April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Toastergeist

by Nick Cash - Jam Entry

Every ghost wants toast. In this game you have 60 seconds to launch toast, bagels, and poptarts into the air where you collect toppings. Make sure to land on the plate -- even ghosts don't eat off the floor! The better you toast, the better it flies.

For extra fun, what do you get when you combine rainbows and poptarts?

PS. This was made with Python/Pygame, so you can play from source by installing Python 2.7 and Pygame on your system.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#43Humor(Jam)3.48
#191Fun(Jam)3.11
#204Innovation(Jam)3.19
#245Graphics(Jam)3.31
#271Overall(Jam)3.14
#273Mood(Jam)2.94
#315Audio(Jam)2.75
#510Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

There is no download link or web link. It looks like a cool game. I wish I could play and rate it.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I like the multitasking aspect of the gameplay.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40am

Ghost toast... delicious!!

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Top bad I couldn't play the game on linux via wine, since it looks really unique and enjoyable...

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

@dertom - You can download the source and apt-get Pygame :)

goerp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I think you played some more with the autotracker parameters. It sounds different from other autotrack tracks. Thank you!

Anyway about the game: it's a shame that this game has so little comments because I think its VERY VERY funny. With some easter eggs as well!

I would have liked some more animations and to see my toast land on the plate, but other than that great fun!

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Ah, it is pygame! You should definetly mention this somewhere. I got it to start but got a pygame.error after firing the first two toasts (Trace: http://pastebin.com/6n6XgDF6 ) Btw, the mentioned image is there and the relative path should be ok. Not sure about the problem...

Keep on rocking

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@dertom - We developed on a case-insensitive file system, so the letter case in the code isn't matching the letter case in the directory. Try renaming the images to be lowercase, or give me a minute and I'll push a fix :)

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:32pm

@dertom - Okay, should be all fixed up in the repo. I'm not actually sure how that happened! Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Let us know if you run into anything else :) Also, as you suggested, I added a comment at the top mentioning that the game is made with pygame. Hopefully that will get Linux users will play and rate as well.

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Reaaaally not in key with the theme, BUT was pretty fun for the most part :D. Pretty awesome feel of multi-tasking.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Ok, it works now and I could finally toast jump for callories. You should print out a dietplan, no clue how I can compensate all the callories. :D Nice game,...sound also at beginning but later 'M' is you friend.
All in all, good job with this fun-game!

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:04pm

@Neonlare - Why doesn't it fit with the theme. Sure, we didn't pursue minimalism for art; instead we chose a minimalist object (toaster) and minimalist mechanics.

@dertom - Thanks for playing :)

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I liked the game. Also graphics looked minimal to me. Nicely done!

Ryusui says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Cute. But am I the only one who had trouble controlling the height of my toast launches, or is that intentionally random?

May 6, 2013 @ 7:50pm

It doesn't fit the theme perfectly, but the theme has a huge scope of interpretation. Toast is perfectly fine for me :) It is nicely done and I like your music and sound. I also watched your timelapse, it was fun to watch! Extra credits for sublime and python.

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice game, well done! :)

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:28pm

the plate wouldn't move for me :(

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:41pm

@Ryusui - How high the toast goes depends on how long it is cooked. Each item has four stages of toastedness. While they generally cook about the same each time, there are slight variations to how long each stage lasts for each item. You have to watch the toaster to make sure to launch it when it is toasted for optimal flight time. That is the tricky part because you have two toasters to manage and you are trying to guide your most recently launched toasted item through the air to the plate.

@naughtyloose - The plate does not move. Your goal is to guide the toast to the plate after you launch it.

Thanks for playing everyone!

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Was a pretty fun game, it got really hectic though and was pretty difficult to manage but it was interesting. Shame about nyan cat though.

free_napalm says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Nice highscore game, I actually wanted to improve my score after the first round.

mikeware says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:07pm

This is pretty epic. It's a lot of fun to play, but the controls feel a bit loose at times. I would find myself holding the key down to move the toast left, not seeing it move, and then accelerating much faster than I wanted. Having a slightly larger plate area would help too. Your credits screen scrolls a bit quickly too.

Detocroix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:19pm

The rainbow special was a fun surprise :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:27am

The decision to have two toasters made this game significantly better than just one. Great job.

NateNaterson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:19am

Pretty silly little game. Lots of fun!

pvwradtke says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:58am

Played it on Linux with Python+Pygame, worked perfectly. Just wished we could see the ghosts eating the toasts.

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:20am

Should I launch 2 bread in the same time?

psc1997 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I scored 6646 calories ^^
Wooow the game is veery good in my opinion :-)
Congratulations guys ;)

Nick Cash says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:13pm

@Turtle - You can only control one piece of toast at a time, so before you launch your next piece you need to put your current toasted object on a trajectory towards the plate. If you are doing it quickly you can have many toasts in the air at the same time :)

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:15am

Simple but original game. It has a refreshingly novel feel to it. I never found out how to make the toast fly high though. Also I have to spend most of the time waiting for the toasts to bake. I'd have preferred to have less waiting and more action. Maybe have more than 2 toasters?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]