April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Land of the Free

by uberneen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is done!
I didn't have time to make the final chamber different, but it works. The game is somewhat political and idealogical.

Also, potato.

WASD / Arrow Keys move. (Optionally right and left click)
E and Enter Key activate objects.
You can revise your answers in the second part by re-activating the terminal.

There are 4 endings and you can revise your answers after getting any ending except the re-test ending.

One last note: This has been tested in Chrome and Firefox. For best performance, use Chrome.

Since I can't capture the mouse, it moves based on how far away you are from center screen and it has been configured to be somewhat sensitive. For best results, make slight mouse movements and return to center. You can also left and right click the mouse to move forward and backward.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#443Graphics3.19
#598Mood2.83
#603Humor2.17
#898Innovation2.66
#1152Overall2.53
#1277Theme2.49
#1320Fun1.63

Comments

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Great feeling, my only comment is about the links to study implementation ;)

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Interesting. I was approved for reintegration. I did try very hard to be a good citizen.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

I had hastily pointed the source link to the game since you can view source and get links to everything from there, but now it points to a proper archive. Thanks for checking it out!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Bit strange. Controls were TOO smooth, made me feel a tad ill :(
But cool concept
-ENDESGA

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

There is a kind of mood here, maybe with some music we'll have a good feel in these chambers !

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Controls made the game virtually unplayable.

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

view-movement was kinda strange. Cool concept.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Very interesting. My results were "inconclusive". I like the idea. The First person controls were very loose.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Thoughtful and compelling content. Transported me, however temporarily, to another place.

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I had to fight with the controls in order to activate the terminals which became frustrating enough to not want to read them all :-/ I suggest turning off mouselook and mapping keys to turning.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Movement is based on how far the mouse is from center screen. It won't behave like a tradition FPS because I can't capture the mouse. It's really easy to use if you just use smaller movements.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

Liked the dark satire of the whole thing. Not much gameplay, but it was fun nontheless.

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Mwahaha, I disturbed the psychologists.The controls are a bit odd. The terminals could need a sound and the player walking on the floor. I guess you are fitting the theme, by providing minimal rights for citizen..

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24am

Controls are way too floaty, maybe the citizen was drugged before the exercise began.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:40am

The controls (walking) feels very strange, like I'm playing a drunken guy :D

It was interesting to study your humorous critics.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice game, but I became a little dizzy from the view controls. But the game had still a pretty solid feel to it.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:46am

Good job! The perspective of the camera is a bit too extreme though.

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:42am

Interesting idea. Hard to control. Not sure what the 3D adds. Could have been a text/adventure/twine game.

Jonny D says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

Yeah, the camera movement got me too. I felt nervous being evaluated when I feel like my head has been swaying side to side the whole time. :)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Interesting idea.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:03am

Hard and unforgiving, as it should be.

May 10, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I saw your comment explaining the control decision, but it is still a very hard to use system. When I finished the second chamber, I wasn't really able to think through my answers because of how ill I was beginning to feel. It did say I was ready for re-integration though. The art was neat, the semi-sterile environment with large rugged doors between chambers. The government could have been described a bit more uniquely, I felt the questions in the second chamber were a bit straight forward to answer.

May 10, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice game, but the control method can make you dizzy... you should concider only using mouse delta instead of how far from the middle you are. Some sound would be nice, too... :)

uberneen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I really wish I could use the mouse delta. Fortunately, there is a standard for mouse capture in the works, it just wasn't/isn't widespread enough to use.
https://dvcs.w3.org/hg/pointerlock/raw-file/default/index.html

I ran out of time on the sound and barely got the test portion implemented before the deadline so it was all scrambled quickly from my notes and not very subtle or elegant.
I mostly wanted to show how easy it is to watch a 'right' become such a thing in name only.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:22pm

The atmosphere was nice. It was a little heavy on the text, and having to keep the mouse centered to walk forward was a little awkward.

Sebastian says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:31am

Well, I made it into the mental facility..
Pretty cool concept. Controls are very awkward as others have pointed out, but they didn't stop it from being an interesting experience.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]