April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

App Escape

by L - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thumbing through your smartphone at midnight during a thunderstorm on Saturday the 13th wasn't as safe an activity as you thought, because somehow you've been zapped into the incredibly deadly world of your phone's menu screen. Fortunately you've installed the app that will let you escape, but can you reach it before your lives run out??

Controls: Arrow keys to move. Spacebar to skip cutscenes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#29Humor3.82
#284Innovation3.47
#565Fun2.98
#596Overall3.13
#669Graphics2.89
#696Mood2.74
#1066Audio1.38
#1174Theme2.75

Comments

chobrah says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Cool idea and well implemented. Reminds me of Animator vs Animation on deviant art. Two thumbs up :)

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

Clever game, I like it :)

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

There were some neat things. idk if my character was slow intentionally, but I was always killed by something I had no control over.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Trippy man! I love the intro, but felt a bit slow at the start (climbing).

Vincenzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

I got stuck at the level 2, on the instant messaging app. Nevertheless, that's a funny game, with good ideas !

*▼ Spoiler alert ▼*

Hint : if you want to skip level 2, just go to the left and hit the Speech app (the pink one, with the lips on it).

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

game rules

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I enjoyed it :)

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I like the art and I love the humor and the randomness but, IMHO, I don't think it is very minimalist, but still good...

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Original idea. Movement felt a little bit slow. Nice game.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Really fun plot. Not good visuals but it's was fun.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Interesting idea. Like everyone else, I felt like I was moving through mud.

junt74 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

Really fun game!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very cute! I'll never look at "Help" the same way...

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:15am

Disturbing, hahahah! But is also a very good concept idea.

Volute says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:48pm

That was fun ! Very well done :)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Clever and humorous game! Great job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:00am

Cute ending!!

Test User says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:18am

Pretty funny game. Movement was slow and such, but that wasn't the point of the game, so I didn't mind.

Ishisoft says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:01am

Haha, this was great fun. I loved the Help app.

Clavus says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Quick and funny. Too bad there isn't much interactivity.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:28am

Interesting, but a bit too slow for me.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:09am

Fun idea! A little to slow in the begining. Good job!

dem0 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The gameplay was pretty much nonexistent, but otherwise the game was really clever and fun

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Hehe, funny stuff. Not very relevant to the theme, but I appreciate your thought for story.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]