April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cleaner Bot

by Martin Vilcans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control a cleaner robot remotely over the surveillance cameras in your minimalistic apartment. Wiping up puke never was this fun!

Note: Requires WebGL and only works in Chrome right now. (Firefox has a problem with an HTTP request of all things...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#261Humor2.73
#408Graphics3.25
#459Innovation3.24
#496Fun3.05
#532Overall3.19
#824Mood2.61
#885Theme3.19
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Neat. It felt really calming playing. Time: 6177!

paranoidray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

The feeling of driving the car is great. Nice turning speed, acceleration and momentum. Nice detection of where the camera needs to be as well. Great game.

Supermomo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Very cool game ! The car controls feel very smooth and clean ! Nice job.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice! Worked in FF by the way.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10am

Great work! Really liked the story.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice game!
Feels like cleaning up after my kid when he was very young and puked all the time :)
I liked the game mechanics as well and that you used webgl :)

May 2, 2013 @ 11:19am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

@Per: I hope you enjoyed cleaning up after your kid as you're comparing my game to it. :-)

maloki says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Fun game and I just love the controls!

The camera works fine, but there are a few spots that need need additional camera positions. There were times that was a point where I couldn't see the robot anymore.

Used FF as well and did not have problems. :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Where's the dog? And where's the toilet because I feel sick. Seriously though, the control of the minibot is well implemented and I like the moving from camera to camera.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:07pm

The viewpoint makes this quite interesting :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:33pm

did you use your apartment as a reference? I needed to cleanup all that puke.

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:24am

Strange and neat! :D

May 5, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really cool game but not that exciting :P

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:08am

Like it. Cool camera action, great choice of platform: must've been a challenge!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

HAHAHA that was fun! The puke cleaning was successful!

May 7, 2013 @ 7:36am

@avidgamerNino: No it's not my apartment, but I based it on an the upper floor of an actual apartment under production: http://hemnet.sfd.se/BildLista/Default.aspx?objgid=OBJ29974_1253508348

Unfortunately 30MSEK is a bit too much for me, and I'm not that fond of the location.

stqn says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:39pm

The controls felt good although the fps was really low on my setup (firefox 20 / Linux / Intel HD graphics). Also the camera changed at a strange moment and then the robot was hidden by a wall. I would have liked arrow control instead of wasd so that I don't have to change my keymap to play.

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:02pm

You could make a game like Cargobot, where you set a stack of orders (go to left, then right, etc) and the robot executes it ,as result it might clean all the dirty from the room. wouldnt be nice? :)
this game is cool also but i think this idea should be more challenging

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]