April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Mondria Brothers

by dansludumdare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Linux users, I don't know how to compile for you. You need SFML 2.0 RC (every module except network) to compile the 5 sources. You might need to add an #include <cstdlib> with the other includes and some std::'s because Xcode was too generous with me.

I like attempting to make games that explain themselves. I didn't concentrate on that aspect this time, so you should know: restart the game if you can't get anywhere. That being said, if you're up for it, I encourage you to try the game without reading further.

This game does need an explanation though. Whoever has already played it might have noticed that the levels are procedurally generated. Now that's probably cool but old news at this point, so I want to point out why this particular procedural generation is cool and new: it is goal-based. In the game there are two types of obstacles: platformless vertical shafts and water. There are two powerups, a yellow thing that's like a jetpack, and a blue thing that's like a... thing that makes water not do anything. It's by no means perfect, but you should be able to find a jetpack to explore the parts of the world above the platformless vertical shafts, and you should be able to find a blue thing before you have to cross any water. And ideally, you'd find one, which allows you to find the other, which allows you to find your Mondria brother.

I know you're used to looking at a game as a game and give feedback accordingly. But I want you to know that although this is a game, to me it was a time to jump into this goal-based procedural thing. So I guess I'm suggesting I'd like feedback more like "lava would be an easy obstacle to add because it would work like this..." rather than "you should've made it look like..."

Anyway, I hope you have a fun time with the game, and feel free to ask for anything related to source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Theme3.80
#407Audio2.96
#679Innovation2.97
#747Fun2.77
#788Mood2.65
#916Humor1.75
#975Overall2.77
#983Graphics2.48
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

I liked the idea of this and I liked the graphics and the audio, but if I'm honest, I found the controls, really jumpy and fast and the level flew past at such speed it was quite disorientating. I couldn't find the end of the level if there was one? Anyway, I liked the idea and the graphics, nice job!

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

The combination of the fluid movement and large pixels made the movement seem really odd but also strangely enjoyable. I would've liked to see more open areas to explore in addition to the tight corridors that make it up right now.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

great idea and awesome name :)

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

i quite dig this. i've always been interested in a 'lock and key' metroidvania being procedurally generated. and this is that in its most minimal form. pretty cool. also i loved the controls and sounds. i got a big zzt vibe, which i hadn't though about in many years.

Canobie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Very nice... It sounds great too!

ilo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

An interesting experience, for sure, and it worked as you suggested: I found the jetpack first, then flew to find the blue square, got past some water and found the red square's brother.

I can't think of anything terribly original you could add, just obvious things like tunnels filled with soft rock walls you could only dig through after acquiring a pickaxe (or a square that represents one); learning to climb vertical walls before upgrading to the jetpack; riding various one-directional liquid flows to get to new discrete cavern areas. That sort of thing.

mort96 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:18am

This game has a strange fast pased, fluid and loose feel uncommon for this kind of game. I like it :)

paulopn says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:51am

If it's procedurally generated, I already love it by default. I like the use of sound too, althought it's a bit too loud. The only real complaint I can think of is that 2d jumping doesn't work very well with grid based movement.

May 15, 2013 @ 2:49am

I could jump very quickly. The only thing that was weird was that the camera bounced everywere when you moved. maybe as a result of a grid based movemnt? Also it seemed like i could jump in the air. didn't know if htis was intentional or if that was the gold things i collected. :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:31pm

The goal-based generation idea seems neat, but the movement was too jerky for me and gave me a headache after a few minutes. I found a blue power-up right away but never encountered any water or vertical shafts.

Benjamin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The sound design was curious but funny I like it a lot. I wandered a bit in the level, visited what it seems to be the lower, upper and easter part but can't found any exit.

JonathanG says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Very odd hyper speed exploration game. I liked the sound effects, but couldn't find a goal.

fermcg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Really minimalistic! congratulations. By the way, I see you also used SFML (I ported my post compo to sfml). I compiled it with the static libs using visual studio express. Have to carry those msvcR/P110.dll all around. Did you compile yours with code::blocks?

dansludumdare says ...
May 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I've never tried static libs. But, yes, code::blocks is easier to compile for distribution with. You can distribute (without mscvR/P110.dll) with VS as well, just requires some settings I never bothered to figure out. It's not the difference between debug and release; distribution is the key word.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]