April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jetpack Jester

by rustybroomhandle - Jam Entry

An entry made by the IndieSquish community. All assets were created within Minecraft and then exported as .obj files to be manipulated in Blender, Maya & Unity.

Use WASD to move around. SPACE to jump and fly up, SHIFT to fly down. LEFT-MOUSE (Fire 1) to toggle the gravity beam. Hold down RIGHT-MOUSE (Fire 2) to mouse-rotate a currently beamed object.

The objective is to eliminate all the toys. Purchase toys and then stack them as high as you can. Stand on the red button to measure the stack height and how much you earn from it. Use your newly earned cash to buy more toys.

Needs loads of number-tweaking, but the essential bits are there.

Things that did not make it in:

- Loads more toys that folks built
- The intro video: http://youtu.be/IQoAqKoznmA
- The end credits: http://youtu.be/RTqMyZIxsFM
- Some planned gameplay features
- Polish, loads of polish

All & all a success. 37 people showed up to help build toys and other fun stuff. Do check out the credits!

Linux users, remember to set the executable bit in order to play.

Ktnxbai!

UPDATE:
You can download the theme music here:
https://soundcloud.com/djbitburner/bitburner-jester-jetpack-theme

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.52
#111Humor(Jam)2.92
#161Graphics(Jam)3.66
#275Audio(Jam)2.90
#294Mood(Jam)2.85
#389Overall(Jam)2.83
#410Fun(Jam)2.52
#502Theme(Jam)2.45

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48am

I like the art style, but it is really hard to get back once you screwed up one level (bought a toy for 8$, got 7$ back)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57am

The 3D pixel art is seriously awesome, as is the music.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04am

Very unique and interesting concept, I'd really like to see where this goes. Love the use of voxel graphics.

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Very much liked the idea! But you are right, could use some polish. Toys tend to go flying if you accidentally bump them with a item in your graviton beam. Getting the rotations I desired was quite difficult.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Man, those voxel assets are neat. I really love the jester animation too.

It is really hard to stack stuff though, I don't think I have the patience for that.

The title screen is a little low res, and hard to read, but other than that, great game. Love the concept and the community involvement.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Fun idea!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Bonkers! I really enjoyed that. Great gfx and music.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

kool art style but the game, meh. was not sure what to do with the toys -- great effort.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

@sP0CkEr2
From the description "The objective is to eliminate all the toys. Purchase toys and then stack them as high as you can. Stand on the red button to measure the stack height and how much you earn from it. Use your newly earned cash to buy more toys." Controls explained just above.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

It's really cool to see a game with that many people involved. I like the art style and the idea of making a game using assets built in Minecraft. The gameplay was cool and felt unique.

I think that the game would have been more interesting if you got to re-use all the toys from the previous rounds. I spent all my money on the first round, and couldn't fit them together well, so I just ended up with a fraction of the money for the next round. It just went downhill from there. :(

I ran the game on Linux, and it worked perfectly. Kudos for including a Linux build and for using a decent file host.

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19am

Wow. Very cool.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Interesting. Loved the colors.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I really enjoy this videogame, are you using some kind of voxel engine?

May 3, 2013 @ 11:41am

Scared.

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I love the art style.

Typedeaf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:25am

I like the fact that the models are made in Minecraft xP It was a bit buggy and hard to control though =P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]