice (Unless there actually is no world and the directions you walk don't matter). Nice work, regardless. :)

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

There is an image which represents the map... if you look in the source code and then res folder :D

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I got a glowing sword and killed a minotaur, then died at the hands of another, more vile minotaur. I found the commands a bit hard to learn on my own, but I guess they are there in he entry page so it's all good. Fun game :)

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:38am

Very strange, but new! :o

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I can see where you were going with this. Those minotaurs are vicious.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Don't know much about Java, but I got the following exception (Linux fedora 16)

$ java -jar LD26.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: hyperkitty/game/LD26/LD26 : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: hyperkitty.game.LD26.LD26. Program will exit.

BumpkinRich says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:01pm

*Adds cowbell to all future games*

Nice one.

CMaster says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:56pm

A look around option, or some decision making would be a nice addition.

Joeslayer97 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:01pm

f7f5... my guess would be that either you have a version of java lower than java 7... or that the version of linux you are using doesn't like my .bat file

May 14, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Sort of boring wish it had a story or something

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]