April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of the corrupted Pixels

by YSelf Tool - Jam Entry

We are done, this is Defense of the corrupted Pixels, or .cp as I like to call it in a more minimalistic way.
It is a turn based tower defense game, but has some real time components and you can move your units - er, pixels.

Story?
Look! A corrupted pixel has appeared! Stop them before they destroy your whole screen! (that means get to the bottom of your screen)

Controls?
Your [SPACE]-key (spawn units, end your turn) and your mouse (select, move, scroll, as you know it).
Maybe someone will find the hidden GamePad-controls?

Gameplay?
You spawn sane pixels and try to move them next to the corrupted while they are moving down. Your pixels shoot automatically at the corrupted ones. You can block corrupted pixels (can I call them 'cp' please?) off with your own pixels, but be aware you lose them then.
Pixels have their own skills and can merge, too. When pixels get old (survive a turn), they become weaker. So merge new ones to them, else your best pixels will die some time.
No pixel (neither the sane nor the corrupted) are able to cross broken pixels (kinda walls).

.cp has a campaign with some premade maps (better than the randomly generated ones) and an endless game with waves of enemies. If you get at the end of the campaign, you will find a secret.

It features five different songs and some sound effects as well as an unlimited amount of possible enemy types. Cause they can merge too.
And for every game you get a score (and global highscores, of course!).

So, don't let the screen break!

A silverlight version (for the browser) will follow later, up to know you need to download the game and have XNA installed.

Known Bugs:
Sometimes when you close the game it throws an AccessViolationException that can't be catched. Seems to be depend on the drivers installed, since managed C#-code is not able to create an AVE and it only happens on one of our computers. And _only_ when you want to stop playing it. So play forever and you have no problem ;)

UPDATE: Since this is a jam game we have 72 hours, so I have made some more changes (nerfed campaign, added tutorial level) and uploaded a new version. The Windows link is still the 48h version.

tl;dr:
[SPACE]-key, MOUSE, Tower Defense, Highscores, XNA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Audio(Jam)2.90
#307Theme(Jam)3.17
#308Innovation(Jam)2.83
#336Humor(Jam)1.90
#440Overall(Jam)2.69
#442Fun(Jam)2.38
#454Mood(Jam)2.33
#470Graphics(Jam)2.45
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Exit on close!!!! App is still held in memory when you close the window.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

I liked it, but the pixel controls themselves are a bit confusing at first. Perhaps the first levels could also be smaller, to allow the player to get used to the system a bit better.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

andrei barsan is right, a small first lvl or a littl tutorial would be great

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

The 72h version (since this is a jam entry I think I max post one) contains a tutorial level (and the campaign is possible to beat now).

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

*may

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Quite confusing at start but once you get the hang of it can be qutie amusing

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I like the grapics and love the story :) A fun little game ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

While it was a bit confusing at first, it was a good time to play once you got rolling. I didn't come to fully understand some of the different effects of the corrupted pixels (I call flames) or the stats during the course of the game, but I did have fun being a bit strategic and having both waves going towards each other. I would think with expansions this could be built upon to be more fun.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Make an instruction! Quickly! Tell us what does left mouse button do, what does right mouse button do, what does mouse wheel do, what does space do, what do arrow keys do! It's not intuitive! It took me a while to understand! Also, tell us what are pixel skills.
Despite that, the idea is great, but a minimalistic approach is unwanted for such a complicated concept. Add more feedback.
You should also cancel pixel movement at the end of the turn, I may change my mind, but pixels are still moving; and make pixels teleport to the bottom row (or something) when the level starts, they get stuck in walls and scenery.

voidstar69 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

This looks to be an interesting concept. I tried the first level, but found it too slow going to be fun, and too easy. Perhaps starting off with smaller levels will make it more fun to get through the first few levels?

After I exited this game the music continued playing for about 30 seconds, and then stopped. So it takes a while for this game to leave the computer's memory.

Interesting concept! :-)

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice game concept, but it took some time get started. Fits the theme well.

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I liked watching the result of the tower placement. If you continue to develop this: I was not sure where I was spawning units. I forgot what the colors mean. Taking turns interrupted me.

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I was lost and saw later on your instructions note. It is neat and sweet. :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:12am

I was confused at first with the controls. Best theme based tower defence I have seen.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:57am

It's a little confusing and enemies kill themselves more often than they actually reach my units, but after I got through the learning stages it got quite fun. Needs more work on that, but still, good job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:51pm

It's really hard to understand. The pixels are a bit slower but the game is interresting.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:30am

@paulopn They don't kill themselves - they merge and become stronger.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]