April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jumper

by GhostID - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to join the LudumDare26 late but somehow finished my game! Surprisingly it only took 7 hours! The game is called "Jumper". You are a potato trying to get across a level for no what so ever reason. There are 25 levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

Level 5 is broken right? I can't do anything with level 5.

GhostID says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

All levels are beatable. Trust me, I've played and won every level multiple times. XD Also my friend won the game without a single problem. Are you experiancing lag? My game does have this one glitch where if the framerate is lower than 60, the jump gets lower. It's weird .__.

GhostID says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

experiencing*

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice work for 7 hours! I like the creative level design, and taking advantage of clipping through the block to make solving the puzzles more challenging. At first when I heard that you had limited jumps, I wasn't sure how 'hard' a game of such design could be, but thankfully, it made me think about how I was going to solve it.
Great game for the theme! Good luck!

Pixelboy_85 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

At first I was like: "this doesn't work!". And now I'm all: "this is so smart!". Best thing is, you feel smart for beating it. Maybe you should explain the glitch jumping, I had to read through the comments to get it.

Brunodev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Incredible work Ghost! Beated every single level! *Updated

GhostID says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@Pixelboy_85, yeah maybe I should put it in the instructions. Thanks! :)

@Brunodev, Awesome! I also like your game :3 It's very addicting!

GhostID says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:25pm

@Zanzlanz
Great game too buddy. :) I did learn a few things from this though.
1, fix bugs. Maybe make 5 less levels but use the time to fix BUGS!
2, a game engine doesn't need to be hard to make a heck of a good game.
3, you don't need 48 hours to make a full game. :)

So yeah, thanks for the review! :) Also that "advantage" was a glitch hehe... got to lazy to fix it. XD

Zanzlanz says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks for the reply! I was sure the clipping was unintentional, but again, I really love how you made it add to the game play. It made it unique and much more challenging of a puzzle.

GhostID says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31pm

@zanzlanz
Like I like to say, it's not a glitch, it's a FEATURE! :)
Turning glitches into features is the way to go when you don't have time. It's easier making a glitch have a purpose than to remove it. Besides, if I removed it, I think the game would of been much easier.

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:23am

Did not work for me :(

DBRalir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:01am

Windows only? Seems to work fine in Linux, I just had to download LWJGL.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:06am

Quite fun. I needed to look in the comments to see about jumping though the platforms (I was stuck at the beginning for quite some time).

GhostID says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:14pm

@Tom 7, Yeah I've had a few people tell me it doesn't work. The bat file launches and closes right away right?

@DBRalir, yes it works on all OS's, I just didn't feel like making a mac and linux release.

@dalbinblue, Thanks! :) Yeah I kinda regret not putting a file in my zip telling people about that *feature*. I'll add it when I have spare time.

messiano says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice game, interesting mechanic and music.

GhostID says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:42am

Thanks!You should really try the updated version too :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]